Thomas, Rosie Kashmir Shawl

ISBN 13: 9780007285976

Kashmir Shawl

3.92 avg rating
( 5,877 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007285976: Kashmir Shawl

An epic story of wartime, family secrets and forbidden love, set against the stunning exotic backdrop of 1940s Kashmir. Within one exotic land lie the secrets of a lifetime...Newlywed Nerys Watkins leaves rural Wales for the first time to accompany her husband on a missionary posting to India. Deep in the exquisite heart of Kashmir lies the lakeside city of Srinagar, where the British live on carved wooden houseboats and dance, flirt and gossip as if there is no war. But the battles draw closer, and life in Srinagar becomes less frivolous when the men are sent away to fight. Nerys is caught up in a dangerous friendship, and by the time she is reunited with her husband, the innocent Welsh bride has become a different woman. Years later, when Mair Ellis clears out her father's house, she finds an exquisite antique shawl, a lock of child's hair wrapped within its folds. Tracing her grandparents' roots back to Kashmir, Mair embarks on a quest that will change her life forever.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Rosie Thomas is the author of a number of celebrated novels, including the bestsellers Iris and Ruby, Constance and Lovers and Newcomers. A keen traveller, she has climbed in the Alps and the Himalayas, competed in the Peking to Paris car rally and travelled the Silk Road through Asia. More recently, she has spent time in Kashmir and Ladakh, researching this novel. She lives in London.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Thomas, Rosie
ISBN 10: 0007285973 ISBN 13: 9780007285976
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800072859760000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Thomas, Rosie
Published by Harper (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007285973 ISBN 13: 9780007285976
New Paperback Quantity Available: 13
Seller
smeikalbooks
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand new book. Fast shipping form our UK warehouse in eco-friendly packaging. Fast, efficient and friendly customer service. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007285976N

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 2.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.68
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Thomas, Rosie
Published by Harper (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007285973 ISBN 13: 9780007285976
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2012. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service!. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0007285973

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Thomas, Rosie
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007285973 ISBN 13: 9780007285976
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 194 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. For fans of The Tea-Planter s Wife and Victoria Hislop comes a gripping story of doomed love and secrets in 1940s Kashmir. Within one exotic land lie the secrets of a lifetime.Newlywed Nerys Watkins leaves rural Wales for the first time to accompany her husband on a missionary posting to India. Deep in the exquisite heart of Kashmir lies the lakeside city of Srinagar, where the British live on carved wooden houseboats and dance, flirt and gossip as if there is no war. But the battles draw closer, and life in Srinagar becomes less frivolous when the men are sent away to fight. Nerys is caught up in a dangerous friendship, and by the time she is reunited with her husband, the innocent Welsh bride has become a different woman. Years later, when Mair Ellis clears out her father s house, she finds an exquisite antique shawl, a lock of child s hair wrapped within its folds. Tracing her grandparents roots back to Kashmir, Mair embarks on a quest that will change her life forever. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007285976

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Thomas, Rosie
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007285973 ISBN 13: 9780007285976
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 194 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. For fans of The Tea-Planter s Wife and Victoria Hislop comes a gripping story of doomed love and secrets in 1940s Kashmir. Within one exotic land lie the secrets of a lifetime.Newlywed Nerys Watkins leaves rural Wales for the first time to accompany her husband on a missionary posting to India. Deep in the exquisite heart of Kashmir lies the lakeside city of Srinagar, where the British live on carved wooden houseboats and dance, flirt and gossip as if there is no war. But the battles draw closer, and life in Srinagar becomes less frivolous when the men are sent away to fight. Nerys is caught up in a dangerous friendship, and by the time she is reunited with her husband, the innocent Welsh bride has become a different woman. Years later, when Mair Ellis clears out her father s house, she finds an exquisite antique shawl, a lock of child s hair wrapped within its folds. Tracing her grandparents roots back to Kashmir, Mair embarks on a quest that will change her life forever. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007285976

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Thomas, Rosie
Published by Harper (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007285973 ISBN 13: 9780007285976
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0007285973

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Thomas, Rosie
Published by Harper 2012-03-01 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007285973 ISBN 13: 9780007285976
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2012-03-01, 2012. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-04824480

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.77
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Thomas, Rosie
ISBN 10: 0007285973 ISBN 13: 9780007285976
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2012. Book Condition: New. 132mm x 198mm x 37mm. An epic tale of doomed love and family secrets, set against the stunning exotic backdrop of 1940s Kashmir. Within one exotic land lie the secrets of a lifetime.Newlywed Nerys Watkins leaves rural W.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 512 pages. 0.345. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007285976

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Thomas, Rosie
ISBN 10: 0007285973 ISBN 13: 9780007285976
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; For fans of The Tea-Planter's Wife and Victoria Hislop comes a gripping story of doomed love and secrets in 1940s Kashmir. Within one exotic land lie the secrets of a lifetime.Newlywed Nerys Watkins leaves rural Wales for the first time to accompany her husband on a missionary posting to India. De. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780007285976_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.18
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Thomas, Rosie
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007285973 ISBN 13: 9780007285976
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, The Kashmir Shawl, Rosie Thomas, An epic story of wartime, family secrets and forbidden love, set against the stunning exotic backdrop of 1940s Kashmir. Within one exotic land lie the secrets of a lifetime.Newlywed Nerys Watkins leaves rural Wales for the first time to accompany her husband on a missionary posting to India. Deep in the exquisite heart of Kashmir lies the lakeside city of Srinagar, where the British live on carved wooden houseboats and dance, flirt and gossip as if there is no war. But the battles draw closer, and life in Srinagar becomes less frivolous when the men are sent away to fight. Nerys is caught up in a dangerous friendship, and by the time she is reunited with her husband, the innocent Welsh bride has become a different woman. Years later, when Mair Ellis clears out her father's house, she finds an exquisite antique shawl, a lock of child's hair wrapped within its folds. Tracing her grandparents' roots back to Kashmir, Mair embarks on a quest that will change her life forever. Bookseller Inventory # B9780007285976

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.43
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book