Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution

3.69 avg rating
( 9,510 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061667718: Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution
View all copies of this ISBN edition:
 
 

Publishers Weekly Best Book * ALA Best Book for Young Adults * ALA Notable Children's Book * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice

In the tradition of The Diary of Anne Frank and I Am Malala, this is the incredible true story of one girl’s courage and determination during one of the most terrifying eras of the twentieth century. This edition includes a detailed glossary, pronunciation guide, discussion questions, and a Q&A with the author.

It's 1966, and twelve-year-old Ji-li Jiang has everything a girl could want: brains, popularity, and a bright future in Communist China. But it's also the year that China's leader, Mao Ze-dong, launches the Cultural Revolution—and Ji-li's world begins to fall apart.

Over the next few years, people who were once her friends and neighbors turn on her and her family, forcing them to live in constant terror of arrest. And when Ji-li's father is finally imprisoned, she faces the most difficult dilemma of her life.

Written in an accessible and engaging style, this page-turning, honest, and deeply personal autobiography will appeal to readers of all ages.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

It's 1966, and twelve-year-old Ji-li Jiang has everything a girl could want: brains, tons of friends, and a bright future in Communist China. But it's also the year that China's leader, Mao Ze-dong, launches the Cultural Revolution—and Ji-li's world begins to fall apart. Over the next few years, people who were once her friends and neighbors turn on her and her family, forcing them to live in constant terror of arrest. When Ji-li's father is finally imprisoned, she faces the most difficult dilemma of her life.

This is the true story of one girl's determination to hold her family together during one of the most terrifying eras of the twentieth century.

About the Author:

Ji-li Jiang was born in Shanghai, China, in 1954. She graduated from Shanghai Teachers' College and Shanghai University and was a science teacher before she came to the United States in 1984. After her graduation from the University of Hawaii, Ms. Jiang worked as an operations analyst for a hotel chain in Hawaii,then as budget director for a health-care company in Chicago. In 1992 she started her own company, East West Exchange, to promote cultural exchange between Western countries and China.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Other Popular Editions of the Same Title

9780064462082: Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution

Featured Edition

ISBN 10:  0064462080 ISBN 13:  9780064462082
Publisher: HarperCollins, 2018
Softcover

9780060275853: Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution

Harper..., 1997
Hardcover

9780439063005: Red Scarf Girl: A Memoir of the Cultural Revolution

Schola..., 1999
Softcover

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Jiang, Ji-Li
ISBN 10: 0061667714 ISBN 13: 9780061667718
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2018. PAP. Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Seller Inventory # VC-9780061667718

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 4.19
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Ji Li Jiang
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2018)
ISBN 10: 0061667714 ISBN 13: 9780061667718
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
Book Depository International
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2018. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English. Brand new Book. Publishers Weekly Best Book * ALA Best Book for Young Adults * ALA Notable Children's Book * ALA Booklist Editors' ChoiceIn the tradition of The Diary of Anne Frank and I Am Malala, this is the incredible true story of one girl's courage and determination during one of the most terrifying eras of the twentieth century. This edition includes a detailed glossary, pronunciation guide, discussion questions, and a Q&A with the author.It's 1966, and twelve-year-old Ji-li Jiang has everything a girl could want: brains, popularity, and a bright future in Communist China. But it's also the year that China's leader, Mao Ze-dong, launches the Cultural Revolution-and Ji-li's world begins to fall apart.Over the next few years, people who were once her friends and neighbors turn on her and her family, forcing them to live in constant terror of arrest. And when Ji-li's father is finally imprisoned, she faces the most difficult dilemma of her life.Written in an accessible and engaging style, this page-turning, honest, and deeply personal autobiography will appeal to readers of all ages. Seller Inventory # AA89780061667718

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.23
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Ji Li Jiang
Published by HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States (2018)
ISBN 10: 0061667714 ISBN 13: 9780061667718
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperCollins Publishers Inc, United States, 2018. Paperback. Condition: New. Reprint. Language: English . Brand New Book. Publishers Weekly Best Book * ALA Best Book for Young Adults * ALA Notable Children s Book * ALA Booklist Editors Choice In the tradition of The Diary of Anne Frank and I Am Malala, this is the incredible true story of one girl s courage and determination during one of the most terrifying eras of the twentieth century. This edition includes a detailed glossary, pronunciation guide, discussion questions, and a QA with the author. It s 1966, and twelve-year-old Ji-li Jiang has everything a girl could want: brains, popularity, and a bright future in Communist China. But it s also the year that China s leader, Mao Ze-dong, launches the Cultural Revolution-and Ji-li s world begins to fall apart. Over the next few years, people who were once her friends and neighbors turn on her and her family, forcing them to live in constant terror of arrest. And when Ji-li s father is finally imprisoned, she faces the most difficult dilemma of her life. Written in an accessible and engaging style, this page-turning, honest, and deeply personal autobiography will appeal to readers of all ages. Seller Inventory # AA89780061667718

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.50
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Jiang, Ji-li
Published by HarperTeen (2018)
ISBN 10: 0061667714 ISBN 13: 9780061667718
New Paperback Quantity Available: 7
Seller:
Murray Media
(NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTeen, 2018. Paperback. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # 0061667714

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.58
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Jiang, Ji-li
Published by HarperTeen (2018)
ISBN 10: 0061667714 ISBN 13: 9780061667718
New Paperback Quantity Available: 7
Seller:
Save With Sam
(North Miami, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTeen, 2018. Paperback. Condition: New. Brand New!. Seller Inventory # 0061667714

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.72
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Jiang, Ji-li
Published by HarperTeen
ISBN 10: 0061667714 ISBN 13: 9780061667718
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookhouse COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTeen. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0061667714. Seller Inventory # Z0061667714ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.81
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Jiang, Ji-li
Published by HarperTeen
ISBN 10: 0061667714 ISBN 13: 9780061667718
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
BookShop4U
(PHILADELPHIA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTeen. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0061667714. Seller Inventory # Z0061667714ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.81
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Jiang, Ji-li
Published by HarperTeen
ISBN 10: 0061667714 ISBN 13: 9780061667718
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Vital Products COM LLC
(Southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTeen. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0061667714. Seller Inventory # Z0061667714ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.81
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Jiang, Ji-li
Published by HarperTeen
ISBN 10: 0061667714 ISBN 13: 9780061667718
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Mega Buzz
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTeen. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0061667714. Seller Inventory # Z0061667714ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.81
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Jiang, Ji-li
Published by HarperTeen
ISBN 10: 0061667714 ISBN 13: 9780061667718
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperTeen. PAPERBACK. Condition: New. 0061667714. Seller Inventory # Z0061667714ZN

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy New
US$ 8.81
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are more copies of this book

View all search results for this book