Garth Nix Abhorsen (Old Kingdom)

ISBN 13: 9780060278250

Abhorsen (Old Kingdom)

4.29 avg rating
( 92,658 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780060278250: Abhorsen (Old Kingdom)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

The third book and apocalyptic conclusion to the original bestselling Old Kingdom trilogy, perfect for fans of Game of Thrones.

The Abhorsen Sabriel and King Touchstone are missing, leaving only Lirael—newly come into her inheritance as the Abhorsen-in-Waiting—to stop the Destroyer. If Orannis's unspeakable powers are unleashed, it will mean the end of all Life. With only a vision from the Clayr to guide her, and the help of her companions, Sam, the Disreputable Dog, and Mogget, Lirael must search in both Life and Death for some means to defeat the evil destructor—before it is too late.

Don’t miss Garth Nix’s prequel to the Old Kingdom series, Clariel, and Goldenhand, the fifth book in the Old Kingdom series.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

The Ninth was strong
and fought with might,
But lone Orannis
was put out of the light,
Broken in two
and buried under hill,
Forever to lie there,
wishing us ill.

So says the song. But Orannis, the Destroyer, is no longer buried under hill. It has been freed from its subterranean prison and now seeks to escape the silver hemispheres, the final barrier to the unleashing of its terrible powers.

Only Lirael, newly come into her inheritance as the Abhorsen-in-Waiting, has any chance of stopping the Destroyer. She and her companions -- Sam, the Disreputable Dog, and Mogget -- have to take that chance. For the Destroyer is the enemy of all Life, and it must be stopped, though Lirael does not know how.

To make matters worse, Sam's best friend, Nick, is helping the Destroyer, as are the necromancer Hedge and the Greater Dead Chlorr, and there has been no word from the Abhorsen Sabriel or King Touchstone.

Everything depends upon Lirael. A heavy, perhaps even impossible burden for a young woman who just days ago was merely a Second Assistant Librarian. With only a vision from the Clayr to guide her, and the rather mixed help of her companions, Lirael must search in both Life and Death for some means to defeat the Destroyer.

Before it is too late. . . .

From the Inside Flap:

Before she went to join Sam and Mogget downstairs, Lirael paused for a moment to look at herself in the tall silver mirror that hung on the wall of her room. The image that faced her bore little resemblance to the Second Assistant Librarian of the Clayr. She saw a warlike and grim young woman, dark hair bound back with a silver cord rather than hanging free to disguise her face. She no longer wore her librarian's waistcoat, and she had a long Nehima at her side rather than a library-issue dagger. but she had kept her library whistle, tucking it into the small pouch at her belt. Though she was many, many leagues from any help the whistle might summon, she felt the need to cling to some small part of her past and her identity.She had become an Abhorsen, Lirael thought, at least on the outside.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780060528737: Abhorsen (Old Kingdom)

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0060528737 ISBN 13:  9780060528737
Publisher: HarperTeen, 2004
Softcover

9780007137350: Abhorsen

Harper..., 2005
Softcover

9780061474330: Abhorsen (Old Kingdom)

Harper..., 2008
Softcover

9780062315571: Abhorsen (Old Kingdom)

Harper..., 2014
Softcover

9780007137343: Abhorsen

Collins, 2004
Hardcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Garth Nix
Published by HarperTeen (2003)
ISBN 10: 0060278250 ISBN 13: 9780060278250
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTeen, 2003. Condition: New. book. Seller Inventory # M0060278250

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 21.59
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.27
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Nix, Garth
Published by HarperTeen (2003)
ISBN 10: 0060278250 ISBN 13: 9780060278250
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTeen, 2003. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110060278250

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 43.52
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Garth Nix
Published by HarperTeen (2003)
ISBN 10: 0060278250 ISBN 13: 9780060278250
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTeen, 2003. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1. Seller Inventory # DADAX0060278250

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 42.13
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Garth Nix
ISBN 10: 0060278250 ISBN 13: 9780060278250
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BennettBooksLtd
(San Diego, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Condition: New. New. Seller Inventory # STRM-0060278250

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 78.51
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Garth Nix
Published by HarperTeen (2003)
ISBN 10: 0060278250 ISBN 13: 9780060278250
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTeen, 2003. Hardcover. Condition: New. 1. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Seller Inventory # 0060278250n

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 96.83
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds