Marvelous Inventions of Alvin Fernald

4.16 avg rating
( 177 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780030898938: Marvelous Inventions of Alvin Fernald

The Alvin Fernald books have delighted children for close to forty years. These funny, fast-paced mysteries featuring inventor and ace detective Alvin are just right for fans of Encyclopedia Brown and Homer Price--and, now, a new generation of readers. The Foolproof Burglar Alarm. The Sure Shot Paper Slinger. The Portable Fire Escape. Alvin Fernald invented them all. His brain's working a mile a minute--just ask his best friend, Shoie, or his little sister, the Pest. But even Alvin needs to think twice around the old Huntley place. It's like something out of a horror movie--especially because no one's seen Mrs. Huntley in days. Can Alvin and his inventions crack the case?

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

The entertaining Alvin Fernald series, about a middle-schooler with a 'Magnificent Brain,' were written by an editor of the magazine Popular Mechanics who really knew his stuff. Kudos to Purple House Press for reissuing them for today's young inventors. -- --Joshua Glenn, coauthor of the UNBORED books

Starred review. Twelve-year-old Alvin is something of an oddity to his neighbors in the small mid-western town in which he lives. A dedicated inventor, Alvin has a way of making things work, sometimes to the menace of people and property. His eight-year-old sister, 'the Pest', adores him, and together they set out to employ some of Alvin's inventions while trying to uncover a crime and the criminals. The victim, a kindly old woman, is immensely grateful to Alvin's mechanical ability when she is saved from a plot instigated by a ne'er do-well nephew, by one of Alvin's most intricate devices. There is no doubt that he has cut the corners of well-defined child deportment, but with his characteristic good will and intelligence, he emerges a town hero. A funny book which contains the elements of a mystery, picaresque adventure, and science fiction. --Kirkus, March 1960

From Publishers Weekly:

First published in the 1960s, these two mysteries feature a boy inventor. In the first book, Alvin uses a periscope to search out a missing neighbor; in the second, he learns about decoding and uncovers a mystery involving a hostage and buried treasure. Ages 8-12.
Copyright 1998 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Clifford B. Hicks
Published by Henry Holt & Company, Inc. (1960)
ISBN 10: 0030898935 ISBN 13: 9780030898938
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Henry Holt & Company, Inc., 1960. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Charles Geer (illustrator). book. Bookseller Inventory # M0030898935

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 147.47
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds