Hillary Jordan When She Woke

ISBN 13: 9780007456710

When She Woke

3.67 avg rating
( 22,746 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007456710: When She Woke
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

When she woke, she was red. Not flushed, not sunburned, but the solid, declarative red of a stop sign. An enthralling and chilling novel from the author of MUDBOUND, for fans of THE HANDMAID'S TALE and THE SCARLET LETTER. Lying on a table in a bare room, covered by only a paper gown, Hannah awakens to a nightmare. Cameras broadcast her every move to millions at home, for whom observing new Chromes - criminals whose skin has been genetically altered to match the class of their crime - is a sinister form of entertainment. Hannah refuses to reveal the identity of her father. But cast back into a world that has marked her for life, how far will she go to protect the man she loves? An enthralling and chilling novel from the author of MUDBOUND, for fans of THE HANDMAID'S TALE and THE SCARLET LETTER.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Hillary Jordan spent fifteen years working as an advertising copywriter before starting to write fiction. Her first novel, MUDBOUND, was named one of the Top Ten Debut Novels of the Decade by Paste Magazine. It won the 2006 Bellwether Prize, founded by Barbara Kingsolver and awarded biennially to an unpublished debut novel that addresses issues of social justice. Hillary grew up in Dallas, Texas and Muskogee, Oklahoma. She lives in Brooklyn.

Review:

'Hillary Jordan channels Nathaniel Hawthorne by way of Margaret Atwood in this fast-paced, dystopian thriller. Unputdownable' Valerie Martin, author of The Confessions of Edward Day 'Not only one of the best books of the year, but it's everything the dystopian genre was made for ... An instant classic for the 21st century' Publisher's Weekly PRAISE FOR HILLARY JORDAN: 'Hillary Jordan writes with the force of a Delta storm' Barbara Kingsolver 'Jordan's tautly structured debut ... confronts disturbing truths about America's past with a directness and a freshness of approach that recalls Alice Walker's The Color Purple.' The Times 'The winner of Barbara Kingsolver's Bellwether Prize for a novel 'promoting social responsibility,' Hillary Jordan is happily a writer who puts her duty to entertain first' The Independent

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 28.25
US$ 276.81

Convert Currency

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.

Destination, Rates & Speeds

Add to Basket

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Hillary Jordan
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2011)
ISBN 10: 0007456719 ISBN 13: 9780007456710
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2011. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0007456719

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 276.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds