Phase Space: Stories from the Manifold and Elsewhere

3.86 avg rating
( 410 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780002257695: Phase Space: Stories from the Manifold and Elsewhere

Tied in to Baxter's masterful Manifold trilogy, these thematically linked stories are drawn from the vast graph of possibilities across which the lives of hero Reid Malenfant have been scattered. Reid Malenfant is the commander of a NASA earth-orbiting science platform. The platform is intended to probe the planets of the nearest star system by bouncing laser pulses off them. But no echoes are returned ...and Reid's reality begins to crumble around him. Huddling with his family, awaiting the end - or an unknown new beginning - Reid tells stories of other possibilities, other realities. The linked stories encompass the myriad possibilities that might govern our relationship with the universe: are we truly alone, or will we eventually meet other lifeforms? The final possibility - that the Universe as we know it is in fact an elaborate illusion designed to protect us from the fearful reality - is brilliantly explored in the tour de force novella that ends the volume.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Stephen Baxter applied to become an astronaut in 1991. He didn't make it, but achieved the next best thing by becoming a science fiction writer, and his novels and short stories have been published and have won awards around the world. His science background is in maths and engineering. He is married and lives in Northumberland.

Review:

'Baxter is taking basic sf ideas and rebuilding them based on current science, technology and politics - a tried and true method sor sf writers but no less effective for that. Baxter apparently has the ambition and the energy to reinvigorate hard sf all by himself' Locus on Space 'Like all good sf, Space provokes questions. What kind of species are we?... the other reason Space works well is that Baxter is a good writer... his format and style are assured and keep you happily suspended and engrossed. Right up to the satisfyingly vertiginous climax... Malenfant is one of sf's more memorable characters' SFX 'Pacy, visionary, extravagantly imagined, Time places Baxter firmly in the tradition of Arthur C. Clarke and Isaac Asimov. How reassuring to know that while so many authors are lying in the gutter of the information superhighway, someone at least is still looking at the stars' The Times 'Time is a big ambitious book... science fiction at its best'

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Stephen Baxter
Published by Voyager (2002)
ISBN 10: 0002257696 ISBN 13: 9780002257695
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Voyager, 2002. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110002257696

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 49.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds