Fiction John Drake Flint and Silver

ISBN 13: 9780007268948

Flint and Silver

3.52 avg rating
( 372 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007268948: Flint and Silver

A swashbuckling triumph of storytelling, Flint and Silver provides a thrilling ride back to the rich and wondrous world of Long John Silver and his fiendish nemesis Joseph Flint in this prequel to the beloved classic Treasure Island. John Silver had never killed a man. Until now, his charisma, sheer size and, when all else failed, powerful fists had been enough to dispatch his enemies. But on a smoldering deck off the coast of Madagascar, his shipmates dead or dying all around him, his cutlass has just claimed the lives of six pirates. Finding himself surrounded by their revenge-thirsty crewmates, Silver fears his promising merchant navy career is at an end. But then the pirate captain makes him an offer he can’t refuse. On the other side of the world, Joseph Flint, a naval officer wronged by his superiors, plots a bloody mutiny. Strikingly handsome, brilliant but prey to sadistic tendencies, Flint is regarded as the most dangerous bandit on the high seas. Together these gentlemen of fortune forge a deadly and unstoppable partnership, steering a course through treachery and betrayal while amassing vast treasure. But the arrival of Selena, a beautiful runaway slave with a murderous past, and Flint’s schemes to secure the pieces of gold for himself trigger a rivalry that will turn the best of friends into sworn enemies. And so the legend of Treasure Island begins an epic battle of wits and blades that unravels the mysteries of Robert Louis Stevenson’s greatest work on the sweltering seas of the Caribbean.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

John Drake trained as a biochemist before realizing he wasn’t much good at science and worked as an anchorman for PharmaVision, a live-TV broadcast service produced by ICI Pharmaceuticals, before leaving to write full-time in 1999. His hobbies and interests include muzzle-loaded shooting, history and politics. Flint and Silver was inspired by the many unanswered questions left in Robert Louis Stevenson’s much-loved classic, Treasure Island.

From AudioFile:

I'm no bloody pirate! Englishman John Silver says when he's asked to join an outlaw band at the start of this prequel, which explains how the TREASURE ISLAND character became a buccaneer captain. From the start, Tim Gregory makes words come alive--with his delivery of words like "jab" and "swish" even sounding like the noise of swordplay. An occasional actual sound effect furthers the feeling that listeners are sailing on the high seas. John Drake's reimagining of Robert Louis Stevenson's characters is no children's tale, though, since the story of Silver's "symbiotic relationship" with Joseph Flint involves lust, violence, and sadism, often described graphically. But it's an intriguing yarn, made more so by Gregory's energetic reading. J.A.S. AudioFile 2009, Portland, Maine

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

John Drake
Published by New England UP (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007268947 ISBN 13: 9780007268948
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Sandpiper Books Ltd
(NEWTON ABBOT, DEVON, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description New England UP, 2010. Book Condition: New. The last survivor on board ship, John Silver has little choice but to join the pirates; meanwhile, across oceans, naval officer Joseph Flint plots a mutiny. When they meet, the two men forge a deadly partnership - and the legend of Treasure Island begins. Bookseller Inventory # 224216

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.20
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

John Drake
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007268947 ISBN 13: 9780007268948
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Rip-roaring adventures for fans of `Pirates of the Caribbean and Patrick O Brian, in these pirate prequels to `Treasure Island .When all your friends are dead, there s no choice but to join the enemy.After pirates stormed his merchant s ship, massacring all around them, they found one opponent who wouldn t go down: John Silver. And so with six men dead at his hand, Silver is made an offer he can t refuse: join them or die.On the other side of the world, the legendary Captain Flint is the meanest, most dangerous bandit on the high seas. He fears no another man - until he meetsfellow freebooter Gentleman John Silver. Together, they forge a formidable partnership as villains-in-arms. But there s more to piracy than rum, sodomy and the lash. there s gold, hundreds of thousands of pieces of it, enough for everyone, in fact - until the arrival of Selina, a beautiful runaway slave, triggers a violent jealousy that turns these best of friends into sworn enemies. And as Flint schemes to secure the vast loot for himself, the legend of Treasure Island begins. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007268948

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

John Drake
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007268947 ISBN 13: 9780007268948
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. Rip-roaring adventures for fans of Pirates of the Caribbean and Patrick O Brian, in these pirate prequels to Treasure Island . When all your friends are dead, there s no choice but to join the enemy.After pirates stormed his merchant s ship, massacring all around them, they found one opponent who wouldn t go down: John Silver. And so with six men dead at his hand, Silver is made an offer he can t refuse: join them or die. On the other side of the world, the legendary Captain Flint is the meanest, most dangerous bandit on the high seas. He fears no another man - until he meets fellow freebooter Gentleman John Silver. Together, they forge a formidable partnership as villains-in-arms. But there s more to piracy than rum, sodomy and the lash.there s gold, hundreds of thousands of pieces of it, enough for everyone, in fact - until the arrival of Selina, a beautiful runaway slave, triggers a violent jealousy that turns these best of friends into sworn enemies. And as Flint schemes to secure the vast loot for himself, the legend of Treasure Island begins. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007268948

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

John Drake
Published by Harper (2008)
ISBN 10: 0007268947 ISBN 13: 9780007268948
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Bookbazzar Ltd
(Leeds, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Published by Harper in 2008. Paperback, 432 pages. New book. The book has not been read, it is in perfect condition, cover and pages are not damaged. Bookseller Inventory # 4231

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.52
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

John Drake
Published by Harper (2008)
ISBN 10: 0007268947 ISBN 13: 9780007268948
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Bookbazzar Ltd
(Leeds, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Published by Harper in 2008. Paperback, 432 pages. New book. The book has not been read, it is in perfect condition, cover and pages are not damaged. Bookseller Inventory # 8132

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.52
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Drake, John
Published by Harper Collins 2009-01-01 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007268947 ISBN 13: 9780007268948
New Softcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins 2009-01-01, 2009. Softcover. Book Condition: New. Softcover. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007268948B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

John Drake
ISBN 10: 0007268947 ISBN 13: 9780007268948
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800072689480000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

John Drake
Published by Harper (2008)
ISBN 10: 0007268947 ISBN 13: 9780007268948
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
The Monster Bookshop
(Fleckney, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. BRAND NEW ** SUPER FAST SHIPPING FROM UK WAREHOUSE ** 30 DAY MONEY BACK GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000182524

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.23
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Drake, John
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0007268947 ISBN 13: 9780007268948
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Book Condition: New. 2008. Paperback. Rip-roaring adventures for fans of 'Pirates of the Caribbean' and Patrick O' Brian, in these pirate prequels to 'Treasure Island'. Num Pages: 432 pages, 1 map. BIC Classification: FJH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 129 x 5. Weight in Grams: 310. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780007268948

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

John Drake
Published by Harper, London (2009)
ISBN 10: 0007268947 ISBN 13: 9780007268948
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Lazy Letters Books
(Market Rasen, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, London, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New book. Bookseller Inventory # 22604

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.06
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book