Music of the Mill: A Novel

3.66 avg rating
( 83 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780060560768: Music of the Mill: A Novel

In a stunning literary achievement -- with a power and scope in the tradition of John Steinbeck and Theodore Dreiser -- Luis J. Rodriguez captures the soul of a community and a little-known era in America's history in his epic novel about love, family, workers' rights, industrial strife, and cultural dislocation.

When the Salcido family departs for the United States, their flight is hardly different from the journeys of the indigenous tribes who roamed America for tens of thousands of years, or immigrants who sailed across entire oceans, or countless others who have left their native lands behind for the promise of a better life.

Traveling mostly on foot, Procopio Salcido and his future wife, Eladia, leave Mexico for the United States to escape the bleak realities of their homeland.

Finally settling in Los Angeles, the young couple discover that the hopes they have for their children must now be weighed against the backdrop of the mighty Nazareth steel mill, their engine for survival, which will eventually become the lifeblood of their own American dream.

Spanning sixty years and three generations, Music of the Mill is set in the industrial boom of post–World War II Southern California, where jobs seemed plentiful, communities thrived, and racial harmony prevailed. However, while postwar prosperity seemed to supply jobs to many migrant African American, Mexican, and poor white workers, in reality there was great struggle and racial discord -- low-paying, backbreaking labor and the cruel manipulation by manufacturers who pitted groups of workers against one another.

For the Salcidos -- especially for Procopio's idealistic son, Johnny, and his young family -- the hard knocks of life often resound louder than their own sense of hope. When their aspirations have long since lost their luster, retaining their dignity and sense of worth becomes the family's greatest challenge.

Destined to be a classic of American literature, Music of the Mill, the long-awaited first novel by Luis J. Rodriguez, portrays the journey of one family caught in a web of politics, racial polarization, and corrupt unions' power struggles, revealing the drama, pain, joy, and humor of working-class life.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

In a stunning literary achievement -- with a power and scope reminiscent of John Steinbeck -- Luis J. Rodriguez captures the soul of a community in this epic novel about love, family, workers' rights, industrial strife, and cultural dislocation

As the World War II cultural and industrial boom birthed a new California, a mighty steel industry rose with the potential to make modest dreams real for the workers willing to risk their lives in the mill's ferocious heat.

For the Salcidos, the Nazareth mill became an engine for survival. Luis J. Rodriguez chronicles the simultaneous evolutions of this American family and the enormous enterprise that drove them -- from optimistic and cohesive units questing for stability and prosperity to disintegrating entities whose dreams have long since lost their luster.

Spanning six decades, the novel conveys the drama, resilience, and humor of working-class life during a little-known era in American history.

About the Author:

Luis J. Rodriguez is the author of several critically acclaimed books, including Always Running, The Republic of East L.A., and Hearts and Hands, as well as poetry and books for children. He lives with his family in California.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Rodriguez, Luis J.
Published by Rayo (2005)
ISBN 10: 0060560762 ISBN 13: 9780060560768
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rayo, 2005. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. First Edition. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0060560762

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Rodriguez, Luis J.
Published by Rayo (2005)
ISBN 10: 0060560762 ISBN 13: 9780060560768
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rayo, 2005. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0060560762

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Rodriguez, Luis J.
Published by Rayo (2005)
ISBN 10: 0060560762 ISBN 13: 9780060560768
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Booked Again
(Summit, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rayo, 2005. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. New item. Bookseller Inventory # QX-132-26-2870002

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 29.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Rodriguez, Luis J.
Published by Rayo (2005)
ISBN 10: 0060560762 ISBN 13: 9780060560768
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rayo, 2005. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110060560762

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 42.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Rodriguez, Luis J.
Published by Rayo
ISBN 10: 0060560762 ISBN 13: 9780060560768
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(West Palm Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Rayo. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0060560762 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.0014799

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Rodriguez, Luis J.
ISBN 10: 0060560762 ISBN 13: 9780060560768
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800605607681.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 120.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds