Town That Floated Away

3.6 avg rating
( 20 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780002245456: Town That Floated Away

Things are proceeding normally during the annual Spring Break in the town of Wellington (major industries: donuts, grapes and toy boats). Chunks of ice as big as bulldozers flow down the river and Madame Galosh, owner of the Galosh Boot Manufacturing Company, prepares to sell a boat-load of new rubber boots. At the same time, the lucky winner of the annual Spring Break Free Trip draw, Virginia Potts, is eager to embark on a long-awaited journey.

Clang! Clang! Clang! A bell rings in the town square and an amazing series of events unfolds: too much lemonade is consumed, there's a little too much enthusiasm for the pursuit of profit and the town fails to mark the age-old "Batten Down the Hatches" holiday - and the town of Wellington floats away. Ginny Potts is left behind, slowly shrinking from loneliness.

In the tradition of Roald Dahl, Sandra Birdsell's debut children's novel is outrageously delicious reading, a clear-eyed and often poignant child's-eye perspective on an adult world - where the adults are often the silly ones who don't always know what to do.

Based on a popular radio play written for CBC Radio that became a successful. Juno award-nominated CD, The Town That floated Away is fresh and lively children's entertainment.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Sandra Birdsell is an award-winning writer, the author of The Two-Headed Calf (shortlisted for the 1997 Governor General's Award), Night Travellers, Ladies of the House, The Missing Child and The Chrome Suite.Among other awards, she has won the WH Smith/Books in Canada First Novel Award and the Gerald Lampert Award for New Fiction. The Town That Floated Away is her first children's book.She lives in Regina, Saskatchewan, but grew up in Morris, Manitoba -- a town that truly did, one day, float away.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Sandra Birdsell
Published by HarperTrophy (1997)
ISBN 10: 0002245450 ISBN 13: 9780002245456
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTrophy, 1997. Book Condition: GOOD. book was well loved but cared for. Possible ex-library copy with all the usual markings and stickers. Some light textual notes, highlighting and underling. Bookseller Inventory # 2774269465

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 7.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Birdsell, Sandra
ISBN 10: 0002245450 ISBN 13: 9780002245456
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardback. Book Condition: Good. The book has been read but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact and the cover is intact. Some minor wear to the spine. Bookseller Inventory # GOR007949273

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Birdsell, Sandra
Published by HarperTrophy
ISBN 10: 0002245450 ISBN 13: 9780002245456
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Green Earth Books
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTrophy. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. Appearance of only slight previous use. Cover and binding show a little wear. All pages are undamaged with potentially only a few, small markings. Bookseller Inventory # G0002245450I4N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 7.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Birdsell, Sandra
ISBN 10: 0002245450 ISBN 13: 9780002245456
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Electric Chicken
(Goring-By-Sea, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Good. The book has been read but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact and the cover is intact. Some minor wear to the spine. Bookseller Inventory # FPS0002245450G

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Birdsell, Sandra
Published by HarperCollinsPublishersLtd (1997)
ISBN 10: 0002245450 ISBN 13: 9780002245456
Used Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Nerman's Books & Collectibles
(Pembina, ND, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollinsPublishersLtd, 1997. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good to Fine. Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good Plus. 1st Edition. A very good to fine hardcvoer with a very good plus dust jacket. Inscribed by author on half title page: For Noanie, From someone who also went through a great flood at the age of 9! Best Wishes Sandra Birdsell. 1st printing. Signed by Author. Bookseller Inventory # 2SB0336

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 15.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Birdsell, Sandra
Published by HarperCollinsPublishersLtd, Toronto (1997)
ISBN 10: 0002245450 ISBN 13: 9780002245456
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Sparkle Books
(Calgary, AB, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollinsPublishersLtd, Toronto, 1997. Hardcover. Book Condition: Near Fine. Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good. Flook, Helen (illustrator). First. 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Near Fine 164 ppfirst edition, first printing of Sandra Birdsell's first children's book, featuring a town that floats away without Virginia Potts, who lived there. No writing, crisp clean interior. Bright blue boards with silver lettering. Very good unclipped dust wrapper with minor soiling. Bookseller Inventory # 001258

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 10.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.35
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Sandra Birdsell
Published by HarperCollins, Toronto (1997)
ISBN 10: 0002245450 ISBN 13: 9780002245456
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Black Cat Books
(Sherbrooke, QC, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, Toronto, 1997. Hard Cover. Book Condition: Near Fine. Dust Jacket Condition: Near Fine. Helen Flook (illustrator). Stated 1st. Blue boards, silver lettering on spine, slight bump to lower spine edge; illus. dustjacket, black lettering on white spine, not chipped edgeworn or price-clipped; 164 pgs.; clean & tight, no previous owner markings. Fictional story about a flood in ? Manitoba? Size: 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Bookseller Inventory # 014688

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 9.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 12.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Birdsell, Sandra
Published by HarperTrophy (1997)
ISBN 10: 0002245450 ISBN 13: 9780002245456
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTrophy, 1997. Book Condition: Good. 1st. N/A. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP90491459

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 21.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.78
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Sandra Birdsell
Published by HarperCollins (Canada) Ltd 1998 (1998)
ISBN 10: 0002245450 ISBN 13: 9780002245456
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Robin Summers
(Aldeburgh, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins (Canada) Ltd 1998, 1998. New first edition hardback. Slightly dusty from storage but content fine and unread. Bookseller Inventory # A172240

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 26.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 16.41
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds