Time - Manifold 1

3.75 avg rating
( 5,416 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780002247245: Time - Manifold 1

In the millennium's last great sf novel, Stephen Baxter takes us a short step byond Y2K. The year is 2010. We have survived ...so far. Cornelius Taine of Eschatology, Inc., mathematical genius, predicts that in just 200 years our species will be wiped out. Even evacuation from Earth will not save us from extinction. Reid Malenfant, entrepreneur, has Big Dumb Boosters ready to fly from the California desert, to be piloted by an enhanced squid named Sheena 5. When Taine offers Malenfant the ultimate dream of saving the species, Sheena's mission is diverted to investigate Earth's recently discovered - and very remote - second moon. What Sheena 5 discovers there is nothing less than a revelation: the secret reason for our existence visible at last beneath the rippled surface of Time's river. Malenfant and Taine must follow Sheena...but they are pursued by an enraged US Air and Space Force, and a mighty battle in space may cut short their hopes for the ultimate transformation of mankind.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Stephen Baxter applied to become an astronaut in 1991. He didn't make it, but achieved the next best thing by becoming a science fiction writer, and his novels and short stories have been published and have won awards around the world. His science background is in maths and engineering. He is married and lives in Northumberland.

Review:

'Pacy, visionary, extravagantly imagined, Time places Baxter firmly in the tradition of Arthur C. Clarke and Isaac Asimov. How reassuring to know that while so many authors are lying in the gutter of the information superhighway, someone at least is still looking at the stars' The Times 'Time is a big ambitious book... science fiction at its best' FHM 'In Time Baxter manages to take the most esoteric cosmological ideas and mesh them into a fast-paced novel... Probably the most thought-provoking writing you'll read this year, it's time for Baxter to take his place alongside Asimov and Heinlein' Edge

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Baxter, Stephen
Published by Voyager Harper Collins (1999)
ISBN 10: 0002247240 ISBN 13: 9780002247245
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Voyager Harper Collins, 1999. Book Condition: Good. Australia and New Zealand Ed. N/A. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP86070550

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 6.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Baxter, Stephen
Published by Voyager Harper Collins (1999)
ISBN 10: 0002247240 ISBN 13: 9780002247245
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Last Books
(Sydney, NSW, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Voyager Harper Collins, 1999. Paperback. Book Condition: Near Fine. Quantity Available: 1. Shipped Weight: Under 1 kilogram. Category: Science Fiction & Fantasy; Science Fiction & Fantasy; Fantasy; Pictures of this item not already displayed here available upon request. Inventory No: 59818. Bookseller Inventory # 59818

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 9.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 15.00
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Baxter Stephen
Published by Harper Collins, London (1999)
ISBN 10: 0002247240 ISBN 13: 9780002247245
Used Paperback First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Marlowes Books
(Ferny Hills, Brisbane, QLD, Australia)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins, London, 1999. Paperback. Book Condition: Fine. First Edition. 456 pages. Book appears to have hardly been read and is in Fine condition throughout. In The Millennium's Last Great SF Novel, Baxter Takes Us A Short Step Beyond Y2K. The Year Is 2010. We Have Survived.so Far. Bookseller Inventory # 128232

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 13.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 14.90
From Australia to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds