Lucy Foley The Invitation

ISBN 13: 9780007575398

The Invitation

3.8 avg rating
( 511 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780007575398: The Invitation

The second epic, escapist novel from a fresh new talent - perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Victoria Hislop.

The world’s darkest hour had made her a ghost. Only he can see the light…

Rome, 1953: Hal and Stella meet by chance, two outcasts in a city far from home. Or perhaps it was the hand of the gods that night as the Eternal City welcomed the beautiful elite to its rooftops. It’s a bright awakening for Hal, he believes he’s found the love of his life – his Stella, his star.

To his dismay, the mysterious girl disappears as quickly as she swept in, and Hal’s life as a journalist falls back into its familiar routine. But when he’s asked by an Italian Contessa to assist on a trip of a lifetime – acting as the reporter on a tremendous yacht, skimming its way along the Italian Riviera towards Cannes film festival, the most famous movie stars and directors of the day as its cargo – Hal can’t believe his good fortune. Especially when a familiar beauty becomes passenger.

Yet not all that glitters is gold, for many secret histories lurk beneath the surface of these Bright Young Things. Stella is bound to a powerful and profoundly dangerous man, and as Hal’s obsession grows with every passing wave, they sail closer towards a tragic fate . . .

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Praise for The Book of Lost and Found:

‘A glamorous, seductively immersive read… [Foley] is a talent to watch’ Sunday Times

‘Wildly romantic and very enjoyable; a super debut’ Daily Mail

‘A fabulously engrossing epic read’ Woman & Home

‘This beautiful heartbreaking read will give you goosebumps’ Fabulous, Sun on Sunday

‘[A] striking debut’ Grazia

‘Tightly plotted with polished prose, this is very good indeed’ Sunday Mirror

‘Epic debut’ Independent

‘A rich, rolling, romantic story that sweeps across time and space’ Saga

‘It's a lovely world to inhabit – not only for the memorable characters and poignant romances, but thanks to an array of glorious settings that whisk you from wild Corsica to buzzing New York via wartime Paris. Perfect escapism.’ Kate Riordan, author of THE GIRL IN THE PHOTOGRAPH

‘Atmospheric, evocative, epic: a beautifully heart-wrenching story about talent, sacrifice and love' Julie Cohen, Richard & Judy selection for Dear Thing.

‘A classic sweeping love story . . . moving and engrossing’ Katherine Webb

About the Author:

Lucy Foley studied English Literature at Durham and UCL universities. She then worked for several years as a fiction editor in the publishing industry – during which time she also wrote her debut, The Book of Lost and Found. Lucy now writes full-time, and is busy travelling (for research, naturally) and working on her next novel.

Visit her Facebook page at www.facebook.com/LucyFoleyAuthor and follow her on Twitter

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:



Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want