Lila Says

ISBN 13: 9780007292769

Lila Says

3.85 avg rating
( 360 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007292769: Lila Says

In a Parisian ghetto, Lila, a sixteen-year-old Catholic girl, stops to talk to Chimo, a nineteen-year-old Arab boy, and puts into motion a sequence of events that is shockingly raw, sensual, and devastating. Lila's angelic demeanor barely contains the vitality and powerful eroticism that are destined to destroy her. No matter how hard he tries, Chimo is unable to resist the pull of this tragic girl.

Lila Says is Chimo's journal of his encounters with Lila. Each time they meet, she tells him increasingly troubling tales of her supposed exploits and violations, inspiring in the uneducated Chimo a previously untapped poetry. With grace and a streetwise wit, he records her story. His narrative builds relentlessly, breathlessly, until it becomes clear that Lila is perilously close to the edge, where the brutality of the world they inhabit threatens to consume her.

Lila Says, a touching, wrenching tale of innocent love sprung from wanton degradation, convinces us that even in the bleakest, most bitter settings, beauty and romance are possible.

The most sensational foreign novel in recent memory, Lila Says became an instant bestseller in France. In the tradition of Marguerite Duras's The Lover and Pauline Reage's Story of O, Lila Says is a magnificent debut.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Chimo is a pseudonym. The extraordinary success of Lila Says in France set off an intense debate over the true identity of this anonymous author who, the story goes, scribbled Lila's story in ballpoint pen, filling two school notebooks. His, or her, identity remains veiled.

Language Notes:

Text: English (translation)
Original Language: Italian

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

ISBN 10: 0007292767 ISBN 13: 9780007292769
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800072927690000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Published by Fourth Estate Ltd (2008)
ISBN 10: 0007292767 ISBN 13: 9780007292769
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Fourth Estate Ltd, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 180 pages. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __0007292767

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.60
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

ANONYMOUS TRANSLATED
Published by HARPER COLLINS (2008)
ISBN 10: 0007292767 ISBN 13: 9780007292769
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER COLLINS, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: NEW. 9780007292769 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. Bookseller Inventory # HTANDREE0982173

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.14
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds