Sherlock Holmes: Three Tales of Betrayal (Sherlock Holmes Series)

Doyle, Arthur Conan

ISBN 10: 1609981618 / 1-60998-161-8
ISBN 13: 9781609981617
Publisher: AudioGO
Publication Date: 2011

About this title:
Cases of betrayal haunt these three masterful tales starring Sir Arthur Conan Doyles cunning, brilliant detective: A Scandal in Bohemia, Silver Blaze, and The Adventure of the Copper Beeches. A Scandal in Bohemia is a story of love, intrigue, and scandal as Holmes first encounters New Jersey born opera singer Irene Adler. In Silver Blaze, a trusted horse trainer is murdered; Holmes and Watson are on the case, but a strange knife and a missing horse confuse the investigation. In The Adventure of the Copper Beeches, beech trees in the front of a mysterious house expose betrayal.

About the Author:
Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (1859-1930) published his first book, A Study in Scarlet, in 1887. In addition to being a mystery writer and a physician, he was a whaler, an athlete, a war correspondent, and a spiritualist. Conan Doyle was knighted in 1902 for his work in a South African hospital during the Boer War.

Edward Hardwicke played Sherlock Holmes’ assistant, Dr. Watson, on the popular PBS series Mystery! He has appeared on stage, screen, and television in productions including The Scarlet Letter, Lovejoy, Shadowlands, and The Day of the Jackal.

From AudioFile:
Hardwicke is sharp and precise as he portrays Holmes's acerbic wit when Holmes engages the intellect of an opera singer who may outmaneuver him in "A Scandal in Bohemia." Then he sounds emotionless as he retells the facts of murder and a missing horse in "Silver Blaze." In the last tale, "The Copper Beeches," Hardwicke conveys Holmes's caustic sarcasm, quickly changing to genuine concern as he listens to governess Violet Hunter relate strange requests and puzzling behavior from her employer, leading to a surprising conclusion. An engaging, well-portrayed delight for Holmes fans. G.D.W. © AudioFile 2001, Portland, Maine-- Copyright © AudioFile, Portland, Maine

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Sherlock Holmes: Three Tales of Betrayal (Sherlock Holmes Series): Search Results


Doyle, Arthur Conan
ISBN 10: 1609981618
ISBN 13: 9781609981617
Bookseller: Book Deals (Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating
Quantity Available: 1

Book Description: AudioGO, 2011. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service!. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_1609981618

Bookseller & Payment Information | More Books from this Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Add Book to Shopping Basket
Price: US$ 35.32
Convert Currency
Shipping: FREE Within U.S.A.
View All Listings for this Book