Ephron, Hallie Never Tell a Lie

ISBN 13: 9780061567155

Never Tell a Lie

3.32 avg rating
( 1,876 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780061567155: Never Tell a Lie

It all started with the yard sale . . .

Eight months pregnant and nervous about the future, Ivy Rose doesn't recognize the woman approaching her and husband David as they attempt to rid themselves of the decades-worth of junk cluttering up their suburban home. The woman says she's Melinda White—their former high school classmate, now pregnant also—and asks if she might revisit the old Victorian house she recalls playing in as a child. David takes her inside. But Melinda never comes out.

With her husband a suspect in the bizarre disappearance and probable murder of the near-stranger he claims not to remember, Ivy must now dive into a deadly whirlpool of deceit, betrayal, and terrifying alternate histories in pursuit of a shocking truth—a truth that could destroy everything . . .

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Product Description:

“[A] richly atmospheric tale. You can imagine Hitchcock curling up with this one.”
USA Today

 

Author Hallie Ephron’s fast paced and disturbingly creepy Never Tell a Lie is a page-turning thrill ride that maestro Alfred Hitchcock would have been proud to call his own. A descent into gripping suburban terror, this stunner by the Ellen Nehr Award-winning mystery reviewer for the Boston Globe has been called “a snaky, unsettling tale of psychological suspense” by the Seattle Times. Fans of Mary Higgins Clark, Harlan Coben, and classic gothic mystery will adore this supremely suspenseful and consistently surprising story of a yard sale gone terribly wrong.

From the Back Cover:

It all started with the yard sale. Ivy was eight months and one week pregnant when she insisted that she and her husband, David, clean out the junk they'd inherited with the old Victorian house they'd bought three years before. Call it nesting, call it nerves—she just wanted it all gone: the old electrical fixtures, the boxes of National Geographics from the 1960s, the four black wool greatcoats.

Neither she nor David recognized the woman at first. But it turned out that the customer asking about the lime-green glass swan dish—the woman who looks just about as pregnant as Ivy—was none other than Melinda White, a former high school classmate of David and Ivy's. When Melinda was a child she used to play in their new house, she explained. It looked like they'd been doing some work. Would it be all right if she took a look around? David took Melinda inside. And she never came out.

Now David's under police suspicion, and Ivy finds herself digging deep into the past to clear his name. But David's history, she begins to discover, is not necessarily the history she remembers, and before long Ivy has uncovered a twisted web of deceit, betrayal, and lies, both the ones we tell those we love and the ones we tell ourselves. . . .

Relentlessly fast-paced and disturbingly creepy, Never Tell a Lie is a page-turning thrill ride about how well we know the people we love, and how far we are willing to go to protect the secrets of our past.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Ephron, Hallie
Published by WilliamMr (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061567159 ISBN 13: 9780061567155
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Dionysos Books
(Arabi, LA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description WilliamMr, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. New item. May have light shelf wear. Bookseller Inventory # 160922086

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.82
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Ephron, Hallie
Published by WilliamMr (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061567159 ISBN 13: 9780061567155
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Donald L King
(LYNN, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description WilliamMr, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First Edition. Book and DJ are New, 1st edition, S-100, ; 9 X 6.30 X 1.30 inches; 271 pages. Bookseller Inventory # 28792

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Ephron, Hallie
Published by William Morrow
ISBN 10: 0061567159 ISBN 13: 9780061567155
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Steve estep
(springfield, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061567159 Hardback copy, book is in new condition. Bookseller Inventory # SKU1024186

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Ephron, Hallie
Published by William Morrow (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061567159 ISBN 13: 9780061567155
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061567159

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Ephron, Hallie
ISBN 10: 0061567159 ISBN 13: 9780061567155
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800615671551.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Ephron, Hallie
Published by WilliamMr (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061567159 ISBN 13: 9780061567155
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description WilliamMr, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0061567159

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 23.56
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Ephron, Hallie
Published by William Morrow (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061567159 ISBN 13: 9780061567155
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110061567159

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 43.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds