The Science of Superstition: How the Developing Brain Creates Supernatural Beliefs

3.74 avg rating
( 1,053 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061452659: The Science of Superstition: How the Developing Brain Creates Supernatural Beliefs
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

“In an account chock full of real-world examples reinforced by experimental research, Hood’s marvelous book is an important contribution to the psychological literature that is revealing the actuality of our very irrational human nature.” — Science

In the vein of Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink, Mary Roach’s Spook, and Dan Ariely’s Predictably Irrational, The Science of Superstition uses hard science to explain pervasive irrational beliefs and behaviors: from the superstitious rituals of sports stars, to the depreciated value of houses where murders were committed, to the adoration of Elvis.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

In The Science of Superstition, cognitive psychologist Bruce Hood examines the ways in which humans understand the supernatural, revealing what makes us believe in the unbelievable.

*Previously published as SuperSense.

About the Author:

BRUCE HOOD is the author of The Science of Superstition and is one of the leading international authorities on child development and supernatural thinking in adults. He has a PhD from the University of Cambridge and has been a faculty member at UCL and Harvard and was a visiting scientist at MIT. He is currently the chair of developmental psychology at Bristol University in England and director of the Bristol Cognitive Development Centre. Born in Toronto, he now lives in Bristol, England.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Hood, Bruce M.
ISBN 10: 0061452653 ISBN 13: 9780061452659
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2010. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # VC-9780061452659

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.33
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Hood, Bruce M.
ISBN 10: 0061452653 ISBN 13: 9780061452659
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2010. PAP. Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # IB-9780061452659

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 7.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Hood, Bruce M.
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0061452653 ISBN 13: 9780061452659
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 0061452653

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.72
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.60
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Hood, Bruce M.
Published by HarperOne (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061452653 ISBN 13: 9780061452659
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne, 2010. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # 0061452653

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 12.52
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Hood, Bruce M.
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0061452653 ISBN 13: 9780061452659
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 15
Seller:
Lakeside Books
(Benton Harbor, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0061452653 Brand New! Not overstocks or remainder copy!. Seller Inventory # OTF-S-9780061452659

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.94
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Hood, Bruce M.
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0061452653 ISBN 13: 9780061452659
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Best Bates
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0061452653. Seller Inventory # Z0061452653ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Hood, Bruce M.
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0061452653 ISBN 13: 9780061452659
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0061452653. Seller Inventory # Z0061452653ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Hood, Bruce M.
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0061452653 ISBN 13: 9780061452659
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0061452653. Seller Inventory # Z0061452653ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Hood, Bruce M.
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0061452653 ISBN 13: 9780061452659
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0061452653. Seller Inventory # Z0061452653ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Hood, Bruce M.
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0061452653 ISBN 13: 9780061452659
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0061452653. Seller Inventory # Z0061452653ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 13.10
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book