Abigail and John LP: Portrait of a Marriage

4.06 avg rating
( 1,045 ratings by GoodReads )
 
9780061668364: Abigail and John LP: Portrait of a Marriage

“Fascinating...Gelles has provided a balanced portrait, and her mastery of the period’s issues and history is evident on every page. Her treatment of the family... [is] written with understanding and sensitivity... But it is her strength as a feminist historian that makes her treatment of Abigail the most gripping... masterful and captivating.”
Washington Times

“A landmark... Well-organized and expertly composed, the book is an impressive addition to the nation’s written history.”
Oklahoma City Oklahoman

Readers who enjoyed Doris Kearns Goodwin’s No Ordinary Time, Cokie Roberts’s Founding Mothers, and David McCullough’s John Adams will love “this eminently readable… charming and sensitive, yet candid and unflinching joint biography” (Daniel Walker Howe, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of What Hath God Wrought: The Transformation of America, 1815-1848) of America’s original “power couple”: Abigail and John Adams.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

The marriage of John and Abigail Adams is one of the most extraordinary examples of passion and endurance that this country has ever witnessed. Theirs was a unique union, one based on mutual respect and ambition, intellect and equality. Using their letters, Abigail & John provides an inspirational portrait of a couple who weathered the trials of a revolution, and in so doing paved the way for the birth of a nation.

About the Author:

Edith B. Gelles, Ph.D., holds degrees from Cornell, Yale, and the University of California-Irvine. She has taught at several universities and is a Senior Scholar at Stanford's Michelle R. Clayman Institute for Gender Research. She lives in Palo Alto, California.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Gelles, Edith
Published by HarperLuxe (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061668362 ISBN 13: 9780061668364
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperLuxe, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0061668362

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 28.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Gelles, Edith
Published by HarperLuxe (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061668362 ISBN 13: 9780061668364
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperLuxe, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061668362

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 26.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Gelles, Edith
Published by HarperLuxe
ISBN 10: 0061668362 ISBN 13: 9780061668364
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Vital Products COM LLC
(southampton, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperLuxe. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061668362. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061668362ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 40.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Gelles, Edith
Published by HarperLuxe
ISBN 10: 0061668362 ISBN 13: 9780061668364
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Booklot COM LLC
(Philadelphia, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperLuxe. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 0061668362. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061668362ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 40.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Gelles, Edith
Published by HarperLuxe 2009-05-19 (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061668362 ISBN 13: 9780061668364
New Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Ebooksweb COM LLC
(Bensalem, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HarperLuxe 2009-05-19, 2009. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Lrg. 0061668362. Bookseller Inventory # Z0061668362ZN

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 40.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds