Marly Swick Paper Wings

ISBN 13: 9780060928377

Paper Wings

3.55 avg rating
( 122 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780060928377: Paper Wings

Everyone in Suzanne's family acknowledges her mothers instability, yet no one has any idea why she suffers these bouts of depression. They simply accept them as fact and enjoy the moments when she emerges from them, buoyant and energetic. With Kennedy's election, presidency and assassination as background, Suzanne tells the story of the dissolution, and ultimate redemption, of her family. Sure to appeal to readers of Barbara Kingsolver, Alice Hoffman and Mona Simpson, Paper Wings is a subtle and moving novel about a mother and daughter who struggle, hope, and learn from each other how to emerge from shadows of tragedy.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Paper Wings, the first novel by Marly Swick, balances on the fulcrum of one of America's key turning points. The time is the autumn of 1963. Suzanne Keller, a 12-year-old, resides in a brand new suburban tract filled with young families whose lives seem to stretch before them with endless hope and possibility. But all that comes to an end with the crack of Lee Harvey Oswald's rifle--the assassination of J.F.K. changes everything. As the country drifts towards the Vietnam War, Suzanne's parents begin to drift apart, her mother finding refuge behind a pair of dark glasses, while her father seeks solace in an extramarital affair. Swick, the author of three collections of short stories, including the award-winning A Hole in the Language, turns her sharp eye to that moment in history when it seemed that everything changed, forever.

About the Author:

Born in Indianapolis in 1949, Marly Swick spent her childhood moving -- from Massachusetts to Delaware to California -- with book in hand, due to a voracious appetite for reading encouraged by her mother and teachers. She continued her travels and her love for books during her education, receiving her BA from Stanford University, her MA from Mills College, her Ph.D. from the American University, and finally, her MFA at the Iowa Writer's Workshop.

Swick is a recipient of a National Endowment for the Arts fellowship, a James Michener Award, and an O. Henry Award. Her first book received the Iowa Short Fiction Award. Her stories have appeared in numerous publications, among them The Atlantic, Redbook, and The North American Review. She has just written her first novel, Paper Wings.

Upholding a self-professed "Victorian lifestyle in the 90s," Marly Swick enjoys painting and reading in her spare time. She is currently an Associate Professor of Fiction Writing at the University of Nebraska and lives in Lincoln.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Swick, Marly
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0060928379 ISBN 13: 9780060928377
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0060928379 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132261390

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Marly Swick
Published by Harper Perennial (1997)
ISBN 10: 0060928379 ISBN 13: 9780060928377
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 1997. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0060928379

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Swick, Marly
Published by Harper Perennial (1997)
ISBN 10: 0060928379 ISBN 13: 9780060928377
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial, 1997. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110060928379

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 25.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Marly Swick
ISBN 10: 0060928379 ISBN 13: 9780060928377
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800609283771.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 29.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Swick, Marly
Published by Harper Perennial
ISBN 10: 0060928379 ISBN 13: 9780060928377
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Perennial. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0060928379 New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.1021759

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds