Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error

3.91 avg rating
( 4,131 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061176043: Being Wrong: Adventures in the Margin of Error

“Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it.”
—Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet

In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational comes Being Wrong, an illuminating exploration of what it means to be in error, and why homo sapiens tend to tacitly assume (or loudly insist) that they are right about most everything. Kathryn Schulz, editor of Grist magazine, argues that error is the fundamental human condition and should be celebrated as such. Guiding the reader through the history and psychology of error, from Socrates to Alan Greenspan, Being Wrong will change the way you perceive screw-ups, both of the mammoth and daily variety, forever.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

To err is human. Yet most of us go through life assuming (and sometimes insisting) that we are right about nearly everything, from the origins of the universe to how to load the dishwasher. If being wrong is so natural, why are we all so bad at imagining that our beliefs could be mistaken, and why do we react to our errors with surprise, denial, defensiveness, and shame?

In Being Wrong, journalist Kathryn Schulz explores why we find it so gratifying to be right and so maddening to be mistaken, and how this attitude toward error corrodes relationships—whether between family members, colleagues, neighbors, or nations. Along the way, she takes us on a fascinating tour of human fallibility, from wrongful convictions to no-fault divorce; medical mistakes to misadventures at sea; failed prophecies to false memories; "I told you so!" to "Mistakes were made." Drawing on thinkers as varied as Augustine, Darwin, Freud, Gertrude Stein, Alan Greenspan, and Groucho Marx, she proposes a new way of looking at wrongness. In this view, error is both a given and a gift—one that can transform our worldviews, our relationships, and, most profoundly, ourselves.

In the end, Being Wrong is not just an account of human error but a tribute to human creativity—the way we generate and revise our beliefs about ourselves and the world. At a moment when economic, political, and religious dogmatism increasingly divide us, Schulz explores with uncommon humor and eloquence the seduction of certainty and the crises occasioned by error. A brilliant debut from a new voice in nonfiction, this book calls on us to ask one of life's most challenging questions: what if I'm wrong?

About the Author:

Kathryn Schulz is a journalist whose work has appeared in the New York Times Magazine, Rolling Stone, Foreign Policy, the Nation, the Boston Globe, and the "Freakonomics" blog of the New York Times. She lives in New York's Hudson Valley.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Schulz, Kathryn
Published by Ecco (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061176044 ISBN 13: 9780061176043
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Trader Cafe, LLC
(New Haven, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Ships the same or next business day with Free Tracking! We fully guarantee to ship the exact same item as listed and work hard to maintain our excellent customer service. Bookseller Inventory # 38X-JWI-64P

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.52
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Kathryn Schulz
Published by Ecco (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061176044 ISBN 13: 9780061176043
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0061176044

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Kathryn Schulz
Published by Ecco Press, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061176044 ISBN 13: 9780061176043
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco Press, United States, 2010. Hardback. Book Condition: New. 226 x 152 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it. --Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational comes Being Wrong, an illuminating exploration of what it means to be in error, and why homo sapiens tend to tacitly assume (or loudly insist) that they are right about most everything. Kathryn Schulz, editor of Grist magazine, argues that error is the fundamental human condition and should be celebrated as such. Guiding the reader through the history and psychology of error, from Socrates to Alan Greenspan, Being Wrong will change the way you perceive screw-ups, both of the mammoth and daily variety, forever. Bookseller Inventory # FLT9780061176043

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 27.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Kathryn Schulz
Published by Ecco Press, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061176044 ISBN 13: 9780061176043
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco Press, United States, 2010. Hardback. Book Condition: New. 226 x 152 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it. --Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Predictably Irrational comes Being Wrong, an illuminating exploration of what it means to be in error, and why homo sapiens tend to tacitly assume (or loudly insist) that they are right about most everything. Kathryn Schulz, editor of Grist magazine, argues that error is the fundamental human condition and should be celebrated as such. Guiding the reader through the history and psychology of error, from Socrates to Alan Greenspan, Being Wrong will change the way you perceive screw-ups, both of the mammoth and daily variety, forever. Bookseller Inventory # FLT9780061176043

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 28.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Kathryn Schulz
Published by Ecco (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061176044 ISBN 13: 9780061176043
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061176044

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 26.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Schulz, Kathryn
Published by Ecco (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061176044 ISBN 13: 9780061176043
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Ecco, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110061176044

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 46.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds