Hillary Jordan When She Woke

ISBN 13: 9780007456727

When She Woke

3.67 avg rating
( 21,187 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007456727: When She Woke

When she woke, she was red. Not flushed, not sunburned, but the solid, declarative red of a stop sign. An enthralling and chilling novel from the author of MUDBOUND, for fans of THE HANDMAID'S TALE and THE SCARLET LETTER. Lying on a table in a bare room, covered by only a paper gown, Hannah awakens to a nightmare. Cameras broadcast her every move to millions at home, for whom observing new Chromes - criminals whose skin has been genetically altered to match the class of their crime - is a sinister form of entertainment. Hannah refuses to reveal the identity of her father. But cast back into a world that has marked her for life, how far will she go to protect the man she loves? An enthralling and chilling novel from the author of MUDBOUND, for fans of THE HANDMAID'S TALE and THE SCARLET LETTER.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Hillary Jordan spent fifteen years working as an advertising copywriter before starting to write fiction. Her first novel, MUDBOUND, was named one of the Top Ten Debut Novels of the Decade by Paste Magazine. It won the 2006 Bellwether Prize, founded by Barbara Kingsolver and awarded biennially to an unpublished debut novel that addresses issues of social justice. Hillary grew up in Dallas, Texas and Muskogee, Oklahoma. She lives in Brooklyn.

Review:

'Hillary Jordan channels Nathaniel Hawthorne by way of Margaret Atwood in this fast-paced, dystopian thriller. Unputdownable' Valerie Martin, author of The Confessions of Edward Day 'Not only one of the best books of the year, but it's everything the dystopian genre was made for ... An instant classic for the 21st century' Publisher's Weekly PRAISE FOR HILLARY JORDAN: 'Hillary Jordan writes with the force of a Delta storm' Barbara Kingsolver 'Jordan's tautly structured debut ... confronts disturbing truths about America's past with a directness and a freshness of approach that recalls Alice Walker's The Color Purple.' The Times 'The winner of Barbara Kingsolver's Bellwether Prize for a novel 'promoting social responsibility,' Hillary Jordan is happily a writer who puts her duty to entertain first' The Independent

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Jordan, Hillary
Published by Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill
ISBN 10: 0007456727 ISBN 13: 9780007456727
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0007456727 Ships promptly. Bookseller Inventory # HGT3262KBGG032117H0964A

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Hillary Jordan
ISBN 10: 0007456727 ISBN 13: 9780007456727
New Quantity Available: 4
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800074567270000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

HILLARY JORDAN
Published by HARPER COLLINS (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007456727 ISBN 13: 9780007456727
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER COLLINS, 2012. Paperback. Book Condition: NEW. 9780007456727 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. Bookseller Inventory # HTANDREE0994726

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Jordan, Hillary
Published by HarperCollins (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007456727 ISBN 13: 9780007456727
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2012. Book Condition: New. N/A. Ships from the UK. BRAND NEW. Bookseller Inventory # GRP68055278

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.82
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Hillary Jordan
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0007456727 ISBN 13: 9780007456727
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # zk0007456727

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.69
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds