The Legend of Holly Claus (Julie Andrews Collection)

4.23 avg rating
( 1,774 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780060585150: The Legend of Holly Claus (Julie Andrews Collection)
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

After Santa and his wife are blessed with their daughter, Holly Claus, a curse is suddenly imposed upon them by Herrikhan who locks her in the gates of Forever, forcing Holly Claus to use her special powers and the magic of the enchanted creatures to go on a mission to Victorian New York in order to break the spell. Reprint.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Brittney Ryan is a native of Portland, Oregon, where she attended the University of Portland's School of Dramatic Arts and Music. She has performed in over thirty musicals and was voted Most Outstanding Young Woman in America by the National Press Club. As well as being an author, she is an accomplished composer, singer, dancer, and storyteller. She is the author of the New York Times bestselling novel The Legend of Holly Claus. She lives in California.

From School Library Journal:

Grade 4-7–A letter written in 1878 to Santa Claus by a 10-year-old boy asking not for presents but to know what Santa himself wishes for allows the gent (aka Nicholas, King of Forever) and his wife to realize their greatest dream, the birth of a daughter named Holly. She is, however, cursed by an evil sorcerer, Herrikhan, who surrounds her infant heart with ice and promises to return to collect it one day. Holly grows up happy but lonely in the Land of the Immortals, and when she becomes a young woman, she takes a daring and possibly deadly trip to Victorian New York City, where she is determined to do good deeds. There she has adventures, brings joy to the hearts of young and old, and manages to foil Herrikhan with the shining purity of her love. The writing is acceptable, if a little precious, and the descriptions of Nicholas and his household are a pleasure to read, but the whole Herrikhan plot is jarring, inconsistent, and unnecessary; there are more than enough characters and subplots swirling through this novel already without the addition of a leering, black-tongued sorcerer. The drawings scattered throughout are detailed and a touch old-fashioned, a good match for the sentimental tone of the text. Fans of Alcott, Spyri, and Burnett may enjoy this long and convoluted tale.–Eva Mitnick, Los Angeles Public Library
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Ryan, Brittney
Published by HarperCollins (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060585153 ISBN 13: 9780060585150
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2006. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110060585153

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 35.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Ryan, Brittney
Published by HarperCollins (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060585153 ISBN 13: 9780060585150
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2006. Paperback. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # VIB0060585153

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 35.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Ryan, Brittney; Long, Laurel [Illustrator]
Published by HarperCollins (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060585153 ISBN 13: 9780060585150
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Dionysos Books
(Arabi, LA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2006. Paperback. Condition: New. New item. May have light shelf wear. Seller Inventory # 170412460

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 45.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Brittney Ryan, Laurel Long (Illustrator)
Published by HarperCollins (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060585153 ISBN 13: 9780060585150
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2006. Paperback. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0060585153

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 52.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Brittney Ryan
Published by HarperCollins (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060585153 ISBN 13: 9780060585150
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Portland, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2006. Paperback. Condition: New. Laurel Long (illustrator). book. Seller Inventory # M0060585153

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 63.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds