Crime Stuart MacBride Broken Skin

ISBN 13: 9780007193189

Broken Skin

4.14 avg rating
( 4,656 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007193189: Broken Skin

The third in the bestselling Logan McRae series, set in gritty Aberdeen, laced with dark humour. In the pale grey light of a chilly February, Aberdeen is not at its best! There's a rapist prowling the city's cold granite streets, leaving a string of tortured women behind. But while DS Logan McRae's girlfriend is out acting as bait, he's dealing with the blood-drenched body of an unidentified male, dumped outside Accident and Emergency. When a stash of explicit films turns up, all featuring the victim, it looks as if someone in the local bondage community has developed a taste for violent death, and Logan gets dragged into the twilight world of pornographers, sex-shops and S&M. To make matters worse, when they finally arrest the Granite City Rapist, Grampian Police are forced by the courts to let him go: Aberdeen Football Club's star striker has an alibi for every attack. Could they really have got it so badly wrong? Logan thinks so, but the trick will be getting anyone to listen before the real rapist strikes again. Especially as his girlfriend, PC Jackie 'Ball Breaker' Watson, is convinced the footballer is guilty and she's hell-bent on a conviction at any cost!

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

The Number One bestselling crime series from the award-winning Stuart MacBride. In this third DS Logan McRae thriller, The Granite City’s seedy side is about to be exposed…

The Granite City’s seedy side is about to be exposed…

A serial rapist is leaving a string of tortured women behind him, but while DS Logan McRae’s girlfriend, PC Jackie ‘Ball Breaker’ Watson, is out acting as bait, he’s trying to identify a blood-drenched body dumped outside Accident and Emergency.

Logan’s investigations suggest someone in the local bondage community has developed a taste for violent death, and he soon finds himself dragged into the twilight world of pornographers, sex-shops and S&M.

Meanwhile, the prime suspect in the rape case turns out to be Aberdeen Football Club’s star striker. Logan thinks they’ve got it horribly wrong, but Jackie is convinced the footballer’s guilty and she’s hell-bent on a conviction at any cost…

From the Back Cover:

Praise for Dying Light
 
“Fans of Ian Rankin and Denise Mina will enjoy the mordant MacBride, whose second novel is every bit as dark and riveting as his debut, Cold Granite.”
--- Publishers Weekly (starred review)
 
“Any of the flamboyant evildoers in Dying Light could carry a terrific whodunit.”
--- Entertainment Weekly
Praise for Cold Granite
“Stuart MacBride joins an illustrious roster of Scottish crime writers. . . . By tangling together a half-dozen competing plot lines, MacBride keeps readers off-balance, even those who think they can see the tripwires.”
--- Houston Chronicle
 
“Grade: A . . . Tartan noir has a fresh new voice with an Aberdeen brogue in Stuart MacBride, whose first mystery,  Cold Granite, bids well to keep up with Ian Rankin and Denise Mina. . . . I’m already looking forward to the next installment in the career of Det. Sgt. McRae.”
--- Rocky Mountain News
 
“McRae is an interesting and subtle detective, and his investigation is both inventive and imaginative.”
--- Dallas Morning News
 
“Unbelievably assured and accomplished . . . MacBride is starting at the very top with his first book, which approaches the level of Michael Connelly’s best work. . . . MacBride’s writing is so good here that it’s hard to believe it’s not a sign of staying power.”
--- Flint Journal

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Stuart MacBride
Published by Harper (2008)
ISBN 10: 0007193181 ISBN 13: 9780007193189
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0007193181

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 56.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds