Top Marketplace offers for ISBN

9781606993811

Special Exits

Farmer, Joyce

3.95 avg rating
( 886 ratings by GoodReads )
Not the book you're looking for? Search for all books with this author and title
Image Not Available

A major, original graphic memoir in the vein of Fun Home.

Joyce Farmer’s memoir chronicles the decline of the author’s parents’ health, their relationship with one another and with their their daughter, and how they cope with the day-to-day emotional fragility of the most taxing time of their lives.

Elderly parents Lara and Rachel, who have enjoyed a long and loving married life together, are rendered in fine, confident pen lines. Set in southern Los Angeles (which makes for a terrifying sequence as blind Rachel and ailing Lars are trapped in their home without power during the 1992 Rodney King riots), backgrounds and props are lovingly detailed: these objects serve as memory triggers for Lars and Rachel, even as they eventually overwhelm them and their home, which the couple is loathe to leave. Special Exits is laid out in an eight-panel grid, which creates a leisurely storytelling pace that not only helps to convey the slow, inexorable decline in Lars’ and Rachel’s health, but perfectly captures the timbre of the exchanges between a long-married couple: the affectionate bickering; their gallows humor; their querulousness as their bodies break down.

Though Lars and Rachel are the protagonists of Special Exits, Farmer makes her voice known through creative visual metaphors and in her indictment of the careless treatment of the elderly in nursing homes. Special Exits gracefully deals with the hard reality of caring for aging loved ones: those who are or who have been in similar situations might find comfort in it, and those who haven’t will find much to admire in the bravery and good humor of Lars and Rachel. Joyce Farmer, best known for co-creating the Tits ’n Clits comics anthology in the 1970s, a feminist response to the rampant misogyny in underground comix, spent 11 years crafting Special Exits, a graphic memoir in the vein of Alison Bechdel’s Fun Home or Harvey Pekar, Joyce Brabner, and Frank Stack’s Our Cancer Year, about caring for her dying father and stepmother. 208 pages of black-and-white comics

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Joyce Farmer lives in Laguna Beach, CA.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Farmer, Joyce Author
Published by Fantagraphics (2010)
ISBN 10: 160699381X ISBN 13: 9781606993811
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fantagraphics, 2010. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: 1. Normal Anatomy and Physiology. Antenatal Care and Intrauterine Welfare. Abnormal Conditions of Pregnancy. Diseases in Pregnancy. Physiology and Management of Normal Labour. Pathology and Management of Abnormal Labour. Multiple Pregnancies and Deliveries. Normal Puerperium. Abnormal Puerperiumndex. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_160699381X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 49.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Farmer, Joyce Author
Published by Fantagraphics 2010-12-06 (2010)
ISBN 10: 160699381X ISBN 13: 9781606993811
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Tankerous Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fantagraphics 2010-12-06, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. First Edition. 160699381X We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Thank you for supporting our small, family-owned business!. Bookseller Inventory # TM-160699381X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 45.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Farmer, Joyce Author
Published by Fantagraphics
ISBN 10: 160699381X ISBN 13: 9781606993811
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(West Palm Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fantagraphics. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 160699381X New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # SKU1.010247

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Farmer, Joyce Author
ISBN 10: 160699381X ISBN 13: 9781606993811
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97816069938111.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 64.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Farmer, Joyce Author
Published by Fantagraphics (2010)
ISBN 10: 160699381X ISBN 13: 9781606993811
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(MIAMI SHORES, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fantagraphics, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P11160699381X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 106.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 0.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds