A Hard Death: A Novel

3.93 avg rating
( 220 ratings by Goodreads )
 
9780061691768: A Hard Death: A Novel

“A real player in the game of forensic sleuthing.” —Kathy Reichs, author of Spider Bones 

“Forensic pathologist Jonathan Hayes brings his authentic voice—and a fascinating protagonist—to the crime novel.” —Linda Fairstein, author of Silent Mercy 

Forensic pathologist Edward Jenner returns in this explosive sequel to Precious Blood—an edgy, electrifying thriller set in a small-town coastal community where nothing is as it seems. Fans of Sam Bourne, Jefferson Bass, and James Grippando will be captivated by Jonathan Hayes’s intricate tale of betrayal, blood, and conspiracy—a chilling suspense novel made all the more enthralling by author Hayes’s vivid details, culled from a lifetime of first-hand experience as a homicide forensics specialist in New York City.

"synopsis" may belong to another edition of this title.

From the Back Cover:

Brilliant forensic pathologist Edward Jenner returns in this explosive sequel to Precious Blood—an edgy, electrifying thriller set in a small-town coastal community where nothing is as it seems.

Edward Jenner, introduced in Precious Blood, has survived the horrific ordeal of the Inquisitor serial killings in New York, but not the political fallout. His state medical license suspended, Jenner finds himself banished to Douglas County in coastal Florida, working as a medical examiner in the balmy seaside resort of Port Fontaine.

But there's a seamy underside to picturesque Douglas County. First Jenner finds the bodies of a murdered man and woman decaying in a sunken car. Then an anonymous call in the middle of the night leads him to a gruesome discovery in the heart of the Everglades. He finds traces of a shadowy criminal conspiracy, and soon learns that he can trust no one.

With his life on the line, Jenner refuses to walk away and let the murderers go unpunished. The result is dark Florida noir, a fierce, edge-of-the-seat thriller from an emerging master of the genre.

About the Author:

Jonathan Hayes, a veteran forensic pathologist, has been a New York City medical examiner, performing autopsies and testifying in murder trials, since 1990. A former contributing editor at Martha Stewart Living, Hayes has written for the New York Times, New York magazine, GQ, and Food & Wine. He is also the author of Precious Blood.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Hayes, Jonathan
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0061691763 ISBN 13: 9780061691768
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061691763 Ships promptly. Bookseller Inventory # GHP9559MTZN032917H1558C

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.21
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Hayes, Jonathan
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0061691763 ISBN 13: 9780061691768
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Orion Tech
(Grand Prairie, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061691763 . Bookseller Inventory # GSM5972LLGG041317H0682P

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 6.23
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Hayes, Jonathan
Published by Harper
ISBN 10: 0061691763 ISBN 13: 9780061691768
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
THEVILLAGEBOOKSTORE
(Fall River, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061691763. Bookseller Inventory # SKU1064600

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 3.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Jonathan Hayes
ISBN 10: 0061691763 ISBN 13: 9780061691768
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97800616917681.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Jonathan Hayes
Published by Harper (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061691763 ISBN 13: 9780061691768
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1. Bookseller Inventory # DADAX0061691763

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Hayes, Jonathan
Published by Harper (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061691763 ISBN 13: 9780061691768
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 0061691763

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 22.72
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Hayes, Jonathan
Published by Harper 2011-04-12 (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061691763 ISBN 13: 9780061691768
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper 2011-04-12, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 1. 0061691763 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # TM-0061691763

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 19.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Hayes, Jonathan
Published by Harper (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061691763 ISBN 13: 9780061691768
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # P110061691763

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 28.79
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Hayes, Jonathan
Published by Harper (2011)
ISBN 10: 0061691763 ISBN 13: 9780061691768
New Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 3
Seller
VJ Books
(Tualatin, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Harper, 2011. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0061691763 Author Signed Hardcover Book.April 2011 NY: HarperCollins Publishers First edition, first printing, mint, new/unread in a flawless dust jacket, signed by the author. Each dust jacket is protected in an acid-free archival quality acetate cover. Bookseller Inventory # HAYHARD01

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 51.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds