The Lace Reader LP: A Novel

3.45 avg rating
( 23,470 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780061668265: The Lace Reader LP: A Novel

In the tradition of The Thirteenth Tale, Brunonia Barry’s bewitching gothic novel, The Lace Reader, is a phenomenon. Called “[a] richly imagined saga of passion, suspense, and magic” by Time Magazine, it is a haunting and remarkable tale told by an unforgettable, if strangely unreliable narrator—a woman from an enigmatic Salem family who can foretell the future in patterns of lace. The Lace Reader was a runaway New York Times bestseller—hitting the top lists in major cities across the country, from Boston to Chicago to Los Angeles —and has immediately established debut author Brunonia Barry as a major force in contemporary American fiction.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

Review:

Amazon Best of the Month, August 2008: Brunonia Barry dreamt she saw a prophecy in a piece of lace, a vision so potent she spun it into a novel. The Lace Reader retains the strange magic of a vivid dream, though Barry's portrayal of modern-day Salem, Massachusetts--with its fascinating cast of eccentrics--is reportedly spot-on. Some of its stranger residents include generations of Whitney women, with a gift for seeing the future in the lace they make. Towner Whitney, back to Salem from self-imposed exile on the West Coast, has plans for recuperation that evaporate with her great-aunt Eva's mysterious drowning. Fighting fear from a traumatic adolescence she can barely remember, Towner digs in for answers. But questions compound with the disappearance of a young woman under the thrall of a local fire-and-brimstone preacher, whose history of violence against Whitney women makes the situation personal for Towner. Her role in cop John Rafferty's investigation sparks a tentative romance. And as they scramble to avert disaster, the past that had slipped through the gaps in Towner's memory explodes into the present with a violence that capsizes her concept of truth. Readers will look back at the story in a new light, picking out the clues in this complex, lovely piece of work. -- Mari Malcolm

From the Back Cover:

Every gift has a price . . .

Every piece of lace has a secret . . .

My name is Towner Whitney. No, that's not exactly true. My real first name is Sophya. Never believe me. I lie all the time . . .

Towner Whitney, the self-confessed unreliable narrator of The Lace Reader, hails from a family of Salem women who can read the future in the patterns in lace, and who have guarded a history of secrets going back generations, but the disappearance of two women brings Towner home to Salem and the truth about the death of her twin sister to light.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Barry, Brunonia
Published by Harper Collins Publishers
ISBN 10: 0061668265 ISBN 13: 9780061668265
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper Collins Publishers. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0061668265

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 13.06
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Barry, Brunonia
Published by HarperLuxe (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061668265 ISBN 13: 9780061668265
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperLuxe, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. LRG. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061668265

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Barry, Brunonia
Published by HarperLuxe (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061668265 ISBN 13: 9780061668265
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperLuxe, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0061668265

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 33.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Barry, Brunonia
Published by Harperluxe (2008)
ISBN 10: 0061668265 ISBN 13: 9780061668265
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harperluxe, 2008. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. large print edition. 416 pages. 8.75x5.75x1.25 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # 0061668265

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 49.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.22
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds