Thomas Allen Ship of Gold

ISBN 13: 9780060380175

Ship of Gold

 
9780060380175: Ship of Gold

This taut thriller provides the behind-the-scenes reality of the national security system at work --the CIA, the Oval Office, the Pentagon, and the National Security Council -- and is must-reading for fans of Tom Clancy and W.E.B. Griffin.

In 1945, the U.S. submarine Tigerfish mistakenly torpedoed and sunk a Japanese merchant ship. Reportedly carrying supplies to allied POWs, the ship had been given safe passage, but was actually a cunning ruse devised by a powerful secret society to transport tons of gold out of Japan under the very eyes of the enemy. Some thirty years later, the captain of the Tigerfish is murdered in Washington. As the CIA launches its investigation into his death, a race to raise the ship and recover its treasure begins, which mounts to an international incident involving the U.S., China, the Soviet Union and Japan.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

In 1945 the U.S. submarine Tigerfish mistakenly torpedoed and sank a Japanese merchant ship. Reportedly carrying supplies to Allied POWs, the ship had been granted safe passage, but it was actually a cunning ruse devised by a powerful secret society to transport tons of gold out of Japan under the very eyes of the enemy. Some thirty years later the captain of the Tigerfish is murdered in Washington, D.C. As the CIA launches its investigation into his death, a race to raise the ship and recover its treasure begins, which mounts to an international incident involving the United States, China, the Soviet Union, and Japan. This taut thriller provides the behind-the-scenes reality of the national security system at work and is must-reading for fans of Tom Clancy and W. E. B. Griffin.

About the Author:

Thomas B. Allen is well known for his writing about the intersection of espionage and military history, including George Washington, Spymaster.

Norman Polmar is an analyst, consultant, and author specializing in naval, aviation, and science and technology issues. He has been a consultant or advisor on naval-related issues to three U.S. senators, the Speaker of the House, and the Deputy Counselor to the President, as well as to the Director of the Los Alamos National Laboratory. He has written or coauthored more than fifty published books and numerous articles on naval, aviation, technology, and intelligence subjects.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

(No Available Copies)

Search Books:



Create a Want

If you know the book but cannot find it on AbeBooks, we can automatically search for it on your behalf as new inventory is added. If it is added to AbeBooks by one of our member booksellers, we will notify you!

Create a Want