The American Boy

3.53 avg rating
( 2,173 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007109616: The American Boy

Interweaving real and fictional elements, The American Boy is a major new literary historical crime novel in the tradition of An Instance of the Fingerpost and Possession. Edgar Allan Poe is the American boy, a child standing on the edge of mysteries. In 1819 two Americans arrive in London, and soon afterwards a bank collapses. A man is found dead and horribly mutilated on a building site. A heiress flirts with her inferiors. A poor schoolmaster struggles to understand what is happening before it destroys him and those he loves. But the truth, like the youthful Poe himself, has its origins in the new world as well as the old. The American Boy is a 21st-century novel with a 19th-century voice. It is both a multi-layered literary murder mystery and a love story, its setting ranging from the coal-scented urban jungle of late Regency London to the stark winter landscapes of rural Gloucestershire. And at its centre is the boy who does not really belong anywhere, an actor who never learns the significance of his part.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Andrew Taylor is the award-winning author of a number of crime novels, including the Dougal series, the Lydmouth books and The Barred Window. He and his wife live with their children in the Forest of Dean.

From AudioFile:

Through the voice of Alex Jennings, we are guided through a tale of darkness and romance, intrigue and mystery, which features Edgar Allan Poe's father and young Poe himself as the epon-ymous boy. Jennings reads with such enormous variety that we are consumed by his characterizations, which include wheezing drunkards, schoolboys, and shy housemaids. He fulfills the role of a schoolmaster who is haphazardly drawn into the lives of two of his students. Through their families he becomes entangled in a network of questions and oddities that could result in his own death. The listener becomes completely absorbed with the persona of the novel. J.P. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award AudioFile 2005, Portland, Maine-- Copyright AudioFile, Portland, Maine

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Taylor, Andrew
Published by Flamingo (2003)
ISBN 10: 000710961X ISBN 13: 9780007109616
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Flamingo, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P11000710961X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 98.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Andrew Taylor
Published by Flamingo (2003)
ISBN 10: 000710961X ISBN 13: 9780007109616
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Flamingo, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX000710961X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 124.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Andrew Taylor
Published by Flamingo (2003)
ISBN 10: 000710961X ISBN 13: 9780007109616
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Flamingo, 2003. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 000710961X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 182.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds