The Scandal Plan: Or: How to Win the Presidency by Cheating on Your Wife

3.38 avg rating
( 63 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061447655: The Scandal Plan: Or: How to Win the Presidency by Cheating on Your Wife

A presidential candidate behind in the polls concocts an outrageous scandal to improve his chances in this hilarious political satire in the spirit of Primary Colors

Senator Ben Phillips is the perfect man for the presidency. If only he weren't such a straight arrow. He's getting battered in the polls, and with only a few months until Election Day, his staff is growing desperate. Enter Thomas Campman, political guru. On a sudden inspiration, the eccentric Campman is convinced he can revitalize the candidate's image by creating a fake sex scandal for him. Nothing too over-the-top—just a little scandal to make Phillips seem more human. Maybe even cool.

Though it takes some convincing, Phillips gives Campman the green light. The plan is set in motion, and, right on schedule, a phony former mistress steps forward to accuse the senator of infidelity. But scandals—even the premeditated kind—rarely go as planned. Before long, Campman's scheme snowballs into a three-ring circus complete with a linguistically challenged Mexican chauffeur who thinks he's James Bond, a highly sexed middle-aged woman who's convinced she'll never land one of the really good guys, and a political cub reporter for TeenVibe magazine who's sure he's on the trail of the biggest story since Watergate.

For those too well acquainted with politics-as-usual, The Scandal Plan is the perfect antidote. It's a witty political farce in the tradition of Jon Stewart and Dave Barry that will have readers—and even candidates—laughing all the way to the polls.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

About the Author:

Bill Folman has enjoyed a brief career as a theater actor, directed a few short films, earned a few degrees, and spent countless hours shouting at the evening news. He lives with his wife in Los Angeles, where he writes books and screenplays.

From Publishers Weekly:

An earnest presidential hopeful's campaign staff invents a sex scandal in Folman's slick debut. After Machiavellian campaign manager Thomas Campman hears a voice telling him that sin will make his struggling candidate, Sen. Ben Phillips, human, Campman convinces Ben and his fellow advisers that having the candidate admit to a made-up, decades-old affair will endear him to the masses. Though the plan energizes the campaign and boosts Ben's image, it also puts a strain on Ben's marriage, and after other women begin claiming in the press to have had affairs with Ben, the ruse threatens to end in ruin. Though the novel takes a while to find its footing, Folman does a great job of constructing a funny, fast-paced story with plenty of texture. Side plots involving a young ambitious reporter and Campman's driver are neatly folded into the main goings-on, and it's especially enjoyable to chart Ben's transformation from flustered novice to confident charmer, even as his new persona begins to take him over the edge. The lackluster early chapters may thwart readers looking for a biting political satire, but those willing to stay the course will be greatly rewarded. (June)
Copyright Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Folman, Bill
Published by William Morrow 2008-05-13 (2008)
ISBN 10: 006144765X ISBN 13: 9780061447655
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow 2008-05-13, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1. 006144765X. Bookseller Inventory # Z006144765XZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.62
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Folman, Bill
Published by William Morrow
ISBN 10: 006144765X ISBN 13: 9780061447655
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Vital Products COM LLC
(southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 006144765X. Bookseller Inventory # Z006144765XZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.87
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Bill Folman
Published by William Morrow (2008)
ISBN 10: 006144765X ISBN 13: 9780061447655
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # SONG006144765X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Folman, Bill
Published by William Morrow
ISBN 10: 006144765X ISBN 13: 9780061447655
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Newsboy Books
(Ontario, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 006144765X New. Bookseller Inventory # 006144765XNED

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 5.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.75
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Folman, Bill
Published by WilliamMr (2008)
ISBN 10: 006144765X ISBN 13: 9780061447655
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description WilliamMr, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 006144765X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Cheating on Your Wife by Bill Folman
ISBN 10: 006144765X ISBN 13: 9780061447655
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800614476551.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Bill Folman
Published by William Morrow (2008)
ISBN 10: 006144765X ISBN 13: 9780061447655
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2008. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX006144765X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Folman, Bill
Published by William Morrow, New York, New York, U.S.A. (2008)
ISBN 10: 006144765X ISBN 13: 9780061447655
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book House, Inc. - St. Louis
(Maplewood, MO, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, New York, New York, U.S.A., 2008. Hard Cover. Book Condition: Brand New. Dust Jacket Condition: Brand New. First Edition. Brand New/Brand New, Hardback/Dust Jacket, First Edition, 438 pages. Bookseller Inventory # 080629-MT311

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Folman, Bill
Published by William Morrow
ISBN 10: 006144765X ISBN 13: 9780061447655
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Cloud 9 Books
(Wellington, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 006144765X New Condition. Bookseller Inventory # NEW6.1778419

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 59.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds