Claire Kendal The Book of You

ISBN 13: 9780007531677

The Book of You

3.59 avg rating
( 8,903 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780007531677: The Book of You

A mesmerizing tale of psychological suspense about a woman who must fight to escape an expert manipulator determined to possess her, Claire Kendal’s debut novel is a sophisticated and disturbing portrait of compulsion, control, and terror that will appeal to fans of Before I Go to Sleep, The Silent Wife, and Into the Darkest Corner.

His name is Rafe, and he is everywhere Clarissa turns. At the university where she works. Her favorite sewing shop. The train station. Outside her apartment. His messages choke her voice mail; his gifts litter her mailbox. Since that one regrettable night, his obsession with her has grown, becoming more terrifying with each passing day. And as Rafe has made clear, he will never let her go.

Clarissa’s only escape from this harrowing nightmare is inside a courtroom—where she is a juror on a trial involving a victim whose experiences eerily parallel her own. There she finds some peace and even makes new friends, including an attractive widower named Robert, whose caring attentions make her feel desired and safe. But as a disturbingly violent crime unfolds in the courtroom, Clarissa realizes that to survive she must expose Rafe herself. Conceiving a plan, she begins collecting the evidence of Rafe’s madness to use against him—a record of terror that will force her to relive every excruciating moment she desperately wants to forget. Proof that will reveal the twisted, macabre fairy tale that Rafe has spun around them . . . with an ending more horrifying than her darkest fears.

Masterfully constructed, filled with exquisite tension and a pervasive sense of menace, The Book of You explores the lines between love and compulsion, fantasy and reality, and offers a heart-stopping portrait of a woman determined to survive. Claire Kendal’s extraordinary debut will haunt readers long after it reaches its terrifying, breathtaking conclusion.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

"No other man can do to you what I can. No other man will love you like I do. . . . "

His name is Rafe, and he is everywhere Clarissa turns.

At the university where she works. At her favorite sewing shop. At the train station. Outside her apartment. His messages choke her voice mail; his unwanted gifts keep arriving at her door. Since that one regrettable night, his obsession with her has grown, becoming more consuming with each passing day. And as he has made clear, he will never let her go.

With Rafe in pursuit, Clarissa's only sanctuary is the courtroom in which she is serving jury duty. The rhythm of the trial allows her a sense of normalcy and the space to make new friends, including Robert, an attractive widower. But Clarissa's deepening relationship with Robert—a source of hope she so desperately needs in her life—will not remain unnoticed for long. As a chilling tale of predator and prey unfolds in front of Clarissa on the stand, Rafe's relentless fixation, fueled by jealousy, escalates. Her only chance of escape lies in exposing his intentions for what they really are, even if it means immortalizing every moment she so desperately wants to forget.

Conceiving a plan, Clarissa begins collecting the evidence of Rafe's madness to use against him. Strand by strand, she pulls apart the twisted, macabre fairy tale he has spun around them and discovers that the happy ending he envisions is more horrifying than her darkest fears. Masterly constructed, filled with exquisite tension and a pervasive sense of menace, The Book of You is a darkly sophisticated, utterly compelling debut that explores what happens when the lines between love and compulsion, fantasy and reality, become dangerously blurred.

About the Author:

Claire Kendal was born in America and educated in England, where she has spent all her adult life. Her first novel, The Book of You, was translated into more than twenty languages. Claire teaches English literature and creative writing, and lives in England’s South West region with her family.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Claire Kendal
Published by Harper 01/01/2015 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007531672 ISBN 13: 9780007531677
New Paperback Quantity Available: 6
Seller
eBookMole LTD
(Milton Keynes, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 01/01/2015, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New Book In Stock, All orders dispatched same day from our UK warehouse,book cover may vary. Trusted Bucks Retailer, Est 2000.Visit our Abe store. Happy reading :). Bookseller Inventory # 9780007531677

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.24
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Claire Kendal
ISBN 10: 0007531672 ISBN 13: 9780007531677
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800075316770000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Kendal, Claire
Published by Harper (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007531672 ISBN 13: 9780007531677
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
HALCYON BOOKS
(LONDON, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. DISPATCHED FROM THE UK WITHIN 24 HOURS ( BOOKS ORDERED OVER THE WEEKEND DISPATCHED ON MONDAY) BY ROYAL MAIL. ALL OVERSEAS ORDERS SENT BY AIR MAIL. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000378959

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 1.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.08
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Claire Kendal
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007531672 ISBN 13: 9780007531677
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, The Book of You, Claire Kendal, A terrifying psychological thriller about obsession and power, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Before I Go to Sleep. Clarissa is becoming more and more frightened of her colleague, Rafe. He won't leave her alone, and he refuses to take no for an answer. He is always there. Being selected for jury service is a relief. The courtroom is a safe haven, a place where Rafe can't be. But as a violent tale of kidnap and abuse unfolds, Clarissa begins to see parallels between her own situation and that of the young woman on the witness stand. Realizing that she bears the burden of proof, Clarissa unravels the twisted, macabre fairytale that Rafe has spun around them - and discovers that the ending he envisions is more terrifying than she could have imagined. Bookseller Inventory # B9780007531677

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.71
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Claire Kendal
Published by HarperCollins (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007531672 ISBN 13: 9780007531677
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2015. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # EH9780007531677

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.04
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Claire Kendal
Published by Harper (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007531672 ISBN 13: 9780007531677
New Softcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2015. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780007531677_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.58
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.02
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Claire Kendal
Published by HarperCollins Publishers 2015-01-01, London (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007531672 ISBN 13: 9780007531677
New paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers 2015-01-01, London, 2015. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007531677

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.84
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Claire Kendal
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007531672 ISBN 13: 9780007531677
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 2015. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from UK in 4 to 14 days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # FC-9780007531677

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.55
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.68
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Claire Kendal
ISBN 10: 0007531672 ISBN 13: 9780007531677
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198mm x 129mm x. Paperback. Sunday Times top ten bestseller and Richard & Judy pick, The Book of You is a terrifying psychological thriller about obsession and power, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 384 pages. 0.360. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007531677

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Claire Kendal
Published by Harper (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007531672 ISBN 13: 9780007531677
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0007531672

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book