Superdove: How the Pigeon Took Manhattan ... And the World

3.76 avg rating
( 139 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780061259166: Superdove: How the Pigeon Took Manhattan ... And the World

Why do we see pigeons as lowly urban pests and how did they become such common city dwellers? Courtney Humphries traces the natural history of the pigeon, recounting how these shy birds that once made their homes on the sparse cliffs of sea coasts came to dominate our urban public spaces. While detailing this evolution, Humphries introduces us to synanthropy: The concept that animals can become dependent on humans without ceasing to be wild; they can adapt to the cityscape as if it were a field or a forest.

Superdove simultaneously explores the pigeon's cultural transformation, from its life in the dovecotes of ancient Egypt to its service in the trenches of World War I, to its feats within the pigeon-racing societies of today. While the dove is traditionally recognized as a symbol of peace, the pigeon has long inspired a different sort of fetishistic devotion from breeders, eaters, and artists—and from those who recognized and exploited the pigeon's astounding abilities. Because of their fecundity, pigeons were symbols of fertility associated with Aphrodite, while their keen ability to find their way home made them ideal messengers and even pilots.

Their usefulness largely forgotten, today's pigeons have become as ubiquitous and reviled as rats. But Superdove reveals something more surprising: By using pigeons for our own purposes, we humans have changed their evolution. And in doing so, we have helped make pigeons the ideal city dwellers they are today. In the tradition of Rats, the book that made its namesake rodents famous, Superdove is the fascinating story of the pigeon's journey from the wild to the city—the home they'll never leave.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Courtney Humphries is a science writer living in Boston. She has written about biology, health, and the environment for publications including Newsweek, Harvard Magazine, Technology Review, Conservation Magazine, the Boston Globe, and Orion.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Humphries, Courtney
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0061259160 ISBN 13: 9780061259166
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061259160

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Humphries, Courtney
ISBN 10: 0061259160 ISBN 13: 9780061259166
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
LVeritas
(Newton, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Gift Quality Book in Excellent Condition. Bookseller Inventory # 36SE5E000P5Q

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Humphries, Courtney
Published by Harpercollins (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061259160 ISBN 13: 9780061259166
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Commerce, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, 2008. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061259166

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Humphries, Courtney
Published by Smithsonian (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061259160 ISBN 13: 9780061259166
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Smithsonian, 2008. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: "Superdove is one of the best natural history reads I've had in years." (Ted Kerasote, author of MERLE'S DOOR: LESSONS FROM A FREETHINKING DOG). Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0061259160

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 23.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Humphries, Courtney
Published by Smithsonian (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061259160 ISBN 13: 9780061259166
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Smithsonian, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1st ed. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061259160

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Humphries, Courtney
Published by Smithsonian Books (DC), United States (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061259160 ISBN 13: 9780061259166
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Smithsonian Books (DC), United States, 2008. Hardback. Book Condition: New. 230 x 160 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of Rats and Garbageland, Superdove is the fascinating story of an often reviled yet vastly misunderstood creature--the pigeon. 10 bw photos and illustrations throughout. Bookseller Inventory # FLT9780061259166

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 23.98
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Humphries, Courtney
Published by Smithsonian Books (DC), United States (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061259160 ISBN 13: 9780061259166
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Smithsonian Books (DC), United States, 2008. Hardback. Book Condition: New. 230 x 160 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. In the tradition of Rats and Garbageland, Superdove is the fascinating story of an often reviled yet vastly misunderstood creature--the pigeon. 10 bw photos and illustrations throughout. Bookseller Inventory # FLT9780061259166

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 25.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Humphries, Courtney
Published by Smithsonian (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061259160 ISBN 13: 9780061259166
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Smithsonian, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0061259160

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 29.77
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Humphries, Courtney
Published by Smithsonian (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061259160 ISBN 13: 9780061259166
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Smithsonian, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110061259160

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 50.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Humphries, Courtney
ISBN 10: 0061259160 ISBN 13: 9780061259166
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800612591661.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 51.10
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book