Never Tell a Lie: A Novel of Suspense

3.34 avg rating
( 2,147 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061567155: Never Tell a Lie: A Novel of Suspense

“[A] richly atmospheric tale. You can imagine Hitchcock curling up with this one.”
USA Today

Author Hallie Ephron’s fast paced and disturbingly creepy Never Tell a Lie is a page-turning thrill ride that maestro Alfred Hitchcock would have been proud to call his own. A descent into gripping suburban terror, this stunner by the Ellen Nehr Award-winning mystery reviewer for the Boston Globe has been called “a snaky, unsettling tale of psychological suspense” by the Seattle Times. Fans of Mary Higgins Clark, Harlan Coben, and classic gothic mystery will adore this supremely suspenseful and consistently surprising story of a yard sale gone terribly wrong.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

It all started with the yard sale. Ivy was eight months and one week pregnant when she insisted that she and her husband, David, clean out the junk they'd inherited with the old Victorian house they'd bought three years before. Call it nesting, call it nerves—she just wanted it all gone: the old electrical fixtures, the boxes of National Geographics from the 1960s, the four black wool greatcoats.

Neither she nor David recognized the woman at first. But it turned out that the customer asking about the lime-green glass swan dish—the woman who looks just about as pregnant as Ivy—was none other than Melinda White, a former high school classmate of David and Ivy's. When Melinda was a child she used to play in their new house, she explained. It looked like they'd been doing some work. Would it be all right if she took a look around? David took Melinda inside. And she never came out.

Now David's under police suspicion, and Ivy finds herself digging deep into the past to clear his name. But David's history, she begins to discover, is not necessarily the history she remembers, and before long Ivy has uncovered a twisted web of deceit, betrayal, and lies, both the ones we tell those we love and the ones we tell ourselves. . . .

Relentlessly fast-paced and disturbingly creepy, Never Tell a Lie is a page-turning thrill ride about how well we know the people we love, and how far we are willing to go to protect the secrets of our past.

About the Author:

Hallie Ephron is the New York Times bestselling author of Never Tell a Lie, Come and Find Me, and There Was an Old Woman. She is the mystery reviewer for the Boston Globe. She grew up in Beverly  Hills, the daughter of Hollywood screenwriters, and lives near Boston, Massachusetts.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Ephron, Hallie
Published by William Morrow (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061567159 ISBN 13: 9780061567155
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Never used!. Bookseller Inventory # P110061567159

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 33.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Hallie Ephron
Published by William Morrow (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061567159 ISBN 13: 9780061567155
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # M0061567159

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 35.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Ephron, Hallie
Published by HarperCollins (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061567159 ISBN 13: 9780061567155
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
VJ Books
(Tualatin, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins, 2009. hardcover. Book Condition: New. Author Signed Hardcover Book. January 2009 NY: HarperCollins First edition, first printing, mint, new/unread in a flawless dust jacket, signed by the author. Each dust jacket is protected in an acid-free archival quality acetate cover. signed by author. Bookseller Inventory # EPHNEVE01

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 51.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds