From Harvey River: A Memoir of My Mother and Her Island

3.77 avg rating
( 155 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780061337550: From Harvey River: A Memoir of My Mother and Her Island

"Throughout her life my mother [Doris] lived in two places at once: Kingston, Jamaica, where she raised a family of nine children, and Harvey River, in the parish of Hanover, where she was born and grew up."

In the tradition of Michael Ondaatje's Running in the Family and Carlos Eire's Waiting for Snow in Havana comes Lorna Goodison's luminous memoir of her forebears—From Harvey River. When Doris' English grandfather, William Harvey, discovers a clearing at the end of a path cut by the feet of those running from slavery, he gives his name to what will become his family's home for generations. For Doris, Harvey River is the place she always called home, the place where she was one of the "fabulous Harvey girls" and where the rich local bounty of the land went hand in hand with the Victorian niceties and comforts of her parents' house. It is a place she will return to in dreams when her fortunes change, years later, and she and her husband, Marcus Goodison, relocate to "hard life" Kingston and encounter the harsh realities of urban living in close quarters as they raise their family of nine children.

In lush prose, Lorna Goodison weaves memory and island lore to create a vivid, universally appealing tapestry.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Lorna Goodison is an internationally recognized poet who has published eight books of poetry and two collections of short stories. In 1999 she received the Musgrave Gold Medal from Jamaica, and her work has been widely translated and anthologized in major collections of contemporary poetry. Born in Jamaica, Goodison now teaches at the University of Michigan. She divides her time between Ann Arbor and Toronto.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Goodison, Lorna
ISBN 10: 0061337552 ISBN 13: 9780061337550
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Arbor Scout
(Ann Arbor, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Mar 11, 2008. Book Condition: New. New book & jacket. 1st ptg. Bookseller Inventory # HC-J9M3-D7BJ

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Goodison, Lorna
Published by Amistad (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061337552 ISBN 13: 9780061337550
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Amistad, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061337552

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Goodison, Lorna
Published by Amistad (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061337552 ISBN 13: 9780061337550
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Amistad, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0061337552

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Goodison, Lorna
Published by Amistad (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061337552 ISBN 13: 9780061337550
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Booked Again
(Summit, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Amistad, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. New item. Bookseller Inventory # QX-199-25-8843008

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 10.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Goodison, Lorna
Published by Amistad (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061337552 ISBN 13: 9780061337550
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Amistad, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110061337552

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 40.54
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds