Crime Fiction S. J. Parris Treachery

ISBN 13: 9780007481194

Treachery

4.17 avg rating
( 1,187 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007481194: Treachery

Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, this sequel to Sacrilege features Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy.
     Summer, 1585: As English ships are held captive in Spain, fear mounts of an Invincible Armada, built by King Philip II, and intended to invade English shores.
     Sir Francis Drake prepares to embark on an expedition by royal commission to cross the Atlantic and seize major Spanish ports, diverting Philip's American treasure supplies to Queen Elizabeth.
     Giordano Bruno, radical philosopher and spy, accompanies his friend Sir Philip Sidney to Plymouth to oversee Drake's departure. Unbeknownst to Bruno, Sidney intends to join the mission--and he wants Bruno to go too.
     But when a ship's captain is brutally murdered, and Drake's life threatened, it becomes clear that someone plans to destroy the expedition before it begins. Bruno and Sidney hunt for the killer, but are they being lured into a trap? And when Drake's young wife and her cousin arrive, Bruno and Sidney find themselves thrown into an unexpected rivalry.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, the fourth historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy. August, 1583. Giordano Bruno, a heretic fleeing the Inquisition, finds a new life working as a spy for Sir Francis Walsingham. Along with his friend, Sir Philip Sidney, Bruno travels to Plymouth on the Queen's behalf. There, they meet Sir Francis Drake, who is preparing to launch a daring expedition against the Spanish, which could turn the tide of war. Unbeknownst to Bruno, however, Sidney plans to stowaway with Drake's fleet and return a hero - dragging Bruno with him to the New World. But when a murder occurs aboard Drake's own ship, fear and suspicion grip the fleet and threaten to abort the expedition before it begins. Navigating the jealousies and loyalties of the crew, Bruno learns that someone with a deadly grudge is shadowing his investigation. Tracking the killer through Plymouth's menacing backstreets, he uncovers some of the darkest secrets the city is harbouring. Failure will come at the highest cost - not just for Bruno, but all of England...

About the Author:

S.J. Parris is the pseudonym of author and journalist Stephanie Merritt. It was as a student in Cambridge researching a paper on the period that Stephanie first became fascinated by the rich history of Tudor England and Renaissance Europe. Since then, her interest has grown and led her to create this series of historical thrillers featuring Giordano Bruno. Stephanie has worked as a critic and feature writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines as well as radio and television. She currently writes for the Observer and the Guardian, and lives in Surrey with her son.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

S. J. Parris
Published by HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007481195 ISBN 13: 9780007481194
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Setanta Books PBFA
(richmond, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. First edition first impression in new condition signed and lined by author to title page, no markings, this is a brand new book, jacket in removable protective sleeve, please see pics, paypal accepted, any questions please get in touch. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # ABE-18944799058

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 64.18
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 13.08
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

S. J. Parris
Published by HARPER COLLINS, LONDON, UK (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007481195 ISBN 13: 9780007481194
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Long Acre Books
(Stevenage, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER COLLINS, LONDON, UK, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. A NICE CLEAN AND TIGHT UK HARDBACK FIRST EDITION FIRST PRINT COPY OF TREACHERY BY C.J.PARRIS,WHICH STEPHANIE HAS VERY KINDLY SIGNED AND LINED TO THE TITLE PAGE. BOOK IS IN A PROTECTIVE CLEAR ACETATE COVER, ALL BOOKS DESPATCHED WRAPPED IN BUBBLE WRAP AND A STRONG CARDBOARD BOX. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # 001432

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 56.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 21.43
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

S. J. Parris
Published by HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007481195 ISBN 13: 9780007481194
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller
welcombe books
(Stratford upon Avon, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. A mint first printing in a likewise unclipped dust wrapper.This unread gift condition copy is SIGNED, LINED ' There! Is that not a sight to stir the blood, Bruno?', and Publication Day DATED 27th Feb 2014 by the author to the title page.An acclaimed series and scarce to find with all these attributes. BOXED DESPATCH: OVERSEAS AIR ONLY: PLEASE DO NOT SELECT SURFACE. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # ABE-19164034211

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 89.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 19.32
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

S. J. Parris
ISBN 10: 0007481195 ISBN 13: 9780007481194
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
LVeritas
(Newton, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Gift Quality Book in Excellent Condition. Bookseller Inventory # 36SE5E000NPQ

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 125.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

S. J. Parris
Published by HarperCollins 2014-01-01 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007481195 ISBN 13: 9780007481194
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins 2014-01-01, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1St Edition. 0007481195 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0007481195

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 149.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

S. J. Parris
Published by HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007481195 ISBN 13: 9780007481194
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2014. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110007481195

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 179.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds