Power Trip: From Oil Wells to Solar Cells---Our Ride to the Renewable Future

3.9 avg rating
( 108 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780061353253: Power Trip: From Oil Wells to Solar Cells---Our Ride to the Renewable Future

In the tradition of Eric Schlosser's Fast Food Nation and Thomas L. Friedmam's Hot, Flat, and Crowded, prominent journalist Amanda Little maps out the history and future of America's energy addiction in a wonk-free, big-picture, solutions-oriented adventure story.

After covering the environment and energy beat for more than a decade, Amanda Little decided that the only way to really understand America's energy crisis was to travel into the heart of it. She embarks on a daring cross-country power trip, and describes in vivid, fast-paced prose the most extreme and exciting frontiers of our energy landscape.

At her side we visit an offshore oil rig, the cornfields of Kansas, the Pentagon's fuel-logistics division, the Talladega Superspeedway, New York City's electrical grid, and laboratories creating the innovations of a clean-energy future. As Little explains, energy is everything: It grows our crops, fights our wars, makes our plastics and medicines, warms our homes, moves our products and vehicles, and animates our cities.

How did we develop this insatiable appetite for fossil fuels? Little travels through history to track the evolution of America's energy addiction: the 1897 installation of the world's first power plant (a Thomas Edison–J. P. Morgan venture); the 1901 Spindletop gusher that threw open the era of cheap American fuel; FDR's encounter with a Saudi king that set the stage for our dependence on Middle Eastern oil; General Motors' early decision to sell big guzzlers rather than small, efficient cars.

Little illustrates how abundant oil and coal built the American superpower—even as they posed political and environmental dangers to the nation and the world. More important, we learn how the same American ingenuity that got us into this mess can get us out of it. With next-generation candor and optimism, Little explores the most promising clean-energy solutions on the horizon, arguing that everything we know about our past teaches us that we can solve the problems of our future.

Hard-hitting yet forward-thinking, Power Trip is a lively and impassioned travel guide for all readers trying to navigate our shifting landscape and a clear-eyed manifesto for the younger generations who are inheriting the earth.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Amanda Little’s award-winning columns on green politics and innovation have appeared in Grist.org, Salon.com, and Outside magazine. Her articles have been published in the New York Times Magazine, Vanity Fair, Rolling Stone, Wired, O, The Oprah Magazine, and the Washington Post. She lives with her husband and daughter in Nashville, Tennessee.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Little, Amanda
Published by Harper 2009-10-13 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061353256 ISBN 13: 9780061353253
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2009-10-13, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1. 0061353256. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061353256ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Little, Amanda
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0061353256 ISBN 13: 9780061353253
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061353256. Bookseller Inventory # GHT5458COLM051316H0011A

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 2.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Little, Amanda
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0061353256 ISBN 13: 9780061353253
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Orion Tech
(Grand Prairie, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061353256 . Bookseller Inventory # GHT3716VDCF062416H0289P

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 2.13
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Little, Amanda
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0061353256 ISBN 13: 9780061353253
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Qwestbooks COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061353256. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061353256ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.68
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Little, Amanda
Published by Harper (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061353256 ISBN 13: 9780061353253
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2009. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service! Summary: In the tradition of Eric Schlosser's Fast Food Nation and Thomas L. Friedmam's Hot, Flat, and Crowded, prominent journalist Amanda Little maps out the history and future of America's energy addiction in a wonk-free, big-picture, solutions-oriented adventure story. After covering the environment and energy beat for more than a decade, Amanda Little decided that the only way to really understand America's energy crisis was to travel into the heart of it. She embarks on a daring cross-country power trip, and describes in vivid, fast-paced prose the most extreme and exciting frontiers of our energy landscape. At her side we visit an offshore oil rig, the cornfields of Kansas, the Pentagon's fuel-logistics division, the Talladega Superspeedway, New York City's electrical grid, and laboratories creating the innovations of a clean-energy future. As Little explains, energy is everything: It grows our crops, fights our wars, makes our plastics and medicines, warms our homes, moves our products and vehicles, and animates our cities. How did we develop this insatiable appetite for fossil fuels? Little travels through history to track the evolution of America's energy addiction: the 1897 installation of the world's first power plant (a Thomas EdisonJ. P. Morgan venture); the 1901 Spindletop gusher that threw open the era of cheap American fuel; FDR's encounter with a Saudi king that set the stage for our dependence on Middle Eastern oil; General Motors' early decision to sell big guzzlers rather than small, efficient cars. Little illustrates how abundant oil and coal built the American superpower-even as they posed political and environmental dangers to the nation and the world. More important, we learn how the same American ingenuity that got us into this mess can get us out of it. With next-generation candor and optimism, Little explores the most promising clean-energy solutions on the horizon, arguing that everything we know about our past teaches us that we can solve the problems of our future. Hard-hitting yet forward-thinking, Power Trip is a lively and impassioned travel guide for all readers trying to navigate our shifting landscape and a clear-eyed manifesto for the younger generations who are inheriting the earth. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_0061353256

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Little, Amanda
ISBN 10: 0061353256 ISBN 13: 9780061353253
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800613532531.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Little, Amanda
Published by Harper (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061353256 ISBN 13: 9780061353253
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Bookworm
(Carbondale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. First Edition. BRAND NEW! Overstock from an independent bookstore!. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000107326

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Little, Amanda
Published by Harper (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061353256 ISBN 13: 9780061353253
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0061353256

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.35
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Little, Amanda
Published by Harper (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061353256 ISBN 13: 9780061353253
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061353256

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 23.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Little, Amanda
Published by Harper (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061353256 ISBN 13: 9780061353253
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110061353256

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 42.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds