All the Dead Voices (Ed Loy PI)

3.83 avg rating
( 227 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061689888: All the Dead Voices (Ed Loy PI)

“With All the Dead Voices, Declan Hughes once again demonstrates that the private detective novel can be vital, modern and relevant in the right hands.”
—Laura Lippman, New York Times bestselling author of Life Sentences

 

Author Declan Hughes has already won a Shamus Award—and has been nominated for a CWA New Blood Dagger, a Macavity, and an EdgarŽ Award—for his internationally bestselling series featuring Irish private investigator Ed Loy. Hughes’s remarkable thriller All the Dead Voices should dispel any doubts (if there were any) that he truly belongs in upper ranks of crime fiction writers—alongside John Connolly, Ian Rankin, Peter Robinson, Michael Connelly, Walter Mosley, and Dennis Lehane. Set in modern-day Dublin, Ireland, and rich in suspense and atmosphere, All the Dead Voices sends a message loud and clear that Declan Hughes is a literary force to be reckoned with!

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Dublin PI Ed Loy is trying to escape his past—a task easier said than done—in this new novel from Shamus Award-winning author Declan Hughes

Shortly after moving from his childhood home on the outskirts of Dublin to an apartment in the city, Ed Loy is approached by Anne Fogarty, a woman whose father was killed fifteen years ago. She thinks the police nabbed the wrong person, and now she wants Loy to find the truth. At the top of the list of possible suspects are three men Anne's father, a revenue inspector, was preparing claims against for criminal activity: Bobby Doyle, an ex-IRA man turned property developer; Jack Cullen, also ex-IRA, now the head of a gang of disgruntled IRA men; and George Halligan, Loy's underworld nemesis.

At the same time, Loy is asked to look into the death of Paul Delaney, a rising soccer star who may have been connected with Jack Cullen. With the two cases on a collision course, Loy scours the streets of a city divided—where the wounded Celtic Tiger walks hand in hand with the ghosts of a violent past.

With his gripping mysteries in the tradition of Raymond Chandler's and Ross MacDonald's best, a striking portrayal of an Ireland seldom seen, and a classic hero in Ed Loy, Declan Hughes cements his place as one of the most talented new crime writers working today.

About the Author:

An award-winning playwright and screenwriter, Declan Hughes is cofounder and former artistic director of Rough Magic Theatre Company. He was Writer-in-Association with the Abbey Theatre and lives in Dublin with his wife and two daughters.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Declan Hughes
ISBN 10: 0061689882 ISBN 13: 9780061689888
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800616898881.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Hughes, Declan
Published by William Morrow, New York (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061689882 ISBN 13: 9780061689888
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
The Sly Fox
(Virden, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, New York, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First Edition, First Printing. 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Nice, unsold, unread first edition, 1st printing of this Irisy mystery set around Dublin featuring PI Ed Loy. Ships in a box, fast service from a real bricks and mortar independent bookstore open since 1998. No remainder marks. Bookseller Inventory # 008398

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 25.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Hughes, Declan
Published by William Morrow (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061689882 ISBN 13: 9780061689888
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110061689882

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 40.76
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Declan Hughes
Published by William Morrow (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061689882 ISBN 13: 9780061689888
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061689882

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 42.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Hughes, Declan
Published by William Morrow (2009)
ISBN 10: 0061689882 ISBN 13: 9780061689888
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 3
Seller
VJ Books
(Tualatin, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2009. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061689882 Author Signed Hardcover Book. July 2009 NY: HarperCollins First edition, first printing, mint, new/unread in a flawless dust jacket, signed by the author. Each dust jacket is protected in an acid-free archival quality acetate cover. Bookseller Inventory # HUGALLT01

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 51.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds