How Sex Works: Why We Look, Smell, Taste, Feel and Act the Way We Do

3.73 avg rating
( 668 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780061479656: How Sex Works: Why We Look, Smell, Taste, Feel and Act the Way We Do

Why are women biologically driven to find Mr. Tall, Dark, and Handsome?
Can more sex help ensure a safe pregnancy?
What effect does pornography have on a man's fertility?

Dr. Sharon Moalem, author of the New York Times bestseller Survival of the Sickest, takes us on a trip from prehistory to the forefront of cutting-edge medical research—and through a bedroom or two—to tell the story of how human sexuality has developed over time. How Sex Works challenges common perceptions about our bodies as it provides answers to such provocative questions as:

  • Can the birth control pill influence the type of men women are attracted to?
  • Why do hourglass-shaped women tend to be especially fertile?
  • When are women most likely to cheat?
  • Can twins have different fathers?

From the composition and function of human sex organs to the fascinating biochemistry behind sexual attraction, How Sex Works is an entertaining, comprehensive exploration of culture, biology, and history that takes us far beyond our common understanding of sex.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

“Read this book and discover sex again, but from a scientific perspective, and see why it evolved. It’s almost as much fun, and needs less energy.”
— Peter Macinnis, author of 100 Discoveries: The Greatest Breakthroughs in History

"How Sex Works manages to inject science writing with the prurient thrill of a gossip rag."
O magazine

Medical maverick and New York Times bestselling author of Survival of the Sickest Dr. Sharon Moalem presents an insightful and engaging voyage through the surprising history and evolution of sexual reproduction. Fans of Freakonomics, Blink, You: The Owner’s Manual, and Why Do Men Have Nipples will find many engaging insights in How Sex Works.

From the Back Cover:

Why are women biologically driven to find Mr. Tall, Dark, and Handsome?
Can more sex help ensure a safe pregnancy?
What effect does pornography have on a man's fertility?

In this compelling follow-up to the New York Times bestseller Survival of the Sickest, Dr. Sharon Moalem takes us on a trip from prehistory to the forefront of cutting-edge medical research, and through a bedroom or two, to tell the story of how human sexuality has developed over time. How Sex Works challenges common perceptions about our bodies and provides astonishing discoveries from the frontiers of science as it traces the transformation of sex across species and through time to its current role in human societies.

Find out the answers to such provocative questions as:

  • Can the birth control pill influence the type of men women are attracted to?
  • What do men and honeybees have in common when it comes to sex?
  • Why do hourglass-shaped women tend to be especially fertile?
  • When are women most likely to cheat?
  • Can twins have different fathers?

From the composition and function of human sex organs to the fascinating biochemistry behind sexual attraction, How Sex Works presents captivating new ideas and surprising answers to questions about contraception, fertility, circumcision, menopause, STDs, homosexuality, orgasms, and more. This is an entertaining, comprehensive exploration of culture, biology, and history that takes us far beyond our common understanding of sex.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Moalem, Sharon
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 0061479659 ISBN 13: 9780061479656
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061479659. Bookseller Inventory # HGT8056CDGG011317H1254

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Moalem, Sharon
Published by HarperCollins (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061479659 ISBN 13: 9780061479656
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Kimmies Collection
(Maryville, TN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. This is a NEW Book. May show slight signs of shelf wear. Tracking is provided. Bookseller Inventory # 53239

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Moalem, Sharon
ISBN 10: 0061479659 ISBN 13: 9780061479656
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Omega Books and More Inc.
(Springdale, AR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. FAST shipping, FREE tracking, and GREAT customer service! We also offer International and EXPEDITED shipping options. Bookseller Inventory # 3D7DSF000G4N

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.80
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Moalem, Sharon
Published by Harpercollins, Scranton, Pennsylvania, U.S.A. (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061479659 ISBN 13: 9780061479656
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Reader's Corner, Inc.
(Raleigh, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harpercollins, Scranton, Pennsylvania, U.S.A., 2009. Hard Cover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First Edition, first Printing. 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. This is a new hardcover first edition, first printing copy in a new mylar protected DJ, red spine. Bookseller Inventory # 042347

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Moalem, Sharon
ISBN 10: 0061479659 ISBN 13: 9780061479656
New Quantity Available: 7
Seller
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # 97800614796560000000

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Moalem, Sharon
Published by Harper (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061479659 ISBN 13: 9780061479656
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061479659

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Moalem, Sharon
Published by HarperCollins
ISBN 10: 0061479659 ISBN 13: 9780061479656
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
ACJBooks
(Staten Island, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061479659 This is a hardcover book with dust jacket. !!!!This is a 1st Edition!!!!! !!!Dj has minor wear!!!. Bookseller Inventory # LA.535.MX.2

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.05
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Moalem, Sharon
ISBN 10: 0061479659 ISBN 13: 9780061479656
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800614796561.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Moalem, Sharon
Published by HarperCollins (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061479659 ISBN 13: 9780061479656
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0061479659

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 36.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Moalem, Sharon
Published by HarperCollins (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061479659 ISBN 13: 9780061479656
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110061479659

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 36.38
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds