Everything to Lose

ISBN 13: 9780007296934

Everything to Lose

3.7 avg rating
( 2,533 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007296934: Everything to Lose
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

[Read by Tavia Gilbert]

A determined mother caring for her handicapped son becomes entangled in a murderous conspiracy to keep a twenty-year-old secret buried in this blistering thriller set during the tragic aftermath of Hurricane Sandy. -- Hilary Blum, who's just lost her job and whose deadbeat husband has left her alone to care for her son with Asperger's, witnesses a car careen down a hill and stops to help. She discovers the driver dead--and a satchel stuffed with half a million dollars. In an instant, this honest woman makes a decision that puts her at the center of a terrifying scheme involving a twenty-year-old murder and a powerful figure bent on keeping hidden the secret that can destroy him. With everything to lose, Hilary connects to a cop from Staten Island, reeling from the disaster of Sandy, to bring down an enemy who will stop at nothing to keep a secret buried.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Andrew Gross

Andrew Gross on Everything to Lose

A common question for all novelists is from where do you get your ideas? In my case, each book always seems to be a sort of triangulation of three, sometimes four, completely separate elements or themes that, married together, germinate into the nucleus of plot and character. They can be newspaper articles, TV clips, personal stories. Many times they are things that felt interesting to me a long time back that I didn’t know what to do with then, and put “in the vault” so to speak, to hopefully come to life and fit into something years later.

In Everything to Lose, there were four of these original, but completely separate, elements. The first was a question-- how far would you go as a parent to protect your own child? Would you cross the line and do something you knew was wrong? Even criminal? Does doing a bad thing for the right reason make it right? Or forgivable? So I created a gritty, devoted, but desperate mom, whose life has taken an unfortunate turn, and a son with hardships. And a deadbeat dad, and ultimately a tempting twist of fate that lures her over the edge. It’s just a small step from the moral high ground to total freefall.

Throw into the mix that a year or so ago I read a fascinating article on what are known as “C-U” kids—callous and unemotional—who behaviorists feel carry the twisted personality defect of future psychopaths. I began to wrestle with the thought: what if one of these kids grows up, learns to control his bad instincts, manages to get through life and ultimately finds himself as a person of power and responsibility—and then the urges come back. It would be like a lurking bad seed, someone admired and looked up to, but a time bomb waiting to go off. Someone with something to hide.

Five years ago, I saved a newspaper article describing the murder of a teenage girl by her boyfriend decades before on the blighted, industrialized shoreline of Staten Island. I can’t quite recall what attracted me back then: that it was buried and forgotten for twenty years; that when ultimately admitted to, it was such a seemingly spontaneous and motiveless act. I thought, what if that was my “bad seed” back then? Something he did, concealed, then ran away from. That article I threw in “the vault” suddenly sprang back to life.

Then sometimes, real life has a way of contributing things. Superstorm Sandy happened as I was putting all this together, a devastating game changer, especially in the low lying coastal areas, in this case, Staten Island. It all began to fit together, even more when I combined it with the personal tale of a good friend, who’s mother owned a house on the Jersey shore which was devastated by the storm—every memento, every antique, every photo, every piece of china, every filagreed frame, every piece of history of their life, swept out to sea and washed away. It was a compelling and heartbreaking testimony for me, and I wanted to weave it in, tie it into my silent, buried murder victim from Staten Island; into to my now-powerful bad seed with something terrible to hide. Back into my desperate mother who steals something she knows is wrong. All linked together by the storm, by something valuable washed out to sea, and then is carried back by the same waves that took it and returns with devastating consequences.


From the Back Cover:

A determined mother becomes entangled in a murderous conspiracy to keep a twenty-year-old secret buried in this blistering thriller, set during the tragic aftermath of Hurricane Sandy, from Andrew Gross, the New York Times bestselling author of 15 Seconds and No Way Back

While driving along a suburban back road, Hilary Cantor, who's just lost her job and whose deadbeat husband has left her to care for her son who has Asperger's, witnesses a freakish accident when a deer suddenly darts in front of the car ahead of her. The driver careens down a hill and slams into a tree. Rushing to help, she discovers the car smoking, the driver dead—and a satchel on the floor stuffed with a half million dollars.

That money could prevent her family's ruin and keep her son in school. In an instant, this honest, achieving woman who has always done the responsible thing makes a decision that puts her in the center of a maelstrom of unforeseeable consequences and life-threatening recriminations. It isn't long before someone comes looking for the money, and as they get closer and closer to Hilary, she is pulled into a terrifying scheme involving a twenty-year-old murder, an old woman whose entire life has been washed out to sea by the storm, and a powerful figure determined to maintain the secret that can destroy him.

With everything to lose and putting everything she loves at risk, Hilary joins up with a dogged police official from Staten Island who has his own connections to the money and is dealing with his family's tragic struggles in the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy. Together they must fight to bring down an enemy who will stop at nothing to keep buried what that money was meant to silence.

Everything to Lose is a propulsive thriller filled with tension and unexpected twists. Pitting an ordinary woman against powerful and desperate figures, this explosive and heartbreaking tale of suspense will appeal to readers of Harlan Coben, Lee Child, and David Baldacci.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780061656057: Everything to Lose: A Novel

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0061656054 ISBN 13:  9780061656057
Publisher: Harper, 2015
Softcover

9780007484461: Everything to Lose

Harper, 2014
Softcover

9780061656002: Everything to Lose: A Novel

Willia..., 2014
Hardcover

9780062326379: Everything to Lose: A Novel

Harper..., 2014
Softcover

9780007296941: Everything to Lose

Harper, 2014
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Gross, Andrew
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 0007296932 ISBN 13: 9780007296934
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Condition: New. The heart-pounding new thriller from the co-author of five No. 1 James Patterson bestsellers including Judge and Jury and Lifeguard, and the Sunday Times bestsellers The Blue Zone and Reckless. Num Pages: 432 pages. Dimension: 156 x 234 x 32. Weight in Grams: 566. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # KEC0000655

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Gross, Andrew
Published by HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007296932 ISBN 13: 9780007296934
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2014. Condition: New. The heart-pounding new thriller from the co-author of five No. 1 James Patterson bestsellers including Judge and Jury and Lifeguard, and the Sunday Times bestsellers The Blue Zone and Reckless. Num Pages: 432 pages. Dimension: 156 x 234 x 32. Weight in Grams: 566. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . . Seller Inventory # KEC0000655

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 11.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

ISBN 10: 0007296932 ISBN 13: 9780007296934
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0007296932. Seller Inventory # ST0007296932

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 20.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Published by HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
ISBN 10: 0007296932 ISBN 13: 9780007296934
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
WFL
(Holtsville, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Ltd. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0007296932 Brand New ,Original Book , Direct from Source , Express 6-8 business days worldwide delivery. Seller Inventory # DG#II164290

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 18.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.90
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds