Thompson, Damian Fix

ISBN 13: 9780007436088

Fix

3.59 avg rating
( 164 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007436088: Fix

Addictions to iphones, painkillers, cupcakes, alcohol and sex are taking over our lives. Our most casual daily habits can quickly become obsessions that move beyond our control. Damian Thompson, who has himself struggled with a range of addictions, argues that human desire is in the process of being reshaped. Shunning the concept of addiction as disease, he shows how manufacturers are producing substances like ipads, muffins and computer games that we learn to like too much and supplement tradition addictions to alcohol, drugs and gambling. He argues that addictive behaviour is becoming a substitute for family and work bonds that are being swept away by globalisation and urbanisation. This battle to control addiction will soon overshadow familiar ideological debates about how to run the economy, and as whole societies set about "fixing" themselves, the architecture of human relations will come under strain as never before. The Fix offers a truly frightening glimpse of the future and is essential reading for fans of Naomi Klein's 'No Logo', Oliver James's 'Affluenza' and Francis Wheen's 'How Mumbo-jumbo Conquered the World'.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Damian Thompson is a recovering alcoholic who continues to wrestle with an addiction to collecting Classical CDs. He's the editor of the Daily Telegraph blogs, a lead columnist in print in the Saturday Telegraph, used to be the director of the Catholic Herald and has been described by the Church Times as a 'blood-crazed ferret'. @HolySmoke

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Thompson, Damian
Published by Collins (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007436084 ISBN 13: 9780007436088
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Collins, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0007436084

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Thompson, Damian
Published by Collins (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007436084 ISBN 13: 9780007436088
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Collins, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 7436084

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 36.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Thompson, Damian
Published by Collins
ISBN 10: 0007436084 ISBN 13: 9780007436088
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Collins. Hardcover. Book Condition: Brand New. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0007436084

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 41.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.43
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Thompson, Damian
Published by Collins (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007436084 ISBN 13: 9780007436088
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Collins, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110007436084

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 83.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds