Hillary Jordan When She Woke

ISBN 13: 9780007456727

When She Woke

3.67 avg rating
( 20,379 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007456727: When She Woke

When she woke, she was red. Not flushed, not sunburned, but the solid, declarative red of a stop sign. An enthralling and chilling novel from the author of MUDBOUND, for fans of THE HANDMAID'S TALE and THE SCARLET LETTER. Lying on a table in a bare room, covered by only a paper gown, Hannah awakens to a nightmare. Cameras broadcast her every move to millions at home, for whom observing new Chromes - criminals whose skin has been genetically altered to match the class of their crime - is a sinister form of entertainment. Hannah refuses to reveal the identity of her father. But cast back into a world that has marked her for life, how far will she go to protect the man she loves? An enthralling and chilling novel from the author of MUDBOUND, for fans of THE HANDMAID'S TALE and THE SCARLET LETTER.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Hannah Payne is a RED. Her crime: MURDER. And her victim, says the state of Texas, was her unborn child. Lying on a table in a bare room, covered by only a paper gown, Hannah awakens to a nightmare. Cameras broadcast her every move to millions at home, for whom observing new Chromes - criminals whose skin has been genetically altered to match the class of their crime - is a sinister form of entertainment. Hannah refuses to reveal the identity of her father. But cast back into a world that has marked her for life, how far will she go to protect the man she loves? An enthralling and chilling novel from the author of MUDBOUND, for fans of THE HANDMAID'S TALE and THE SCARLET LETTER.

About the Author:

Hillary Jordan spent fifteen years working as an advertising copywriter before starting to write fiction. Her first novel, MUDBOUND, was named one of the Top Ten Debut Novels of the Decade by Paste Magazine. It won the 2006 Bellwether Prize, founded by Barbara Kingsolver and awarded biennially to an unpublished debut novel that addresses issues of social justice. Hillary grew up in Dallas, Texas and Muskogee, Oklahoma. She lives in Brooklyn.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Hillary Jordan
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007456727 ISBN 13: 9780007456727
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Hannah Payne is a RED. Her crime: MURDER. And her victim, says the state of Texas, was her unborn child. Lying on a table in a bare room, covered by only a paper gown, Hannah awakens to a nightmare. Cameras broadcast her every move to millions at home, for whom observing new Chromes - criminals whose skin has been genetically altered to match the class of their crime - is a sinister form of entertainment. Hannah refuses to reveal the identity of her father. But cast back into a world that has marked her for life, how far will she go to protect the man she loves? An enthralling and chilling novel from the author of MUDBOUND, for fans of THE HANDMAID S TALE and THE SCARLET LETTER. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007456727

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Hillary Jordan
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007456727 ISBN 13: 9780007456727
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 196 x 128 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Hannah Payne is a RED. Her crime: MURDER. And her victim, says the state of Texas, was her unborn child. Lying on a table in a bare room, covered by only a paper gown, Hannah awakens to a nightmare. Cameras broadcast her every move to millions at home, for whom observing new Chromes - criminals whose skin has been genetically altered to match the class of their crime - is a sinister form of entertainment. Hannah refuses to reveal the identity of her father. But cast back into a world that has marked her for life, how far will she go to protect the man she loves? An enthralling and chilling novel from the author of MUDBOUND, for fans of THE HANDMAID S TALE and THE SCARLET LETTER. Bookseller Inventory # AA89780007456727

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Hillary Jordan
ISBN 10: 0007456727 ISBN 13: 9780007456727
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800074567270000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Hillary Jordan
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0007456727 ISBN 13: 9780007456727
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Book Condition: New. 2012. Paperback. Hannah Payne is a RED. Her crime: MURDER. And her victim, says the state of Texas, was her unborn child. Num Pages: 352 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 130 x 25. Weight in Grams: 338. . . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780007456727

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Hillary Jordan
ISBN 10: 0007456727 ISBN 13: 9780007456727
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; Hannah Payne is a RED. Her crime: MURDER. And her victim, says the state of Texas, was her unborn child. Lying on a table in a bare room, covered by only a paper gown, Hannah awakens to a nightmare. Cameras broadcast her every move to millions at home, for whom observing new Chromes - criminals whos. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780007456727_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Hillary Jordan
Published by Harper (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007456727 ISBN 13: 9780007456727
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2012. Book Condition: New. 2012. Paperback. Hannah Payne is a RED. Her crime: MURDER. And her victim, says the state of Texas, was her unborn child. Num Pages: 352 pages. BIC Classification: FA. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 198 x 130 x 25. Weight in Grams: 338. . . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780007456727

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Hillary Jordan
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007456727 ISBN 13: 9780007456727
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, When She Woke, Hillary Jordan, Hannah Payne is a RED. Her crime: MURDER. And her victim, says the state of Texas, was her unborn child. Lying on a table in a bare room, covered by only a paper gown, Hannah awakens to a nightmare. Cameras broadcast her every move to millions at home, for whom observing new Chromes - criminals whose skin has been genetically altered to match the class of their crime - is a sinister form of entertainment. Hannah refuses to reveal the identity of her father. But cast back into a world that has marked her for life, how far will she go to protect the man she loves? An enthralling and chilling novel from the author of MUDBOUND, for fans of THE HANDMAID'S TALE and THE SCARLET LETTER. Bookseller Inventory # B9780007456727

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.78
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.38
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Hillary Jordan
ISBN 10: 0007456727 ISBN 13: 9780007456727
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0007456727. Bookseller Inventory # ST0007456727

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Hillary Jordan
Published by Harper (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007456727 ISBN 13: 9780007456727
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2012. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # GH9780007456727

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.31
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Hillary Jordan
Published by HarperCollins Publishers 2012-08-30, London (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007456727 ISBN 13: 9780007456727
New paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers 2012-08-30, London, 2012. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007456727

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.59
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book