Walter, Jess The Zero: A Novel

ISBN 13: 9780060898656

The Zero: A Novel

3.51 avg rating
( 1,984 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780060898656: The Zero: A Novel

The Zero is a groundbreaking novel, a darkly comic snapshot of our times that is already being compared to the works of Franz Kafka and Joseph Heller.

From its opening pages—when hero cop Brian Remy wakes up to find he's shot himself in the head—novelist Jess Walter takes us on a harrowing tour of a city and a country shuddering through the aftershocks of a devastating terrorist attack. As the smoke slowly clears, Remy finds that his memory is skipping, lurching between moments of lucidity and days when he doesn't seem to be living his own life at all. The landscape around him is at once fractured and oddly familiar: a world dominated by a Machiavellian mayor known as "The Boss," and peopled by gawking celebrities, anguished policemen peddling First Responder cereal, and pink real estate divas hyping the spoils of tragedy. Remy himself has a new girlfriend he doesn't know, a son who pretends he's dead, and an unsettling new job chasing a trail of paper scraps for a shadowy intelligence agency known as the Department of Documentation. Whether that trail will lead Remy to an elusive terror cell—or send him circling back to himself—is only one of the questions posed by this provocative yet deeply human novel.

From a novelist of astounding talent, The Zero is an extraordinary story of how our trials become our transgressions, of how we forgive ourselves and whether or not we should.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Jess Walter is the author of Citizen Vince, a novel named as one of the year's best by the Washington Post, NPR's Fresh Air, the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, the Milwaukee Sentinel, and others. His novels include Land of the Blind and Over Tumbled Graves, a New York Times Notable Book. Walter lives in Spokane, Washington, with his family.

From AudioFile:

There's a difficulty with recording a grim satire that has nothing to do with the talent of the narrator. (Christopher Graybill is quite wonderful here, warm and skillful.) Black humor lies in the disjunction between the awful things happening to the protagonist and the reader's perception of how absurd it is. On the page it's comic when Gulliver is captured by tiny Lilliputians, to us, but not to Gulliver. Apparently, on the page this novel of a Kafka-esque version of New York after 9/11 is darkly funny; but to hear it well read is to identify with Walter's protagonist, for whom this alternate universe is terrifying and confusing, physically and morally. Quite brilliant, but clearly different to hear than to read with your eyes. B.G. © AudioFile 2007, Portland, Maine-- Copyright © AudioFile, Portland, Maine

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Walter, Jess
Published by NY: Regan Books (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060898658 ISBN 13: 9780060898656
New Soft cover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bookcount
(Los Angeles, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description NY: Regan Books, 2006. Soft cover. Book Condition: New. 1st Edition. ADVANCE READING COPY, first edition, first printing, PAPERBACK, unread in MINT condition (no marks/flaws). Bookseller Inventory # 9083

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Walter, Jess
Published by Harper (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060898658 ISBN 13: 9780060898656
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2006. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0060898658

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Walter, Jess
Published by U.S.A.: Harper (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060898658 ISBN 13: 9780060898656
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller
R & B Diversions LLC
(Stratford, WI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description U.S.A.: Harper, 2006. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. author signed new & unused first print hardcover in mylar protected dust jacket. first US edition. no marks not remaindered, not xlib, not book club, dj price intact & number line down to 1. signed by author on title page. fiction hardcover. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # 8872

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Walter, Jess
Published by Harper (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060898658 ISBN 13: 9780060898656
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2006. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: In the tradition of Franz Kafka, Joseph Heller, and Don DeLillo, comes this extraordinary story of searing humor and sublime horror, of blindness, bewilderment, and that achingly familiar feeling that the world has suddenly stopped making sense. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0060898658

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Walter, Jess
Published by Regan Books, New York (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060898658 ISBN 13: 9780060898656
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Owlsnest Books
(Ooltewah, TN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Regan Books, New York, 2006. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Fine. Dust Jacket Condition: Very Fine. First Edition - First Printing. 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. First edition, first printing with a full number line starting with a 1. A very fine copy, new and unread, in a very fine dust jacket, now in a clear removable protective cover. A finalist for the National Book Award. Walter won the Edgar Award for his previous book, "Citizen Vince". SIGNED by the author on the title page and dated 9-13-06, the month of publication. Not inscribed, price clipped or otherwise marked. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # 006430

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Walter, Jess
ISBN 10: 0060898658 ISBN 13: 9780060898656
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800608986561.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Walter, Jess
Published by Regan Books, New York (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060898658 ISBN 13: 9780060898656
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Dan A. Domike
(Hoquiam, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Regan Books, New York, 2006. Hard Cover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First Edition. Signed by Author. Bookseller Inventory # 006916

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 22.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.25
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Walter, Jess
Published by Harper (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060898658 ISBN 13: 9780060898656
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2006. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0060898658

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 25.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Walter, Jess
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0060898658 ISBN 13: 9780060898656
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0060898658 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0060898658

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 28.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Walter, Jess
Published by Harper / Regan (2006)
ISBN 10: 0060898658 ISBN 13: 9780060898656
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Dan Pope Books
(West Hartford, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper / Regan, 2006. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition.... New York: Harper [2006]. First edition. First printing. Hardbound. SIGNED BY AUTHOR on title page. New, in dust jacket. A tight clean copy. Comes with mylar dust jacket protector. Smoke free shop. Shipped in sturdy box with bubble wrap. 0.0. Signed by Author(s). Bookseller Inventory # rdoct05-10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 35.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book