Kendal, Claire The Book of You

ISBN 13: 9780007531677

The Book of You

3.59 avg rating
( 8,343 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007531677: The Book of You

A terrifying psychological thriller about obsession and power, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Before I Go to Sleep. Clarissa is becoming more and more frightened of her colleague, Rafe. He won't leave her alone, and he refuses to take no for an answer. He is always there. Being selected for jury service is a relief. The courtroom is a safe haven, a place where Rafe can't be. But as a violent tale of kidnap and abuse unfolds, Clarissa begins to see parallels between her own situation and that of the young woman on the witness stand. Realizing that she bears the burden of proof, Clarissa unravels the twisted, macabre fairytale that Rafe has spun around them - and discovers that the ending he envisions is more terrifying than she could have imagined.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

"No other man can do to you what I can. No other man will love you like I do. . . . "

His name is Rafe, and he is everywhere Clarissa turns.

At the university where she works. At her favorite sewing shop. At the train station. Outside her apartment. His messages choke her voice mail; his unwanted gifts keep arriving at her door. Since that one regrettable night, his obsession with her has grown, becoming more consuming with each passing day. And as he has made clear, he will never let her go.

With Rafe in pursuit, Clarissa's only sanctuary is the courtroom in which she is serving jury duty. The rhythm of the trial allows her a sense of normalcy and the space to make new friends, including Robert, an attractive widower. But Clarissa's deepening relationship with Robert—a source of hope she so desperately needs in her life—will not remain unnoticed for long. As a chilling tale of predator and prey unfolds in front of Clarissa on the stand, Rafe's relentless fixation, fueled by jealousy, escalates. Her only chance of escape lies in exposing his intentions for what they really are, even if it means immortalizing every moment she so desperately wants to forget.

Conceiving a plan, Clarissa begins collecting the evidence of Rafe's madness to use against him. Strand by strand, she pulls apart the twisted, macabre fairy tale he has spun around them and discovers that the happy ending he envisions is more horrifying than her darkest fears. Masterly constructed, filled with exquisite tension and a pervasive sense of menace, The Book of You is a darkly sophisticated, utterly compelling debut that explores what happens when the lines between love and compulsion, fantasy and reality, become dangerously blurred.

About the Author:

Claire Kendal was born in America and educated in England, where she has spent all of her adult life. The Book of You is her first novel. It will be translated into over twenty languages. Claire teaches English Literature and Creative Writing, and lives in the South West with her family. She is working on her next psychological thriller.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Kendal, Claire
Published by Harper 01/01/2015 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007531672 ISBN 13: 9780007531677
New Paperback Quantity Available: 11
Seller
eBookMole LTD
(Milton Keynes, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 01/01/2015, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New Book In Stock, All orders dispatched same day from our UK warehouse,book cover may vary. Trusted Bucks Retailer, Est 2000.Visit our Abe store. Happy reading :). Bookseller Inventory # 9780007531677

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.10
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Kendal, Claire
ISBN 10: 0007531672 ISBN 13: 9780007531677
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 21012387-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Kendal, Claire
Published by Harper (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007531672 ISBN 13: 9780007531677
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
HALCYON BOOKS
(LONDON, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. DISPATCHED FROM THE UK WITHIN 24 HOURS ( BOOKS ORDERED OVER THE WEEKEND DISPATCHED ON MONDAY) BY ROYAL MAIL. ALL OVERSEAS ORDERS SENT BY AIR MAIL. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000378959

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 1.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.02
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Kendal, Claire
ISBN 10: 0007531672 ISBN 13: 9780007531677
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800075316770000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.66
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Kendal, Claire
ISBN 10: 0007531672 ISBN 13: 9780007531677
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Grand Eagle Retail
(Wilmington, DE, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198mm x 129mm x. Paperback. Sunday Times top ten bestseller and Richard & Judy pick, The Book of You is a terrifying psychological thriller about obsession and power, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the.Shipping may be from multiple locations in the US or from the UK, depending on stock availability. 384 pages. 0.360. Bookseller Inventory # 9780007531677

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Kendal, Claire
Published by Harper 2015-01-01 (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007531672 ISBN 13: 9780007531677
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2015-01-01, 2015. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatch time is 24-48 hours from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-GRD-05205441

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.71
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Kendal, Claire
ISBN 10: 0007531672 ISBN 13: 9780007531677
New Paperback Quantity Available: 20
Seller
Ria Christie Collections
(Uxbridge, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Not Signed; Sunday Times top ten bestseller and Richard & Judy pick, The Book of You is a terrifying psychological thriller about obsession and power, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. Clarissa is becoming more and more frightened of her colleague, Rafe. He won't leave her alone, and he r. book. Bookseller Inventory # ria9780007531677_rkm

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.12
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Kendal, Claire
Published by HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0007531672 ISBN 13: 9780007531677
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
THE SAINT BOOKSTORE
(Southport, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers. Paperback. Book Condition: new. BRAND NEW, The Book of You, Claire Kendal, A terrifying psychological thriller about obsession and power, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Before I Go to Sleep. Clarissa is becoming more and more frightened of her colleague, Rafe. He won't leave her alone, and he refuses to take no for an answer. He is always there. Being selected for jury service is a relief. The courtroom is a safe haven, a place where Rafe can't be. But as a violent tale of kidnap and abuse unfolds, Clarissa begins to see parallels between her own situation and that of the young woman on the witness stand. Realizing that she bears the burden of proof, Clarissa unravels the twisted, macabre fairytale that Rafe has spun around them - and discovers that the ending he envisions is more terrifying than she could have imagined. Bookseller Inventory # B9780007531677

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.11
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.33
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Kendal, Claire
ISBN 10: 0007531672 ISBN 13: 9780007531677
New Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Speedy Hen LLC
(Sunrise, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # ST0007531672. Bookseller Inventory # ST0007531672

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Kendal, Claire
Published by HarperCollins (2015)
ISBN 10: 0007531672 ISBN 13: 9780007531677
New Softcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2015. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # EA9780007531677

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.33
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book