Fiction & Related S. J Parris Treachery

ISBN 13: 9780007481224

Treachery

4.18 avg rating
( 1,338 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007481224: Treachery

Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, this sequel to Sacrilege features Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy.
     Summer, 1585: As English ships are held captive in Spain, fear mounts of an Invincible Armada, built by King Philip II, and intended to invade English shores.
     Sir Francis Drake prepares to embark on an expedition by royal commission to cross the Atlantic and seize major Spanish ports, diverting Philip's American treasure supplies to Queen Elizabeth.
     Giordano Bruno, radical philosopher and spy, accompanies his friend Sir Philip Sidney to Plymouth to oversee Drake's departure. Unbeknownst to Bruno, Sidney intends to join the mission--and he wants Bruno to go too.
     But when a ship's captain is brutally murdered, and Drake's life threatened, it becomes clear that someone plans to destroy the expedition before it begins. Bruno and Sidney hunt for the killer, but are they being lured into a trap? And when Drake's young wife and her cousin arrive, Bruno and Sidney find themselves thrown into an unexpected rivalry.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

S.J. PARRIS is the pseudonym of Stephanie Merritt. Since graduating from Cambridge, she has worked as a critic and feature writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines as well as for radio and television. She currently writes for The Observer and The Guardian and is the author of five books. Visit S.J. Parris at www.sjparris.com.

Review:

“Treachery is full of historical detail and rich with atmosphere; Parris is good on the smells and the slop of the time, the grime and the stink, the midden heaps and the taint of the pox. Yet while she knows this world well, the research never drags things down or impedes the pleasingly knotty plot. . . . The murky backstreets of Elizabethan Plymouth are colourfully evoked, and Parris is skilled at blending characters drawn from history with those of her own invention, while saturating everything with her evident fascination with the politics of the period.”
The Guardian (UK)

“S.J. Parris has created the ultimate conflicted character. . . . There is no time like Tudor England for great intrigue. . . . I am most of the way through this one and savouring every page.”
Ottawa Citizen

“[T]his is a book to make you long for filthy weather, a deep armchair and a thick blanket. . . . Her prose is taut and compelling. Her wielding of the historical material is always convincing but never overwhelming . . . the more straightforward storytelling of Treachery remains inventive and full of surprises.”
The Times

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

S. J Parris
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800074812240000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

S. J. Parris
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2014. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # EH9780007481224

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.23
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

S. J. Parris
Published by Harper 2014-08-14 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New Paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2014-08-14, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-05126908

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.80
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Parris, S. J
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 4
Seller
IBestBargains, LLC
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0007481225 Brand New Book in Perfect Condition.Fast Shipping with tracking number. Bookseller Inventory # YGDA-FBD-02826

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Parris, S. J
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 4
Seller
IBestBargains, LLC
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0007481225 Brand New Book in Perfect Condition.Fast Shipping with tracking number. Bookseller Inventory # YGDA-FBD-08379

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Parris, S. J
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 4
Seller
IBestBargains, LLC
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0007481225 Brand New Book in Perfect Condition.Fast Shipping with tracking number. Bookseller Inventory # YGDA-MRAKASH-3557

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Parris, S. J.
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New Softcover Quantity Available: 12
Seller
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Book Condition: New. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, the fourth historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy. Num Pages: 576 pages. BIC Classification: FFH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 128 x 37. Weight in Grams: 420. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # V9780007481224

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

S. J Parris
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
US_Superfast_Bookstore
(New Castle, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Brand New Paperback Same Title Author and Edition as listed. Standard Delivery within 6-14 business days ACROSS THE GLOBE. Access code/CD may not provided with these editions. We may ship the books from multiple warehouses across the globe including Asia depending upon the availability of inventory. Printed in English. Bookseller Inventory # O9780007481224

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.65
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Parris, S. J
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New Softcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Sunshine Book Store
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Book Condition: New. 0007481225 Brand New, Paperback, Choose Expedited shipping for GUARANTEED delivery within 4-5 business days. Standard Delivery within 6-14 business days. We may not ship to PO Box, APO , FPO Address, please contact us. Customer satisfaction guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # RO_9780007481224

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Parris, S. J.
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New Softcover Quantity Available: 12
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2014. Book Condition: New. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, the fourth historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy. Num Pages: 576 pages. BIC Classification: FFH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 128 x 37. Weight in Grams: 420. . 2014. Paperback. . . . . . Bookseller Inventory # V9780007481224

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book