Jefferson Parker Silent Joe

ISBN 13: 9780007122189

Silent Joe

3.85 avg rating
( 1,648 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007122189: Silent Joe
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Atmospheric, complex and intelligent psychological suspense from the bestselling author of The Blue Hour and Red LightWith the horrible remnants of a childhood trauma forever visible on his face, Joe Trona is scarred in more ways than one. Rescued from an ophanage by Will Trona, a charismatic Orange County politician who sensed his potential, Joe is swept into the maelstrom of influence and intimidation that surrounds his adoptive father's illustrious career. Serving as Will's right-hand man, Joe is trained to protect and defend his father's interests - but he can't save him from his enemies. Will Trona is murdered, and Joe will stop at nothing to find out who is responsible.Sifting through his father's life - acquaintances, deals, enemies and lovers - looking for clues, Joe comes to realize how many secrets Will Trona kept, and how many people he had the power to harm. But two leads keep rising to the surface: a little girl who was kidnapped by her mentally disturbed brother, and two rival gangs who seem to have joined forces. And as Joe digs deeper, he is forced to confront his own childhood abuse as the different threads of the investigation begin to intersect.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Scarred for life by a brutal father, Joe Trona found a safe haven and a loving childhood in the home of the couple who adopted him. Now he spends his days as a deputy for the Orange County sheriff's department and his nights as a driver and aide to Will Trona, the influential politician who rescued him from the Hillside Children's Home. An expert in firearms and the martial arts, Joe has been backing Will up for a long time. Still, his skill isn't enough to keep Will alive, and when his father is killed right in front of Joe's eyes, the young deputy vows to avenge him. But first he must find out how the kidnapping of a tycoon's daughter, a scam to line the pockets of Will Trona's political enemies, the murder of two Guatemalan immigrants, the unholy activities of a charismatic minister who's a close friend of the Trona family, and the strange alliance of two rival L.A. gangs are connected to Will's death.

Every secret Joe uncovers leads deeper into his beloved father's murky past and ultimately his own. But the reader stays right with this extraordinary man as he battles his demons and ultimately vanquishes them. Author T. Jefferson Parker (The Blue Hour, Red Light, Laguna Heat) is one of the best thriller writers working today. Fans of Michael Connelly and Dennis Lehane--and Raymond Chandler, for that matter--will appreciate Parker's ability to create a complex, fascinating, and fully realized hero whose inner reality is brilliantly revealed by his actions. Will Trona is an equally intriguing invention; while ultimately he is an enigma, we remain convinced that he is worthy of his son's devotion. Silent Joe is a mindful, intelligent novel you can't put down. It should break Parker out with the really big boys of mystery fiction, the million-sellers with the marquee names. In fact, he's a much better writer than most of them, and unlike many, he never tells the same story twice. --Jane Adams

About the Author:

Jefferson Parker is the New York Times bestselling author of six novels, including The Triggerman's Dance and Where Serpents Lie.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780786890033: Silent Joe

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0786890037 ISBN 13:  9780786890033
Publisher: Hachette Books, 2002
Softcover

9780786867288: Silent Joe: A Novel

Hyperion, 2001
Hardcover

9780007134373: Silent Joe

Harper..., 2002
Hardcover

9781585471256: Silent Joe (Center Point Platinum Fiction (Large Print))

Center..., 2001
Hardcover

9781616845018: Silent Joe

Unknown, 2010
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Jefferson Parker
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2003)
ISBN 10: 0007122187 ISBN 13: 9780007122189
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2003. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Atmospheric, complex and intelligent psychological suspense from the bestselling author of The Blue Hour and Red LightWith the horrible remnants of a childhood trauma forever visible on his face, Joe Trona is scarred in more ways than one. Rescued from an ophanage by Will Trona, a charismatic Orange County politician who sensed his potential, Joe is swept into the maelstrom of influence and intimidation that surrounds his adoptive father s illustrious career. Serving as Will s right-hand man, Joe is trained to protect and defend his father s interests - but he can t save him from his enemies. Will Trona is murdered, and Joe will stop at nothing to find out who is responsible.Sifting through his father s life - acquaintances, deals, enemies and lovers - looking for clues, Joe comes to realize how many secrets Will Trona kept, and how many people he had the power to harm. But two leads keep rising to the surface: a little girl who was kidnapped by her mentally disturbed brother, and two rival gangs who seem to have joined forces. And as Joe digs deeper, he is forced to confront his own childhood abuse as the different threads of the investigation begin to intersect. Seller Inventory # AA89780007122189

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Jefferson Parker
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007122187 ISBN 13: 9780007122189
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Condition: New. New copy - Usually dispatched within 2 working days. Seller Inventory # B9780007122189

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 6.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Jefferson Parker
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2003)
ISBN 10: 0007122187 ISBN 13: 9780007122189
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2003. Paperback. Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Atmospheric, complex and intelligent psychological suspense from the bestselling author of The Blue Hour and Red LightWith the horrible remnants of a childhood trauma forever visible on his face, Joe Trona is scarred in more ways than one. Rescued from an ophanage by Will Trona, a charismatic Orange County politician who sensed his potential, Joe is swept into the maelstrom of influence and intimidation that surrounds his adoptive father s illustrious career. Serving as Will s right-hand man, Joe is trained to protect and defend his father s interests - but he can t save him from his enemies. Will Trona is murdered, and Joe will stop at nothing to find out who is responsible.Sifting through his father s life - acquaintances, deals, enemies and lovers - looking for clues, Joe comes to realize how many secrets Will Trona kept, and how many people he had the power to harm. But two leads keep rising to the surface: a little girl who was kidnapped by her mentally disturbed brother, and two rival gangs who seem to have joined forces. And as Joe digs deeper, he is forced to confront his own childhood abuse as the different threads of the investigation begin to intersect. Seller Inventory # AA89780007122189

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Parker, Jefferson
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007122187 ISBN 13: 9780007122189
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2002. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # FC-9780007122189

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.93
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Jefferson Parker
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007122187 ISBN 13: 9780007122189
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2002. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0007122187

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

T.Jefferson Parker
Published by HarperCollins (2003)
ISBN 10: 0007122187 ISBN 13: 9780007122189
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2003. Paperback. Condition: Brand New. 368 pages. In Stock. Seller Inventory # __0007122187

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

JEFFERSON PARKER
Published by HARPER COLLINS (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007122187 ISBN 13: 9780007122189
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER COLLINS, 2010. Paperback. Condition: NEW. 9780007122189 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. For all enquiries, please contact Herb Tandree Philosophy Books directly - customer service is our primary goal. Seller Inventory # HTANDREE0988080

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.58
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Parker, Jefferson
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd (2002)
ISBN 10: 0007122187 ISBN 13: 9780007122189
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd, 2002. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110007122187

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 38.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Jefferson Parker
Published by HarperCollins 2010-03-01 (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007122187 ISBN 13: 9780007122189
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller:
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins 2010-03-01, 2010. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # NU-HCL-00013967

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 39.77
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds