Lavinia Greenlaw An Irresponsible Age

ISBN 13: 9780007156290

An Irresponsible Age

2.88 avg rating
( 26 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007156290: An Irresponsible Age
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

An Irresponsible Age’, Lavinia Greenlaw's extraordinary new novel, is set in London in 1990, with Thatcher still in power but the country unwilling to 'abandon an idea just because it proved to be a bad one'. In these hesitant times we follow the life of Juliet Clough and her three siblings, all of them interdependent in a not-quite enviable way, clinging together after the death of a brother and the retreat of their grieving parents. When Juliet, the focus of them all, is drawn into a complex love affair with the enigmatic Jacob, the others, too, find themselves falling in love, and then evading the consequences. None will admit what they are doing, or why.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Lavinia Greenlaw is a poet and writer. She is the author of Mary George of Allnorthover.

From Publishers Weekly:

Greenlaw's second novel centers on Juliet Clough, a 20-something Londoner grappling with difficult siblings, a complicated romantic life and uncertain health. Things take a turn for the worse when Juliet's brother Tobias is killed in a traffic accident just after a bomb goes off in London. Much of the novel revolves around the family's attempts to cope with Tobias's death. In the murky days of grief, Juliet takes up with famous, much older and married author Jacob Dart. Though her siblings—Fred, Carlo and Clara—do not approve of the match and Juliet suffers from a vaguely explained and painful illness, she pursues the relationship until decamping for a job in Littlefield, Mass. Her life in Littlefield pokes along until Jacob shows up unannounced, wooing her anew. Meanwhile, back in the U.K., Juliet's siblings meander along: Carlo gets serious with his boyfriend; artist Clara's career gets a boost from Jacob's wife; and Fred, an unevenly successful financier, mostly occupies himself with taking care of his siblings. The surfeit of characters and subplots can be difficult to follow, but Greenlaw's prose, line-by-line, is razor-sharp. The book is a clear pick for fans of Penelope Lively and Margaret Drabble. (Jan.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy Used View Book
List Price: US$ 32.95
US$ 1.00

Convert currency

Shipping: US$ 3.91
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780007156306: An Irresponsible Age

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0007156308 ISBN 13:  9780007156306
Publisher: HarperCollins UK, 2006
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Greenlaw, Lavinia
ISBN 10: 0007156294 ISBN 13: 9780007156290
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardback. Condition: Fair. A readable copy of the book which may include some defects such as highlighting and notes. Cover and pages may be creased and show discolouration. Seller Inventory # GOR008867327

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 1.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.91
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Greenlaw, Lavinia
ISBN 10: 0007156294 ISBN 13: 9780007156290
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardback. Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Seller Inventory # GOR008000104

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 1.00
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.91
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Lavinia Greenlaw
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Limited
ISBN 10: 0007156294 ISBN 13: 9780007156290
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks
(Auburn, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Limited. Hardcover. Condition: Very Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in excellent condition. Pages are intact and are not marred by notes or highlighting, but may contain a neat previous owner name. The spine remains undamaged. An ex-library book and may have standard library stamps and/or stickers. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G0007156294I4N10

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.96
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Greenlaw, Lavinia
Published by Fourth Estate (2006)
ISBN 10: 0007156294 ISBN 13: 9780007156290
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Goldstone Books
(Llandybie, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fourth Estate, 2006. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book. Has usual library markings and stamps inside. All orders are dispatched the following working day from our UK warehouse. Established in 2004, we have over 500,000 books in stock. No quibble refund if not completely satisfied. Seller Inventory # mon0001920355

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.69
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.94
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Greenlaw, Lavinia
Published by Fourth Estate (2006)
ISBN 10: 0007156294 ISBN 13: 9780007156290
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
JULIES BOOKSHOP
(Consett, CO D, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fourth Estate, 2006. Hardcover. Condition: Very Good. Ex-library. Dispatched daily from the UK. Seller Inventory # mon0000206326

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 4.56
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.54
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Lavinia Greenlaw
Published by Fourth Estate (2007)
ISBN 10: 0007156294 ISBN 13: 9780007156290
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fourth Estate, 2007. Hardcover. Condition: Used: Good. Seller Inventory # SONG0007156294

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 9.04
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Greenlaw, Lavinia
Published by London, United Kingdom: Fourth Estate Ltd (2006)
ISBN 10: 0007156294 ISBN 13: 9780007156290
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
S.Carter
(Bristol, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description London, United Kingdom: Fourth Estate Ltd, 2006. Hardcover. Condition: Fine. Dust Jacket Condition: Fine. 1st Edition.... UK1ST.EDIITON.1ST.IMPRESSION.A FINE HARDBACK IN A FINE DUSTWRAPPER.AN UNREAD COPY.82/G Language: eng Language: eng 0.0 Language: eng 0.0 Language: eng 0.0 Language: eng 0.0 Language: eng Language: eng. Seller Inventory # 19HG/.S

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 6.74
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.00
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Greenlaw, Lavinia
Published by Fourth Estate, London (2006)
ISBN 10: 0007156294 ISBN 13: 9780007156290
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
PsychoBabel & Skoob Books
(Didcot, OXON, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fourth Estate, London, 2006. Hardcover. Condition: Very Good. Hardcover. First edition, first printing. Marked dust jacket with one or two minor bumps and scores. Pages are clean and text is clear. AF. Used. Seller Inventory # 471852

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 12.15
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.54
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Greenlaw, Lavinia
Published by Fourth Estate, London (2006)
ISBN 10: 0007156294 ISBN 13: 9780007156290
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rose E. White
(Northampton, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fourth Estate, London, 2006. Hard Boards. Condition: Fine. Dust Jacket Condition: Fine. First Edition. Seller Inventory # 021154

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 14.15
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.19
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Greenlaw, Lavinia
Published by London; Fourth Estate; (2006)
ISBN 10: 0007156294 ISBN 13: 9780007156290
Used Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
timkcbooks PBFA BA
(Penzance, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description London; Fourth Estate;, 2006. First edition, first printing. Signed and dated by the author. Fine in fine dustjacket. Seller Inventory # 9255

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 33.68
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 17.66
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds