C. S. Lewis The Chronicles of Narnia

ISBN 13: 9780007194216

The Chronicles of Narnia

4.25 avg rating
( 436,819 ratings by Goodreads )
9780007194216: The Chronicles of Narnia
View all copies of this ISBN edition:

All seven Narnia stories are presented here, unabridged, in one impressive volume. Including an essay on writing by C.S. Lewis. The Narnia Chronicles, first published in 1950, have been and remain some of the most enduringly popular books ever published. The best known, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, has been translated into 29 languages! Journeys to the end of the world, fantastic creatures, and epic battles between good and evil -- what more could any reader ask for in one book? For the past fifty years, The Chronicles of Narnia have transcended the fantasy genre to become part of the canon of classic literature. Each of the seven books is a masterpiece, drawing the reader into a world where magic meets reality, and the result is a fictional world whose scope has fascinated generations. This edition presents all seven books -- unabridged -- in one impressive volume. The books are presented here according to Lews's preferred order, each chapter graced with an illustration byt the original artist, Pauline Baynes. This edition also contains C.S. Lewis's essay "On Three Ways of Writing for Children", in which he explains precisely how the magic of Narnia and the realm of fantasy appeal not only to children but to discerning readers of all ages.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.


The Chronicles of Narnia, by C.S. Lewis, is one of the very few sets of books that should be read three times: in childhood, early adulthood, and late in life. In brief, four children travel repeatedly to a world in which they are far more than mere children and everything is far more than it seems. Richly told, populated with fascinating characters, perfectly realized in detail of world and pacing of plot, and profoundly allegorical, the story is infused throughout with the timeless issues of good and evil, faith and hope. This boxed set edition includes all seven volumes.

From the Back Cover:

The Chronicles of Narnia


The Magician's Nephew
Performed by Kenneth Branagh

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
Performed by Michael York

The Horse and His Boy
Performed by Alex Jennings

Prince Caspian
Performed by Lynn Redgrave

The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
Performed by Derek Jacobi

The Silver Chair
Performed by Jeremy Northam

The Last Battle
Performed by Patrick Stewart

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780066238500: The Chronicles of Narnia

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0066238501 ISBN 13:  9780066238500
Publisher: HarperCollins, 2001

9780007100248: The Complete Chronicles of Narnia

Publis..., 2013

9780060281373: The Complete Chronicles of Narnia

Harper..., 1998

9780007117307: The Chronicles of Narnia

Harper..., 2001

9780060244880: The Chronicles of Narnia (Box Set)

Harper..., 2007

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace


C. S. Lewis
Published by HarperCollins Children's Books (2004)
ISBN 10: 0007194218 ISBN 13: 9780007194216
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)

Book Description HarperCollins Children's Books, 2004. Condition: New. Pauline Baynes (illustrator). book. Seller Inventory # M0007194218

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 146.77
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds