Fiction Patrick Mercer Red Runs the Helmand

ISBN 13: 9780007302758

Red Runs the Helmand

3.74 avg rating
( 27 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007302758: Red Runs the Helmand

Set in the 1880s, this is a gripping adventure in which Mercer brilliantly reenacts the lives of soldiers in the Second Anglo-Afghan War. Anthony Morgan, now just appointed as general, has two of his sons, one his legitimate heir, one his bastard, both fighting in the ranks. Morgan has arrived just as one of the rival princelings has begun to control Herat, and is determined to carve out some power for himself, and so embarks upon marching to Kandahar, determined to remove the British governor and take the city and province as his own kingdom. Morgan's life is not made easier by problems with the other generals and in particular his own difficulties in dealing with the growing rivalry between his two sons.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Born in 1956, Patrick Mercer read History at Oxford University before joining the Army. He commanded his battalion in Bosnia and Canada. Previously receiving a gallantry commendation, he was awarded the OBE in 1997. In 1999, Patrick Mercer accepted a post as the Defence Reporter for the Today Programme. In the 2001 election, he won the Tory seat in Newark. A respected historian, he has already published a non-fiction account of the Inkerman battle during the Crimean War.

Review:

Praise for To Do and Die: 'A finely-drawn depiction of battle and the camaraderie of war' Daily Mail 'Mercer's prose is muscular yet silky smooth. His depiction of the experience of battle is unsurpassed' Saul David, author of Zulu Dawn 'An excellent fiction debut. Any more please?' Military Illustrated 'Mercer creates colourful, believable characters that stay true to the dialect of the time, but remain recognisable to any modern soldier. Fans of Sharpe, Flashman or Matthew Hervey should enjoy this novel' Soldier Magazine

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Patrick Mercer
Published by HarperCollins (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007302754 ISBN 13: 9780007302758
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
smeikalbooks
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Brand new book. Fast shipping form our UK warehouse in eco-friendly packaging. Fast, efficient and friendly customer service. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007302758N

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.79
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Mercer, Patrick
Published by HarperCollins (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007302754 ISBN 13: 9780007302758
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Orbiting Books
(Hereford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Next day dispatch from the UK (Mon-Fri). Please contact us with any queries. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000444379

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.97
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Mercer, Patrick
Published by HarperCollins (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007302754 ISBN 13: 9780007302758
New Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
cbs distribution ltd
(Brecon, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. . ***. Bookseller Inventory # ABC435524

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.41
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Patrick Mercer
Published by HarperCollins (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007302754 ISBN 13: 9780007302758
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0007302754

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 31.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Mercer, Patrick
Published by HarperCollins (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007302754 ISBN 13: 9780007302758
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0007302754

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 29.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Patrick Mercer
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007302754 ISBN 13: 9780007302758
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0007302754

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 27.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.69
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Mercer, Patrick
Published by HarperCollins (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007302754 ISBN 13: 9780007302758
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110007302754

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 47.59
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds