John Cheever The Wapshot Chronicle

ISBN 13: 9780060916183

The Wapshot Chronicle

3.76 avg rating
( 5,686 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780060916183: The Wapshot Chronicle

When The Wapshot Chronicle was published in 1957, John Cheever was already recognized as a writer of superb short stories. But The Wapshot Chronicle, which won the 1958 National Book Award, established him as a major novelist. Based in part on Cheever's adolescence in New England, the novel follows the destinies of the impecunious and wildly eccentric Wapshots of St. Botolphs, a quintessential Massachusetts fishing village. Here are the stories of Captain Leander Wapshot, venerable sea dog and would-be suicide; of his licentious older son, Moses; and of Moses' adoring and errant younger brother, Coverly. Tragic and funny, ribald and splendidly picaresque, The Wapshot Chronicle is a family narrative in the tradition of Trollope, Dickens, and Henry James.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Publisher:

8 1.5-hour cassettes

About the Author:

John Cheever, best known for his short stories dealing with upper-middle-class suburban life, was born in Quincy, Massachusetts, in 1912. Cheever published his first short story at the age of seventeen. He was the recipient of a 1951 Guggenheim Fellowship and winner of a National Book Award for The Wapshot Chronicle in 1958, the 1979 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction for The Stories of John Cheever, the National Book Critics Circle Award, and an American Book Award. He died in 1982, at the age of seventy.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Cheever, John
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (1989)
ISBN 10: 0060916184 ISBN 13: 9780060916183
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 1989. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 60916184

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 108.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

John Cheever
Published by HarperCollins Publishers (1989)
ISBN 10: 0060916184 ISBN 13: 9780060916183
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers, 1989. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0060916184

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 108.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds