Fiction & Related S. J Parris Treachery

ISBN 13: 9780007481224

Treachery

4.17 avg rating
( 1,205 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007481224: Treachery

Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, this sequel to Sacrilege features Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy.
     Summer, 1585: As English ships are held captive in Spain, fear mounts of an Invincible Armada, built by King Philip II, and intended to invade English shores.
     Sir Francis Drake prepares to embark on an expedition by royal commission to cross the Atlantic and seize major Spanish ports, diverting Philip's American treasure supplies to Queen Elizabeth.
     Giordano Bruno, radical philosopher and spy, accompanies his friend Sir Philip Sidney to Plymouth to oversee Drake's departure. Unbeknownst to Bruno, Sidney intends to join the mission--and he wants Bruno to go too.
     But when a ship's captain is brutally murdered, and Drake's life threatened, it becomes clear that someone plans to destroy the expedition before it begins. Bruno and Sidney hunt for the killer, but are they being lured into a trap? And when Drake's young wife and her cousin arrive, Bruno and Sidney find themselves thrown into an unexpected rivalry.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, the fourth historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy. August, 1583. Giordano Bruno, a heretic fleeing the Inquisition, finds a new life working as a spy for Sir Francis Walsingham. Along with his friend, Sir Philip Sidney, Bruno travels to Plymouth on the Queen's behalf. There, they meet Sir Francis Drake, who is preparing to launch a daring expedition against the Spanish, which could turn the tide of war. Unbeknownst to Bruno, however, Sidney plans to stowaway with Drake's fleet and return a hero - dragging Bruno with him to the New World. But when a murder occurs aboard Drake's own ship, fear and suspicion grip the fleet and threaten to abort the expedition before it begins. Navigating the jealousies and loyalties of the crew, Bruno learns that someone with a deadly grudge is shadowing his investigation. Tracking the killer through Plymouth's menacing backstreets, he uncovers some of the darkest secrets the city is harbouring. Failure will come at the highest cost - not just for Bruno, but all of England...

About the Author:

S.J. Parris is the pseudonym of author and journalist Stephanie Merritt. It was as a student in Cambridge researching a paper on the period that Stephanie first became fascinated by the rich history of Tudor England and Renaissance Europe. Since then, her interest has grown and led her to create this series of historical thrillers featuring Giordano Bruno. Stephanie has worked as a critic and feature writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines as well as radio and television. She currently writes for the Observer and the Guardian, and lives in Surrey with her son.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

S. J Parris
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800074812240000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

S. J Parris
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 18612721-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

S. J Parris
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 197mm x 128mm x. Paperback. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, the fourth historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy. August, 1585. England is on the brink of wa.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 576 pages. 0.414. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007481224

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

S. J Parris
Published by Harper 2014-08-14 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2014-08-14, 2014. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-05126908

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.72
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

S. J Parris
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New Paperback Quantity Available: 14
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, the fourth historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy. August, 1585. England is on the brink of war.Sir Francis Drake is preparing to launch a daring expedition against the Spanish when a murder aboard his sh. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780007481224_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.17
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

S. J Parris
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, Treachery, S. J. Parris, Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and The Name of the Rose, the fourth historical thriller featuring Giordano Bruno, heretic, philosopher and spy. August, 1583. Giordano Bruno, a heretic fleeing the Inquisition, finds a new life working as a spy for Sir Francis Walsingham. Along with his friend, Sir Philip Sidney, Bruno travels to Plymouth on the Queen's behalf. There, they meet Sir Francis Drake, who is preparing to launch a daring expedition against the Spanish, which could turn the tide of war. Unbeknownst to Bruno, however, Sidney plans to stowaway with Drake's fleet and return a hero - dragging Bruno with him to the New World. But when a murder occurs aboard Drake's own ship, fear and suspicion grip the fleet and threaten to abort the expedition before it begins. Navigating the jealousies and loyalties of the crew, Bruno learns that someone with a deadly grudge is shadowing his investigation. Tracking the killer through Plymouth's menacing backstreets, he uncovers some of the darkest secrets the city is harbouring. Failure will come at the highest cost - not just for Bruno, but all of England. Bookseller Inventory # B9780007481224

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.38
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

S. J Parris
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New Soft cover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Devils in the Detail Ltd
(Oxford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Soft cover. Book Condition: New. NEW, shipped from the UK. Bookseller Inventory # 006/BLR/410P

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 2.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 12.42
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

S. J Parris
Published by Harper Collins India
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New Quantity Available: 10
Seller
BookVistas
(New Delhi, DELHI, India)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins India. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # Harper-9780007481224

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.24
From India to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

S. J Parris
Published by HarperCollins Publishers 2014-08-14, London (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers 2014-08-14, London, 2014. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007481224

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.59
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

S. J Parris
Published by Harper (2014)
ISBN 10: 0007481225 ISBN 13: 9780007481224
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2014. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # EH9780007481224

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.31
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book