Lavinia Greenlaw An Irresponsible Age

ISBN 13: 9780007156290

An Irresponsible Age

2.84 avg rating
( 25 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007156290: An Irresponsible Age

An Irresponsible Age’, Lavinia Greenlaw's extraordinary new novel, is set in London in 1990, with Thatcher still in power but the country unwilling to 'abandon an idea just because it proved to be a bad one'. In these hesitant times we follow the life of Juliet Clough and her three siblings, all of them interdependent in a not-quite enviable way, clinging together after the death of a brother and the retreat of their grieving parents. When Juliet, the focus of them all, is drawn into a complex love affair with the enigmatic Jacob, the others, too, find themselves falling in love, and then evading the consequences. None will admit what they are doing, or why.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Lavinia Greenlaw is a poet and writer. She is the author of Mary George of Allnorthover.

From Publishers Weekly:

Greenlaw's second novel centers on Juliet Clough, a 20-something Londoner grappling with difficult siblings, a complicated romantic life and uncertain health. Things take a turn for the worse when Juliet's brother Tobias is killed in a traffic accident just after a bomb goes off in London. Much of the novel revolves around the family's attempts to cope with Tobias's death. In the murky days of grief, Juliet takes up with famous, much older and married author Jacob Dart. Though her siblings—Fred, Carlo and Clara—do not approve of the match and Juliet suffers from a vaguely explained and painful illness, she pursues the relationship until decamping for a job in Littlefield, Mass. Her life in Littlefield pokes along until Jacob shows up unannounced, wooing her anew. Meanwhile, back in the U.K., Juliet's siblings meander along: Carlo gets serious with his boyfriend; artist Clara's career gets a boost from Jacob's wife; and Fred, an unevenly successful financier, mostly occupies himself with taking care of his siblings. The surfeit of characters and subplots can be difficult to follow, but Greenlaw's prose, line-by-line, is razor-sharp. The book is a clear pick for fans of Penelope Lively and Margaret Drabble. (Jan.)
Copyright Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Greenlaw, Lavinia
Published by Fourth Estate
ISBN 10: 0007156294 ISBN 13: 9780007156290
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Nye Discount Books, Inc.
(Venice, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fourth Estate. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0007156294 Brand new, Unread, missing dust jacket. Excellent Customer Service. Ships Quickly. Bookseller Inventory # 010107

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Greenlaw, Lavinia
Published by Fourth Estate
ISBN 10: 0007156294 ISBN 13: 9780007156290
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
THEVILLAGEBOOKSTORE
(Fall River, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fourth Estate. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0007156294. Bookseller Inventory # SKU1069629

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Lavinia Greenlaw
ISBN 10: 0007156294 ISBN 13: 9780007156290
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800071562901.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 22.93
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Lavinia Greenlaw
Published by Fourth Estate (2007)
ISBN 10: 0007156294 ISBN 13: 9780007156290
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fourth Estate, 2007. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0007156294

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 90.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds