John Harding Florence and Giles

ISBN 13: 9780007351718

Florence and Giles

3.62 avg rating
( 3,128 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007351718: Florence and Giles

A gripping, sinister Gothic tale inspired by and in the tradition of Henry James's The Turn of the Screw In 1891, in a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence and her younger brother are neglected by her guardian uncle. Banned from reading, Florence devours books in secret and talks to herself—and narrates her story—in a unique language of her own invention. By night, she sleepwalks the corridors and is troubled by a recurrent dream in which a mysterious woman appears to threaten her younger brother Giles. After the sudden violent death of the children's first governess, a second teacher, Miss Taylor, arrives, and immediately strange phenomena begin to occur. Florence becomes convinced that the new governess is a malevolent spirit who means to do Giles harm. Against this powerful enemy, Florence must use all her intelligence and ingenuity to protect her little brother and preserve her private world. This gothic page-turner in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher is told in a startlingly different and wonderfully captivating narrative voice.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

John Harding is a book reviewer for the Daily Mail and the author of While the Sun Shines.

Review:

"An elegant literary exercise worked out with the strictness of a fugue; imagine Henry James's The Turn of the Screw rewritten by Edgar Allan Poe. Plotted to the last detail . . . Nothing prepares you for the chillingly ruthless but—in retrospect—inevitable finale."  — Times

"You don't need to know The Turn of the Screw to enjoy it. Real atmosphere is increasingly rare in novels and here it is in spades . . . Your Twilight-reading teen will love it too. A darkly glamorous tour de force."  — Daily Mail

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 19.95
US$ 6.97

Convert Currency

Shipping: US$ 5.33
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Harding, John
Published by Blue Door (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007351712 ISBN 13: 9780007351718
New Paperback Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Travel-Bookshop
(Hertfordshire, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blue Door, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand new books and maps available immediately from a reputable and well rated UK bookseller - not sent from the USA; despatched promptly and reliably worldwide by Royal Mail; Bookseller Inventory # SBO11149780007351718

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.33
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

John Harding
ISBN 10: 0007351712 ISBN 13: 9780007351718
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Start At Page 1
(Emneth, WIsbech, NFK, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # SELEX-1325-1-4795

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.33
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

John Harding
Published by HarperCollins UK (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007351712 ISBN 13: 9780007351718
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins UK, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0007351712

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.30
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Harding, John
Published by HarperCollins UK (2010)
ISBN 10: 0007351712 ISBN 13: 9780007351718
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins UK, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110007351712

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 54.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds