Durham, J. J. An Act of Mercy

ISBN 13: 9780008132774

An Act of Mercy

4.5 avg rating
( 2 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780008132774: An Act of Mercy

A thrilling tale of murder and intrigue in Victorian London, featuring Detective Harry Pilgrim. Perfect for fans of Ripper Street and The Mangle Street Murders. London 1850. A city of contrasts. Of scientific marvels, poverty, disease and death. When Detective Sergeant Harry Pilgrim (one of London's first police detectives) discovers the corpse of a woman in a Hackney cab, the case seems straightforward - until the only suspect is found murdered in his cell. Pilgrim is hindered in his investigation by his own dark past - a dead son and a missing wife - and also by the well-meaning interference of Charles Dickens, who is serialising Pilgrim's adventures in his journal 'Household Words'. The case turns into a deadly game of cat and mouse. But who is the cat and who the mouse?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

J. J. Durham was born in a pit village in the NE of England and grew up in a caravan stuffed full of books, cutting her literary teeth on the great storytellers of the 60's and 70's - Wilbur Smith, Frank Yerby, Mary Renault, Sergeanne Golon, and Lance Horner. She has a degree in English Literature, and has published two previous novels. An Act of Mercy is her first historical crime novel, and it features pioneering Victorian detective Harry Pilgrim. J. J. Durham lives just outside Edinburgh with her husband, three kids, and a skinny dog.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Durham, J. J.
ISBN 10: 0008132771 ISBN 13: 9780008132774
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 23091170-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

J. J. Durham
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2017)
ISBN 10: 0008132771 ISBN 13: 9780008132774
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2017. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A thrilling tale of murder and intrigue in Victorian London, featuring Detective Harry Pilgrim. Perfect for fans of Ripper Street and The Mangle Street Murders. London 1850. A city of contrasts. Of scientific marvels, poverty, disease and death. When Detective Sergeant Harry Pilgrim (one of London s first police detectives) discovers the corpse of a woman in a Hackney cab, the case seems straightforward - until the only suspect is found murdered in his cell. Pilgrim is hindered in his investigation by his own dark past - a dead son and a missing wife - and also by the well-meaning interference of Charles Dickens, who is serialising Pilgrim s adventures in his journal Household Words . The case turns into a deadly game of cat and mouse. But who is the cat and who the mouse?. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780008132774

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

J. J. Durham
Published by HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom (2017)
ISBN 10: 0008132771 ISBN 13: 9780008132774
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, United Kingdom, 2017. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 198 x 129 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. A thrilling tale of murder and intrigue in Victorian London, featuring Detective Harry Pilgrim. Perfect for fans of Ripper Street and The Mangle Street Murders. London 1850. A city of contrasts. Of scientific marvels, poverty, disease and death. When Detective Sergeant Harry Pilgrim (one of London s first police detectives) discovers the corpse of a woman in a Hackney cab, the case seems straightforward - until the only suspect is found murdered in his cell. Pilgrim is hindered in his investigation by his own dark past - a dead son and a missing wife - and also by the well-meaning interference of Charles Dickens, who is serialising Pilgrim s adventures in his journal Household Words . The case turns into a deadly game of cat and mouse. But who is the cat and who the mouse?. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780008132774

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

J. J. Durham
Published by Killer Reads (2015)
ISBN 10: 0008132771 ISBN 13: 9780008132774
New Softcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Rating
[?]

Book Description Killer Reads, 2015. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # TH9780008132774

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.03
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Durham, J. J.
Published by Killer Reads 2017/03/08 (2017)
ISBN 10: 0008132771 ISBN 13: 9780008132774
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Chiron Media
(Wallingford, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Killer Reads 2017/03/08, 2017. Book Condition: New. Brand new book, sourced directly from publisher. Dispatched within 2 working days from our warehouse. Book will be sent in robust, secure packaging to ensure it reaches you securely. Bookseller Inventory # NU-BNT-01805379

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.87
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

J. J Durham
Published by HarperCollins Publishers 2015-06-04, London (2015)
ISBN 10: 0008132771 ISBN 13: 9780008132774
New paperback Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Blackwell's
(Oxford, OX, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers 2015-06-04, London, 2015. paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 9780008132774

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.82
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

J. J. Durham
Published by Killer Reads (2017)
ISBN 10: 0008132771 ISBN 13: 9780008132774
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Killer Reads, 2017. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 290 pages. 7.75x5.00x0.75 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # z-0008132771

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.76
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Durham, J. J.
ISBN 10: 0008132771 ISBN 13: 9780008132774
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800081327740000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 25.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Durham, J. J.
Published by Killer Reads
ISBN 10: 0008132771 ISBN 13: 9780008132774
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Killer Reads. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0008132771 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0008132771

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

J. J. DURHAM
Published by HARPER COLLINS (2015)
ISBN 10: 0008132771 ISBN 13: 9780008132774
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Herb Tandree Philosophy Books
(Stroud, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HARPER COLLINS, 2015. Paperback. Book Condition: NEW. 9780008132774 This listing is a new book, a title currently in-print which we order directly and immediately from the publisher. Bookseller Inventory # HTANDREE0982827

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.34
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book