S. J Parris Treachery

ISBN 13: 9780007481224

Treachery

4.17 avg rating
( 1,641 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007481224: Treachery
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, this sequel to Sacrilege features Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy.
     Summer, 1585: As English ships are held captive in Spain, fear mounts of an Invincible Armada, built by King Philip II, and intended to invade English shores.
     Sir Francis Drake prepares to embark on an expedition by royal commission to cross the Atlantic and seize major Spanish ports, diverting Philip's American treasure supplies to Queen Elizabeth.
     Giordano Bruno, radical philosopher and spy, accompanies his friend Sir Philip Sidney to Plymouth to oversee Drake's departure. Unbeknownst to Bruno, Sidney intends to join the mission--and he wants Bruno to go too.
     But when a ship's captain is brutally murdered, and Drake's life threatened, it becomes clear that someone plans to destroy the expedition before it begins. Bruno and Sidney hunt for the killer, but are they being lured into a trap? And when Drake's young wife and her cousin arrive, Bruno and Sidney find themselves thrown into an unexpected rivalry.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

S.J. PARRIS is the pseudonym of Stephanie Merritt. Since graduating from Cambridge, she has worked as a critic and feature writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines as well as for radio and television. She currently writes for The Observer and The Guardian and is the author of five books. Visit S.J. Parris at www.sjparris.com.

Review:

“Treachery is full of historical detail and rich with atmosphere; Parris is good on the smells and the slop of the time, the grime and the stink, the midden heaps and the taint of the pox. Yet while she knows this world well, the research never drags things down or impedes the pleasingly knotty plot. . . . The murky backstreets of Elizabethan Plymouth are colourfully evoked, and Parris is skilled at blending characters drawn from history with those of her own invention, while saturating everything with her evident fascination with the politics of the period.”
The Guardian (UK)

“S.J. Parris has created the ultimate conflicted character. . . . There is no time like Tudor England for great intrigue. . . . I am most of the way through this one and savouring every page.”
Ottawa Citizen

“[T]his is a book to make you long for filthy weather, a deep armchair and a thick blanket. . . . Her prose is taut and compelling. Her wielding of the historical material is always convincing but never overwhelming . . . the more straightforward storytelling of Treachery remains inventive and full of surprises.”
The Times

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780007481194: Treachery

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0007481195 ISBN 13:  9780007481194
Publisher: HarperCollins, 2014
Hardcover

9780385679985: Treachery

Double..., 2014
Softcover

9780007481200: Treachery

Harper..., 2014
Softcover

9780008189440: Treachery

Harper
Softcover

9780007586493: Treachery (Giordano Bruno)

Harper, 2014
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

S. J. Parris
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Booksdegran
(Marlton, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Condition: New. Brand new. Standard delivery takes 5-9 business days by USPS media mail with tracking number. We also ship to PO Box addresses but by Standard delivery and shipping charges will be extra. Customer satisfaction guaranteed and please feel free to contact us for any queries. Seller Inventory # IBD-2581

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.08
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

S. J. Parris
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Keystone Books
(Syosset, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Brand New Book. Delivery within 6 to 10 days. Expedited Shipping Available. Excellent Customer Service. Seller Inventory # 1348301

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.08
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

S. J Parris
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
US_Superfast_Bookstore
(New Castle, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Condition: NEW. Brand New, We ship to PO , APO and FPO adresses in U.S.A .Choose Expedited Shipping for FASTER DELIVERY.Customer Satisfaction Guaranteed. Seller Inventory # SM_9780007481224

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.52
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

S. J. Parris
Published by HarperCollins (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2014. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # EH9780007481224

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.20
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.43
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Parris, S. J
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
WFL
(Holtsville, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0007481225 Brand New,original , printed in english , Ready to ship, fast delivery (5-8 busienss days ) worldwide. Seller Inventory # M30ZA23737

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.92
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.90
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Parris, S. J.
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New Softcover Quantity Available: 4
Seller:
Kennys Bookstore
(Olney, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Condition: New. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, the fourth historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy. Num Pages: 576 pages. BIC Classification: FFH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 128 x 37. Weight in Grams: 420. . 2012. Paperback. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Seller Inventory # V9780007481224

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.13
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

S. J. Parris
Published by Harper Collins Uk
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New Soft cover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Books in my Basket
(New Delhi, India)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Uk. Soft cover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # 576820

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 9.07
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.08
From India to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Parris, S. J.
Published by Harper (2012)
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New Softcover Quantity Available: 4
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2012. Condition: New. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, the fourth historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy. Num Pages: 576 pages. BIC Classification: FFH. Category: (G) General (US: Trade). Dimension: 197 x 128 x 37. Weight in Grams: 420. . 2012. Paperback. . . . . . Seller Inventory # V9780007481224

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.26
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From Ireland to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

S. J Parris
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New Quantity Available: 20
Seller:
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0007481225. Seller Inventory # ST0007481225

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 15.53
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Parris, S. J
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Heidle S
(NEW MARSKE, REDCA, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0007481225 Brand New , we ship from UK , EU ,fast delivery wordwide ( 5-8 business days ). Seller Inventory # 121P21765

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 10.04
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.83
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book