Out of Control: Men, Women and Aggression

 
9780044408857: Out of Control: Men, Women and Aggression

Why are men more aggressive than women? To find out, psychologist and criminologist Anne Campbell listened to the voices of ordinary men and women, as well as people for whom aggression is a central fact of life—robbers and gang members. The answer, she argues, lies not only in biology or in child rearing but in how men and women form opinions about their own aggression. Women believe their aggression results from a loss of self-control, while men see their behavior as a means of gaining control over others. Daughters are deeply ashamed when they get angry, but sons learn to associate aggression with integrity, courage, and triumph. Campbell shows how men’s and women’s different views of anger and restraint profoundly affect their actions—from rage in marriage to violence in the streets—and what this means for us all. The misreading of the meaning of aggression drives a wedge between the sexes, affecting everything from their ability to communicate with each other to the way that traditionally male-dominated spheres such as law or medicine pathologize and punish women’s aggression. The book draws together two research areas that have had little dialogue with one another—aggression and gender differences—to present for the first time a theory of their interrelationship. The book also reveals the links between criminal violence and psychological processes common to all of us. A major contribution in the tradition of You Just Don’t Understand and In a Different Voice, this book offers a new understanding of a vital issue.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Campbell, Anne
Published by Rivers Oram Press/Pandora List (1993)
ISBN 10: 0044408854 ISBN 13: 9780044408857
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bookbarn International
(Bristol, SOM, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rivers Oram Press/Pandora List, 1993. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Sent within 24 hours. Expedited UK delivery available. Bookseller Inventory # BBI2391909

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.56
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Anne Campbell
Published by Rivers Oram Press/Pandora List
ISBN 10: 0044408854 ISBN 13: 9780044408857
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Greener Books
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rivers Oram Press/Pandora List. Paperback. Book Condition: Used; Good. **SHIPPED FROM UK** We believe you will be completely satisfied with our quick and reliable service. All orders are dispatched as swiftly as possible! Buy with confidence!. Bookseller Inventory # mon0001511214

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.81
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Campbell, Anne
ISBN 10: 0044408854 ISBN 13: 9780044408857
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Bookseller Inventory # GOR001306160

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 4.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.27
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Campbell Anne
Published by Harper Collins. 1993. 0044408854 (1993)
ISBN 10: 0044408854 ISBN 13: 9780044408857
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Geoff Blore`s Books
(Nottingham, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins. 1993. 0044408854, 1993. PB. VG. Bookseller Inventory # 1745

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 6.60
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.25
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds