The Science of Superstition: How the Developing Brain Creates Supernatural Beliefs

3.74 avg rating
( 927 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061452659: The Science of Superstition: How the Developing Brain Creates Supernatural Beliefs

“In an account chock full of real-world examples reinforced by experimental research, Hood’s marvelous book is an important contribution to the psychological literature that is revealing the actuality of our very irrational human nature.” — Science

In the vein of Malcolm Gladwell’s Blink, Mary Roach’s Spook, and Dan Ariely’s Predictably Irrational, The Science of Superstition uses hard science to explain pervasive irrational beliefs and behaviors: from the superstitious rituals of sports stars, to the depreciated value of houses where murders were committed, to the adoration of Elvis.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

In The Science of Superstition, cognitive psychologist Bruce Hood examines the ways in which humans understand the supernatural, revealing what makes us believe in the unbelievable.

*Previously published as SuperSense.

About the Author:

BRUCE HOOD is the author of The Science of Superstition and is one of the leading international authorities on child development and supernatural thinking in adults. He has a PhD from the University of Cambridge and has been a faculty member at UCL and Harvard and was a visiting scientist at MIT. He is currently the chair of developmental psychology at Bristol University in England and director of the Bristol Cognitive Development Centre. Born in Toronto, he now lives in Bristol, England.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Bruce M. Hood
ISBN 10: 0061452653 ISBN 13: 9780061452659
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800614526590000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Hood, Bruce M.
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0061452653 ISBN 13: 9780061452659
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061452653

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Hood, Bruce M.
ISBN 10: 0061452653 ISBN 13: 9780061452659
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2010. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VC-9780061452659

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Bruce M Hood
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061452653 ISBN 13: 9780061452659
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 200 x 134 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. In an account chock full of real-world examples reinforced by experimental research, Hood s marvelous book is an important contribution to the psychological literature that is revealing the actuality of our very irrational human nature. -- Science In the vein of Malcolm Gladwell s Blink, Mary Roach s Spook, and Dan Ariely s Predictably Irrational, The Science of Superstition uses hard science to explain pervasive irrational beliefs and behaviors: from the superstitious rituals of sports stars, to the depreciated value of houses where murders were committed, to the adoration of Elvis. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780061452659

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Bruce M Hood
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061452653 ISBN 13: 9780061452659
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 200 x 134 mm. Language: English . Brand New Book. In an account chock full of real-world examples reinforced by experimental research, Hood s marvelous book is an important contribution to the psychological literature that is revealing the actuality of our very irrational human nature. -- Science In the vein of Malcolm Gladwell s Blink, Mary Roach s Spook, and Dan Ariely s Predictably Irrational, The Science of Superstition uses hard science to explain pervasive irrational beliefs and behaviors: from the superstitious rituals of sports stars, to the depreciated value of houses where murders were committed, to the adoration of Elvis. Bookseller Inventory # AAS9780061452659

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.40
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Hood, Bruce M.
ISBN 10: 0061452653 ISBN 13: 9780061452659
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2010. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book.Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780061452659

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.51
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Hood, Bruce M.
ISBN 10: 0061452653 ISBN 13: 9780061452659
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BargainBookStores
(Grand Rapids, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 1101124

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Bruce M Hood
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061452653 ISBN 13: 9780061452659
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Book Depository hard to find
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. 200 x 134 mm. Language: English . This book usually ship within 10-15 business days and we will endeavor to dispatch orders quicker than this where possible. Brand New Book. In an account chock full of real-world examples reinforced by experimental research, Hood s marvelous book is an important contribution to the psychological literature that is revealing the actuality of our very irrational human nature. -- Science In the vein of Malcolm Gladwell s Blink, Mary Roach s Spook, and Dan Ariely s Predictably Irrational, The Science of Superstition uses hard science to explain pervasive irrational beliefs and behaviors: from the superstitious rituals of sports stars, to the depreciated value of houses where murders were committed, to the adoration of Elvis. Bookseller Inventory # BTE9780061452659

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Hood, Bruce M.
Published by HarperOne
ISBN 10: 0061452653 ISBN 13: 9780061452659
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Mediaoutlet12345
(Springfield, VA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061452653 *BRAND NEW* Ships Same Day or Next!. Bookseller Inventory # SWATI2132255668

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.19
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Hood, Bruce M.
Published by HarperOne (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061452653 ISBN 13: 9780061452659
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperOne, 2010. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061452653

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book