The Second Coming of Lucy Hatch: A Novel

3.77 avg rating
( 766 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780060081652: The Second Coming of Lucy Hatch: A Novel

A fresh talent weaves an engaging tale of love, life, and second chances in this stirring first novel set in a small Southern town

For fans of Billie Letts, Adriana Trigiani, and Lorna Landvik comes this uniquely heartfelt and spirited story from a sparkling new voice. Farm wife Lucy Hatch never dreamed her husband would walk out into the field one morning and never come back, leaving her a widow at thirty-three. And when she returns to her tiny Texas hometown, contemplating a life of quiet solitude, the last thing she expects to find is Ash Farrell -- a dashing man who has everything to teach Lucy about working through heartache and reaching to claim new love.

But their budding romance is far from typical: Lucy and Ash must endure not just an irate ex-girlfriend, a false arrest, and a twenty-year flood, but every watchful eye and wagging tongue in town. Filled with richness, humor, and a vivid medley of characters, The Second Coming of Lucy Hatch transports readers on Lucy's journey as she learns to resolve her doubts and embrace a renewed sense of herself as a woman.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Marsha Moyer is a native of Texas and has lived there all her life. She is the author of one previous novel, The Second Coming of Lucy Hatch.

From Publishers Weekly:

Plangent with sorrow, wonder and hope, this is an immensely appealing novel about a woman who finds love the second time around. Suddenly widowed at 33 after 14 years of a barren, passionless marriage to a laconic farmer, Lucy Hatch Breward returns to her hometown of Mooney, Tex. Sparks fly when she meets hunk and ladies' man Ash Farrell, who's a carpenter extraordinaire by day and a seductive singer/guitar player who belts out country songs at the town honky-tonk, the Round-Up, at night. Guilt-ridden because she cannot mourn her husband's death, Lucy is reluctant to respond to Ash's blandishments. A classic situation ensues: he pursues, she resists; he pursues, she succumbs (during a heavy rain storm, and again and again... )-all in the full glare of town gossip. As the story of Lucy's psychological and emotional bewilderment and her gradual coming of age develops, first novelist Moyer seduces the reader with pitch-perfect prose fed by an observant eye and a wise heart. If some of the situations are the stuff of women's magazine fiction, Moyer is capable of sweet and insightful writing about the power of love to transcend grief. The dialogue is sharp and wry, with an authentic country twang, and humor is provided by colorful secondary characters whose only fault is that they're all excessively decent and kindhearted-but maybe that's the way people are in East Texas. On the other hand, Lucy's attempts to reconcile her past and future are realistically portrayed, granting her full dimensionality and emotional resonance.
Copyright 2002 Reed Business Information, Inc.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Moyer, Marsha
Published by William Morrow
ISBN 10: 0060081651 ISBN 13: 9780060081652
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0060081651 Ships promptly. Bookseller Inventory # GHP3676GAGG020617H0201A

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Moyer, Marsha
Published by William Morrow & Company, Scranton, Pennsylvania, U.S.A. (2002)
ISBN 10: 0060081651 ISBN 13: 9780060081652
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Pleasant Nights Bookshop
(Baltimore, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow & Company, Scranton, Pennsylvania, U.S.A., 2002. Hard Cover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 006104

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 2.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Marsha Moyer
Published by William Morrow (2002)
ISBN 10: 0060081651 ISBN 13: 9780060081652
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2002. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0060081651

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Marsha Moyer
ISBN 10: 0060081651 ISBN 13: 9780060081652
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800600816521.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Moyer, Marsha
Published by William Morrow (2002)
ISBN 10: 0060081651 ISBN 13: 9780060081652
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2002. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110060081651

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 26.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds