Vida secreta de las abejas, La (Spanish Edition)

3.99 avg rating
( 821,132 ratings by GoodReads )
9788466638340: Vida secreta de las abejas, La (Spanish Edition)

La historia transcurre en el Sur de Estados Unidos en 1964, año de la lucha por los Derechos Civiles. Aislada en una finca, con un padre frio que no la cuida, Lily Owens, muchacha de catorce años, ha pasado gran parte de su vida echando de menos a su madre Deborah, quien fallecio en misteriosas circunstancias cuando ella tenia cuatro años. Para empeorar la cuestion, su padre T. Ray le dice a Lily que ella mato a su madre sin querer. / Sue Monk Kidd's ravishing debut novel has stolen the hearts of reviewers and readers alike with its strong, assured voice. Set in South Carolina in 1964, The Secret Life of Bees tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed. When Lily's fierce-hearted ""stand-in mother,"" Rosaleen, insults three of the town's fiercest racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina--a town that holds the secret to her mother's past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love--a story that women will share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Sue Monk Kidd is the author of three novels, The Secret Life of Bees, The Mermaid Chair, and, most recently, The Invention of Wings, which will be published by Viking in January 2014. The Secret Life of Bees spent more than two and a half years on the New York Times bestseller list, was adapted into an award-winning movie, and has been translated into thirty-six languages. The Mermaid Chair, a #1 New York Times bestseller, was adapted into a television movie. She is also the author of the memoirs The Dance of the Dissident Daughter, When the Heart Waits, and, with her daughter Ann Kidd Taylor, the New York Times bestseller Traveling with Pomegranates. Her early writings on spirituality are collected in the book Firstlight. The recipient of numerous literary awards, Sue lives in southwest Florida with her husband, Sandy, and their black Lab, Lily.


About the Author:

SUE MONK KIDD is the author of two memoirs, The Dance of the Dissident Daughter and When the Heart Waits. She received a Poets and Writers Award for the story that inspired novel The Secret Life of Bees. Her fiction has appeared in several literary journals and two of her stories—including an excerpt from The Secret Life of Bees—were selected as notable stories in Best American Short Stories. She currently lives in South Carolina.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book

Shipping: US$ 40.38
From Spain to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace


Sue Monk Kidd
ISBN 10: 8466638342 ISBN 13: 9788466638340
New Rústica con solapas Quantity Available: 1
(Ferrol. A Coruña, Spain)

Book Description VERGARA EDITORIAL - BARCELONA, B (EDICIONES B). Rústica con solapas. Book Condition: Nuevo. Dust Jacket Condition: Nuevo. 406 LIBRO. Bookseller Inventory # 275376

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 40.38
From Spain to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds