Music Since 1900

3.8 avg rating
( 5 ratings by Goodreads )
9780028647876: Music Since 1900
View all copies of this ISBN edition:

Significant musical events of the twentieth century are described in chronological order.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.


Nicolas Slonimsky's first edition of Music Since 1900 came out in 1937--his entry into the world of lexicography--and this fifth edition, published in 1994, was the last book he wrote. But that's only one reason why this book should be acquired, cherished, and continually browsed. The "Descriptive Chronology" begins January 1, 1900, with the publication of Hector Berlioz's first volume of collected works, wends its way through Gershwin's first performance of "Rhapsody in Blue" (February 12, 1924) and the founding of the Polish Music Publishing Society (April 15, 1945), and ends with the death of Ernst Krenek, composer of "Jonny spielt auf," (December 23, 1991). With letters (such as those to Slonimsky from Charles Ives) and documents (such as the transcript of the House Un-American Activities Committee hearing on Hanns Eisler), a Dictionary of Terms (abecedarianism to Zen), and a comprehensive index, the result is a scrupulous, eccentric, irresistible music reference.

From Booklist:

For the latest edition of Music Since 1900, editor Laura Kuhn has taken over the reins from eminent musicologist Nicolas Slonimsky, who died in 1995, just a year after the fifth edition of this work was published. The book is now in a larger format, which allows more content to fit into fewer pages. As with earlier editions, the main text is called the "Descriptive Chronology," with events such as deaths, performances and productions of importance (usually debuts of new works), music-publishing milestones, and more, arranged by date. New to this edition are more than 1,500 entries from January 1, 1992 (the first performance of a Jonathan Lloyd composition), through December 14, 2000 (the start of a three-day festival celebrating Messiaen).

Each entry notes relevant data (e.g., performer or composer name, title and type of work, place of performance, cause and place of performer's or composer's death, festival program listings) in a single sentence. The scope is international, with a primary focus on music in the classical realm. Although there are inevitable omissions (e.g., guitarist and composer Celedonio Romero's death in 1996), the breadth of coverage is impressive, and the opinionated writing makes for interesting browsing. The entire, lengthy text of the 1985 Senate hearing on record labeling, including the testimony of the late Frank Zappa, has been added to the "Letters and Documents" section. A "Dictionary of Terms" yields a few surprises along with more serious stuff, such as a little essay on a sleep disorder that notes "symphony concerts are notoriously conducive to narcolepsy." A detailed index to proper names and musical terms is included.

Libraries with older editions will want this update. RBB
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Buy New View Book
List Price: US$ 185.00
US$ 83.86

Convert currency

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.

Destination, rates & speeds

Add to Basket

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780028724188: Music Since 1900

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0028724186 ISBN 13:  9780028724188
Publisher: Schirmer Reference, 1994

9780684105505: Music since 1900

C. Scr..., 1971

9780304290697: Music Since 1900

Little..., 1972

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace


Slonimsky, Nicolas, Kuhn, Laura Diane
Published by Schirmer Reference (2001)
ISBN 10: 0028647874 ISBN 13: 9780028647876
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Murray Media

Book Description Schirmer Reference, 2001. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110028647874

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 83.86
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds