Beautiful Assassin: A Novel

3.79 avg rating
( 376 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061691218: Beautiful Assassin: A Novel

“Michael White is a wonderful storyteller, and his work is long on atmosphere, and packed with action.”
—Kevin Baker, author of Paradise Alley

 

Michael White, author of Soul Catcher and the New York Times Notable Book A Brother’s Blood now brings us Beautiful Assassin—a stunning, relentlessly thrilling, and richly evocative historical novel. Fans of Sebastian Faulks’s Charlotte Gray, Ian McEwan’s Atonement, and Margaret Atwood’s The Blind Assassin will adore this gripping tale of secrets and suspicion—as a beautiful Russian woman, one of World War Two’s most decorated snipers, is caught between her government’s deadly intrigues and First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

A breathtaking tale of love, loyalty, and intrigue set in the early days of World War II from the acclaimed New York Times Notable Book author of Soul Catcher, which USA Today hailed as "a marvelous historical novel"

World War II threatens to engulf the globe. The beleaguered Soviets, struggling to hold back the rising German tide, face despair and defeat daily. Yet just as all seems lost, a fearless female sniper named Tat'yana Levchenko gains fame in the Battle of Sevastopol with her remarkable composure and stunning skill. Offering hope in her nation's darkest moments, she becomes a Soviet hero, and word of her beauty and prowess eventually reaches Washington, D.C. Soon, First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt invites Tat'yana to visit America and tour the country with her.

For the Soviets, Tat'yana's newfound friendship with the wife of the most powerful man in the world is an opportunity to garner public support for a much-needed second front in the war—but it's also a chance to gather information about President Roosevelt's plans. Surrounded by those who would exploit her position, Tat'yana becomes a pawn in a battle for information, and she is forced to question the motivations of everyone she knows, including the American captain who has been assigned as her translator. But as quickly as she rises to fame, Tat'yana vanishes. Did she defect? Was she silenced—and if so, by whom? Decades later, a clever journalist will discover Tat'yana's story . . . and reveal the truth.

In Beautiful Assassin, Michael White delivers a heartrending story of war, betrayal, and a mother's love that can never be extinguished. Lyrical, evocative, and powerfully moving, this is a tale you will not soon forget.

About the Author:

Michael White's previous novels include the New York Times Notable Book A Brother's Blood as well as The Garden of Martyrs and Soul Catcher, both Connecticut Book of the Year finalists. He is the director of Fairfield University's MFA program in creative writing, and lives in Connecticut.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

White, Michael C.
Published by William Morrow (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061691216 ISBN 13: 9780061691218
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Frank Sincavage
(PHILA, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. First Edition; First Printing. No pocket d. J. Unmarked mylar cover; Ex-Library; 8vo 8" - 9" tall; 464 pages. Bookseller Inventory # 41527

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Michael C. White
ISBN 10: 0061691216 ISBN 13: 9780061691218
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800616912181.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Michael C. White
Published by William Morrow (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061691216 ISBN 13: 9780061691218
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061691216

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Michael C. White
Published by William Morrow (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061691216 ISBN 13: 9780061691218
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0061691216

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

White, Michael C.
Published by William Morrow, New York (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061691216 ISBN 13: 9780061691218
New Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
jaystime
(Salem, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, New York, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Dust Jacket Condition: New. 1st Edition. 12mo - over 6¾ - 7¾" tall. 2010,2010 New Book, New Unclipped jacket, Stated: First Edition, First Printing 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 448 clean tight unmarked unread pages, deckled fore pages, tan end pages, book has tan boards with 1/4 light brown covered spine, gilt stamped lettering on the spine, jacket has a full jacket color illustration with cream and white lettering. Bookseller Inventory # 005701

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 26.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.20
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

White, Michael C.
Published by William Morrow (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061691216 ISBN 13: 9780061691218
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110061691216

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 31.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

White, Michael C.
Published by William Morrow (2010)
ISBN 10: 0061691216 ISBN 13: 9780061691218
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 2
Seller
VJ Books
(Tualatin, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description William Morrow, 2010. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061691216 Author Signed Hardcover Book. March 2010 NY: HarperCollins First edition, first printing, mint, new/unread in a flawless dust jacket, signed by the author. Each dust jacket is protected in an acid-free archival quality acetate cover. Bookseller Inventory # WHIBEAU01

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 51.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds